We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Expedia
Agoda.com
FindHotel
Etrip
Snaptravel
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (198)
Filter reviews
198 results
Traveller rating
191
6
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
191
6
0
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 198 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2018

Wow, this place is amazing! It's everything you want for a stay in the mountains: the food, the staff, the rooms, the "feel," and the service--they were all fantastic. We were there during the winter and had an incredible time. If ever we had a question or a request, Peter and his staff were there to help us out. In the morning we had breakfast at the Barn (attached restaurant)--it was the perfect springboard to the day. At night, Kimamaya was the best place to relax, clean up, and head out from. We always went to bed happy and full, and woke up refreshed and energized.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jchi0tti
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 February 2018

Our family of four stayed at Kimamaya for a week in January. For three of us this was our first visit to the snow and our experience was made all the more magical due to the service, advice and care provided by Peter and Haruka. Thank you also to the friendly, welcoming staff at The Barn who remembered our orders and just how we liked our coffee! Thank you Peter for recommending and organising dinner reservations, skiing coaches (for mum!) and many other helpful tips. Thank you for providing us a phone so that I (mum) could call you when I had enough of the lessons and could retreat to our lovely room.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SherrylBroomehillWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 February 2018

I stayed here with a group of 8ish people for 5 nights the first week of February 2018 and it was absolutely incredible. Peter and his staff made us feel so welcome. The breakfast at The Barn every morning was a magical way to start the day and the onsens after a long day of skiing were perfection.

Can't wait for my next visit!

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lauren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 February 2018

Superb Hotel. The service is impeccable, the rooms ultra comfortable, the best hotel breakfast I've ever encountered and I've had more hotel breakfasts than anyone ever wants. Exceptional masseuse, hot tubs and epic snow. The Barn Restaurant is fantastic as well. I'm running out of superlatives. I'll not be looking around next year but coming straight back to Kimamaya.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matbrownish
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 February 2018

I stayed at the Kimamaya hotel for 10 days in February. The hotel itself is a beautiful as the pictures show. Everything is cozy and comfortable. The dry rooms for ski equipment and clothes was great to have and had all our gear dry and warm at the start of each day. The private onsens were perfect for soothing aching legs. Breakfast and dinner at The Barn were excellent.

What really makes this hotel special, though, is the staff. Peter and his team were INCREDIBLE. They are so friendly and excited to help your stay be great. They helped us with transfers from the airport, dinner reservations, bus tickets to other ski hills in the area, and every little detail you can think of. They immediately new us all by name and picked up on our preferences quickly. Just genuinely good people.

Can't wait to stay here again!

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews