We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com
ExpediaUS$153
Agoda.com
FindHotelUS$156
eDreamsUS$148
Trip.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (272)
Filter reviews
272 results
Traveller rating
148
68
30
11
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
148
68
30
11
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor pool washer dryer ski slopes onsen apartment convenience base rhythm
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 272 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2020

Smelly apartment- like living adjacent to rubbish tip. And exhaust fans in all bathrooms/toilets not working. Raised issues with staff and management, 7days later with daily request, problems still not fix. When checked out, no apologies from staff and management. Terrible experience.

Date of stay: January 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank TNjan2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheValeNiseko, General Manager at The Vale Niseko, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2020

Dear TNjan2020,

Thank you for sharing your remarks albeit we have unfortunately not met welcoming expectations. We sincerely apologise for any discomfort you have encountered, certainly not the intention of our hotel.

We are likewise disappointed to have not met your expectation, this is rather isolated to our many favorable reviews and hope we can connect so we can assure you of our dedication to providing memorable experience, value and quality in experience and constructively addressing guest feedback.



Regards,

Mart Trinidad

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2020

My friend and I had a fabulous stay at The Vale. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful- front desk staff and concierge suggested great restaurants for us. Special mention to Ben (in the hotel restaurant) and Finn (driver) who both took special care of us. Rooms and amenities were fantastic, ski in/ ski out is the only way to go and the ski shop staff made sure we had the right gear. The location of the hotel in comparison to the bars and restaurants in the Village was fantastic. Free and convenient laundry facilities a bonus. We will definitely be back.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 569lynneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheValeNiseko, General Manager at The Vale Niseko, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2020

Dear Lynne H,

Thank you for choosing The Vale Niseko for your holiday. It is our sincere pleasure to have you with us.

We truly appreciate the amazing feedback you have shared and pass along your appreciation to Front Desk, Concierege and our entire team as it is feedback such as yours that provides motivation to continue delighting our future guests.

Lynne H, thank you once again for sharing your moments with us and we look forward to welcome you back to Niseko for another unforgettable experience.



Regards,

Mart Trinidad

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2020

For what is touted as the best accommodation in Niseko, the Vale is okay. I rented a studio apartment - which had everything advertised, but needs some TLC. The heating system insulation in the wardrobe had fallen off, and the washing machine drain was blocked so water went everywhere until a plumber came to the rescue.

The staff are equally as average. For $1000AUD/night I expect at least some enthusiasm for customer service. Each of the 3 check in/out individuals encountered were seemingly bored. The 'express checkout' invoice I got delivered under my door on the last day was for another room, and when I then un-expressly checked out was billed for my free breakfasts. It took 10 minutes to sort that out - I was made to feel as though I was lying & trying to score a free piece of toast.

The bar staff were super unhappy with life. Hungover for the breakfast service I suspect - based on the level of dishevelment & odour exhibited. The coffee was good.

Best employee by far = super plumber who unblocked the washing machine drain!!

Room tip: I probably wouldn't bother - the apartments that my friends were renting for much less $$ were just as nice.
Date of stay: January 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank kiwi089
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheValeNiseko, General Manager at The Vale Niseko, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2020

Dear kiwi089,

Thank you indeed for taking the time to send our review and thank you again for visiting us here at Niseko.

We are appreciative that you have brought to our attention incidents during your stay and rest assured it will be actioned upon urgently.

Receiving constructive feedback helps us improve our guests experience and internal procedures and developments.

Kiwi089, we would be pleased to have you return in the future as we are confident we can deliver our true service culture.

Regards,

Mart Trinidad

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2020

Great location in Hirafu. Apartment ergonomics & ammenities were perfect. Awesome service. The only reason this place is not a perfect score is due to the boot/ski rooms which need an overhaul - the space is tight, dark and cold.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank EpicureanSleuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheValeNiseko, General Manager at The Vale Niseko, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2020

Dear EpicureanSleuth,


Thank you for the time you took to post this review of our Hotel.

We do appreciate your valuable feedback and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay.

We appreciate your feedback about our boot/ski room; we will look into it for improvements.

Once again, thank you for your comments and it is my sincere hope that you will return to The Vale in the near future. It would be our pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Regards,
Mart Trinidad
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2020

We stayed at the Vale for 7 nights and found the accommodation and staff great. The room was lovely with everything you needed and the front desk and concierge staff, while mainly all Aussie, were professional and courteous. The location is fantastic, walk out the door and step onto a lift and head up the mountain. The lockers for your snow gear are convenient and were never too crowded and busy when we used them. We were initially disappointed about not having a ski valet service, but this set up was perfectly fine, easy to use and suited us well.
Our impression of our stay however is marred by the attached restaurant and the unprofessionalism of how its run. Granted we didn’t have to dine at the restaurant if we weren’t happy with it, but our accommodation included breakfast so we kept eating there since we’d already paid for it and they did have lovely coffee. However, you are only allocated 2000 yen per person for breakfast and the big breakfast costs 2100 yen and a coffee is 500 yen. So if you order a drink with your breakfast, you are most likely going to have to pay extra.
Our main issue is with the seemingly lack of management in the restaurant. All the staff were friendly enough but it seems to be a place for non-working staff to hang out and goof around with the working staff to the detriment of the customers who are left waiting to get a table, order, get cutlery your food or even settle the bill. Non working staff are walking behind the counter and in and out of the kitchen and it’s just so unprofessional.
I would advise against sitting at the high tables since you get a view into the kitchen where the ‘chefs’ are not in any sort of uniform, just wearing their dirty looking shirts, cargo pants and baseball caps which they regularly take off to wipe their brow or smooth their hair back. If that wasn’t unhygienic enough I also saw them scooping out the granola from one bowl to put into another bowl with their bare hands and then later saw them lick their fingers after popping something into their mouth to eat.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank samanthabT3169RA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheValeNiseko, General Manager at The Vale Niseko, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2020

Dear SamanthabT3169RA,

Our appreciation for you, taking the time in sharing your feedback.

Please accept my heartfelt apology as I am truly saddened that your dining experience was tainted by such disappointments, We do work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience and take it personally when we fall short.

Please know that we have shared your constructive comments with our service partner at the restaurant for their immediate action. Professionalism, food quality and service standards are our highest priority. Your comments had been well taken and will be investigated and actioned upon.

If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, We can assure you that we will do our utmost to give you the great experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Regards,
Mart Trinidad
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews