We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveller rating
188
6
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
188
6
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boutique hotel home away from home gorgeous hotel team running ski hire peter barn
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 195 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2018

On first hearing about Niseko, years ago, I knew it was a place I needed to visit, as it combines two things I love: skiing, and Japan. When I was finally ready to book the trip, it was tough to find the right place to stay; I wanted the convenience of staying in town, so I could walk to restaurants and bars, but I didnt want to be too far from the mountain. Luckily, I stumbled onto Kimamaya.

The website and marketing materials cannot do it justice; the location is very central, and the public areas and rooms feel cozy and comfortable. There are also two private onsens, that are restorative after a day on the slopes.

But, what really sets it apart, is the incredible service provided by Peter and Haruka. They constantly go above and beyond to ensure that your stay is amazing, from the second you inquire about room availability, to the moment that you leave. They know the town inside and out, and I need to mention Osaka-san, who is incredibly efficient shuttling guests back and forth in town.

Thank you again for an excellent stay. I cannot wait to return!

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffS551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

I worked with Peter and his team for 8 people from Portland and Hood River OR. Four couples that want to go to check out the area and try all the amazing food, on sens, different ski areas etc. They took care of everything with emails and when we got there it was better than we thought it could be. We will stay here again and again. Peter and Haruka were exceptional hosts and run a tight operation. Back to kids and jobs etc-but this will always be in the memories....thank you!

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lancelarivee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018 via mobile

This place is a wonderful place to stay! I have never experienced such wonderful service. Peter, Haruka and their team were the most generous hosts and went above and beyond. Nothing was too much trouble and everything was thought of to make the stay easy (bus rides to and from slopes, travel mobile, lessons booked, dinner reservations made etc)
Two private onsens to relax at end of day were fantastic. Yuko the lovely lady who provides massages works wonders on tired muscles and is highly recommended!
Great breakfast included at barn next door.
We will definitely be back! Thank you again Kimamaya for an amazing trip.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018 via mobile

After 2 days of snowboarding, my sore body desperately needs a massage. The reception person suggested to go for massage at Kimamaya. I have to say this is the best massage I ever have, the shiatsu + oil massage 60-min combo was great, I totally passed out shortly after the treatment started.

Although I did not stay in this hotel, the staff and masseuse are were super friendly. If you need a massage after a tough skiing/snowboarding day, you should consider this one. Make sure you book in advance and request for a bath session before massage.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018

amazing service, design, food and accommodations! we just returned from an amazing week. we were a group of 8 and each of us had a blast. peter and his team were a dream. excellent service, beautiful setting, such good skiing...i wouldn't change a thing, i'd love to return and i'd recommend it to all of my friends (i already have been doing that!).

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank K9133YKsaraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews