We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (198)
Filter reviews
198 results
Traveller rating
191
6
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
191
6
0
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 198 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2018

We stayed at Kimamaya for 6 nights over the Christmas/New Year period and absolutely loved it! Peter and the rest of the staff are so helpful and are always available for suggestions on places to go and things to do (or just for a general chat!). Breakfast in the Barn is a delicious way to start the day and the hot baths are are welcome relief after a long (or even short) day in the snow. The 'batphone' to call the car service from the slopes is also a nice touch. We will definitely stay there again next time we are in Japan.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

A member of Design Hotel, Kimamaya and its adjacent bar/restaurant the Barn have been on top of my list for a stay in Niseko.

The property is small (8 rooms) and cosy chalet, located in the heart of Hirafu and minutes from the ski slopes. The house is beautifully designed with all the clean lines of Japanese minimalism and a touch of Alpine French, with 2 small Japanese baths (ofuro) that can be reserved on site.

However, what makes Kimamaya a home away from home is the service. An experience that makes you feel like a guest in an old family friend's home rather than in an impersonal resort hotel. The staff, notably Peter and Haruka, are welcoming, vastly knowledgeable about the town and always willing to help. They not only assist with the booking of restaurants, ski rentals and lessons, but they also drop you to the slopes and pick you up from the various activities.

Special thanks to Peter Smith, the hotel manager, who was very helpful prior to our arrival and went frankly beyond the call of duty to assist us when I unfortunately got into an accident. Among many other things, Peter came to pick us up from the hospital ER at close to midnight and drove back the next day to take care of formalities related to the insurance.

A truly unique boutique in Hirafu.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank JacobDeZoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 14 December 2017

We stayed in the Kimamaya for 3 nights and everything was absolutely amazing. Both the hotel and the Barn (restaurant) were cozy and well-maintained. Interior was nicely designed. Peter's hospitality impressed us massively - he took care of everything for us, even before you asked. He made good recommendations on ski school, gear rental, restaurants (even for Sapporo - in fact that was the best meal we've had in this trip). Breakfast was very good and the servers were very nice too.

One point of clarification though - the two "onsen" are hot baths, not exactly hot springs. BUT that does not weaken our love for this place. Thank you Peter, for your warm hospitality!

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank FrHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 30 April 2017

We love the Kimamaya - it was out second time and we stayed in January 2017 and brought along another family with us this time - our friends were like " we can see why you go on about this place" it was yet again the best part of our visit to Japan - Peter, Osaka San and Miki are awesome and make the whole experience excellent - nothing is too much trouble and if you need to know anything, absolutely anything you ask Peter and he can point you in the right direction. My two youngest Alex and Charlotte just love them and often Alex would be heading down in the morning going "where's Peter, Peter where are you" so she could say good morning! Absolutely recommend this place and already trying to work out when we can visit next :-)

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KarenKJ74
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights and had a wonderful stay. The hotel staff are amazingly helpful especially Peter and Miko. They helped us with the activities and even suggested good places for onsen and restaurants nearby. The hotel itself is cozy and we got a room with Mount Yotei view which was a nice touch. We also would like to thank Peter and Miko for the warmest hospitality.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 445azaharim
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews