We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Agoda.com
Rakuten Travel
Expedia
Snaptravel
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (198)
Filter reviews
198 results
Traveller rating
191
6
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
191
6
0
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 198 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2018

I stayed at the Kimamaya hotel for 10 days in February. The hotel itself is a beautiful as the pictures show. Everything is cozy and comfortable. The dry rooms for ski equipment and clothes was great to have and had all our gear dry and warm at the start of each day. The private onsens were perfect for soothing aching legs. Breakfast and dinner at The Barn were excellent.

What really makes this hotel special, though, is the staff. Peter and his team were INCREDIBLE. They are so friendly and excited to help your stay be great. They helped us with transfers from the airport, dinner reservations, bus tickets to other ski hills in the area, and every little detail you can think of. They immediately new us all by name and picked up on our preferences quickly. Just genuinely good people.

Can't wait to stay here again!

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

This hotel makes you feel at home, the rooms are spacious and luxurious, the lounge very warm and charming and the staff led by Peter is all about providing you with a personalised service. They offer service to take you to the slopes with a mobile phone to be picked up when you finish your runs. They are extremely well connected and will help you with your dining booking as well as guiding. The Hot bath is special and the massage fantastic. You will also enjoy the weekly welcome drinks with great stories shared by the guests. Best place to stay in Hirafu by far.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank francoisv126
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 25 January 2018 via mobile

Kimamaya hotel was above and beyond in every way. Peter and his team took all the care in the world from the moment we arrived until dropping us off at the bus terminal. This boutique hotel and our loft room was modern and equipped with excellent amenities to provide the perfect wow factor. Our room was quiet and the bed quality on a new level of comfort..
The breakfast which I believe has been mentioned before was delicious, varied and we can vouch for its mastery . The staff in the Barn restaurant were absolutely spot on with service as was the very hard working gentlemen safely driving the bus and assisting us with the ski rental logistics. A no brainer if your looking for a friendly, genuine quality experience in Niseko...

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Bears12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 9 January 2018

We stayed at Kimamaya for 6 nights over the Christmas/New Year period and absolutely loved it! Peter and the rest of the staff are so helpful and are always available for suggestions on places to go and things to do (or just for a general chat!). Breakfast in the Barn is a delicious way to start the day and the hot baths are are welcome relief after a long (or even short) day in the snow. The 'batphone' to call the car service from the slopes is also a nice touch. We will definitely stay there again next time we are in Japan.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

A member of Design Hotel, Kimamaya and its adjacent bar/restaurant the Barn have been on top of my list for a stay in Niseko.

The property is small (8 rooms) and cosy chalet, located in the heart of Hirafu and minutes from the ski slopes. The house is beautifully designed with all the clean lines of Japanese minimalism and a touch of Alpine French, with 2 small Japanese baths (ofuro) that can be reserved on site.

However, what makes Kimamaya a home away from home is the service. An experience that makes you feel like a guest in an old family friend's home rather than in an impersonal resort hotel. The staff, notably Peter and Haruka, are welcoming, vastly knowledgeable about the town and always willing to help. They not only assist with the booking of restaurants, ski rentals and lessons, but they also drop you to the slopes and pick you up from the various activities.

Special thanks to Peter Smith, the hotel manager, who was very helpful prior to our arrival and went frankly beyond the call of duty to assist us when I unfortunately got into an accident. Among many other things, Peter came to pick us up from the hospital ER at close to midnight and drove back the next day to take care of formalities related to the insurance.

A truly unique boutique in Hirafu.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank JacobDeZoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews