We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Vio.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (202)
Filter reviews
202 results
Traveller rating
195
6
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
195
6
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the hotel manager booking restaurants state of the art lounge area peter osaka snow ski reinforced slippers winter january chalet
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 202 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2019

Can not recommend this place enough. It's exactly why there is a 5 star rating.

Stayed for a week in December. The hotel is GORGEOUS and so delicately decorated. It felt brand new, though they've been open nearly 10 years. The hotel is a 3 minute walk to the main part of Hirafu. The staff are incredibly helpful...to the point that they picked us up and dropped us everywhere...and they had booked restaurants 6 months in advance so that they had a load of places to offer us when we were there...a LOT of restaurants in Hirafu have a 6 month waiting list. The Hotel is as close to the slopes as you will ever need to be. I loved it so much, felt like i was staying at a family home - the management even organised welcome drinks one night for all the guests.

There is a set of "sort of" onsens in the hotel that are available to guests. And the breakfast at the Barn is fantastic.

Like I said, I cannot say anything more or better about it.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AoifeinHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 January 2019

Kimamaya came highly recommended by my friends, who said "you won't regret it, Peter is this... Peter is that..Kimamaya has this...etc". There are so many luxe boutique hotels in Niseko. In this case, it's the people (Peter and Haruka) who elevate the experience and stay up a notch. Great service makes all the difference! Peter and Haruka made our stay fantastic and memorable! We will return to Kimamaya end of 2019 for sure. They are so friendly, chatty and always happy and cheerful (even in the blistering cold).

We stayed in the Loft room, 2 adults with 2 kids under 8 years old.

From the start, Peter and Haruka sent us speedy email replies with great food suggestions and activities. When we arrived, we were made so welcome in this cosy little house. The decor and color scheme was soothing, stylish and modern. Dark greys and warm woods = perfect!

Cleanliness and amenities = spot on. The KINTO water flasks were beautiful ( not that important to most, but I feel that they were so aesthetically pleasing).

Breakfast every morning @ The Barn next door was delish! the staff were so happy and pleasant. They have a suggested menu of breakfast dishes, which were all cooked so well. We could customise the dishes as we liked and helped ourselves to the salad, fruits and cereal spread on the long table as well. The green smoothie was so delish. The staff remembered our drink preferences and could anticipate our choices for the next morning. Coffee and tea were plentiful and made to order, we must have had so many drinks.

Mr. Osaka-san was our very kind and efficient driver. He speaks little English but was so pleasant and always so patient with the kids. Kimamaya offers a pickup and drop off service to the ski slopes, so we could just hop on the van and reach the slopes in under 3 mins, without having to lug our equipment on what would have been a 20mins walk. The hotel offered us the free use of a local mobile, which we could use to call any local numbers. It wasn't really necessary as Peter and Haruka helped us with all restaurant and airlines queries as they are both proficient in English and Japanese.

The mattresses and pillows were so comfortable. The room ambience was cosy, heating was perfect ! Lots of cabinet storage for us to store our bulky items neatly as we stayed for 6 nights.

Peter and Haruka shared tips with us on the restaurants, ski equipment rental, ski conditions, Gosnow, everything! So useful and made our daily schedule so smooth.

The kids' room at the basement had more than enough toys, nintendo wii games and books for our kids. Clean, neat and functional, it was hard to drag them away.

The room rates were not cheap, but we feel that Kimamaya offers great value! The quality of stay, the people you meet, and the great food quality at the The Barn helped contribute to a great Winter family holiday experience - and that's most important!

Room tip: Room 8 Loft had unblocked and great view of the snow-lined streets.
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LouloupopsLois
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 December 2018 via mobile

Absolutely great, service from Peter and Hakura is impecable, facilities are spotless, and the bed and pillow in particular, and the room and the bathroom are great. Location also good, wallking distance from everywhere.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 785JorgeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 December 2018 via mobile

We were blown away by our stay at Kimamaya. The personal service that Peter, Haruka and the team provided was a game changer and really made our stay special.
Restaurant reservations, mountain guides and returning forgotten belongings, nothing was too much trouble!
Peter arranged for me to go touring with a fellow guest and some new mountain guides, which was far more fun that going alone!
Kimamaya is perfectly located in town, close to the action of restaurants, bars and ski shops.
The hotel is set up similar to that of a chalet in Europe, with a cosy living area, honesty bar, breakfast and drop off and collection to and from the Mountain included, it’s the small details that make all the difference.
I wouldn’t stay anywhere else in Niseko if I returned and I look forward to recommending to my friends for their trips to Japan.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank yazzlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 November 2018 via mobile

This is our third visit, but with family. The team and place is still as charming as ever. Even though there are tons of other new places opening up, we still love the place for it caters to just that few couples/family. Our kids absolutely love the play room. We are pretty spoilt by the dry room that keeps our ski gear and clothes clean and dry every day. It is hard to stay elsewhere unless it comes with a perfect dry room, simple yet flavorful breakfast with good coffee, pick up service to ski lifts, loft unit and yes, this place comes with Netflix as well! It’s a hit with the kids and our folks!

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank nanaandhertwoboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews