We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Trip.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Expedia
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
17
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
17
5
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2019

Pros
Good value for money in terms of spacious accommodation, ambience and lounge facing the open road
Very friendly hosts

Cons:
Limited English speaking hosts.
Takes 15-20 mins walk on icy snowy road to Alpine Ridge to attend NBS classes

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Yosemite008
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 December 2018

We stayed here for 10 days during December and could not fault the place for anything. Cozy room, soft beds, yummy breakfast and super kind and helpful host. Walking distance to Hirafu Grand or one min to free shuttle bus point if you are lazy to walk. Will definitely be back.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Minh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 February 2018

The rooms are clean and comfortable, with all facilities supplied for a comfortable stay.
The hosts went out of there way to help in any little way, showing you where to go on a map if required, to giving you breakfast earlier than normal if you have an early departure. Very friendly and welcoming in every way..

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sheree F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 January 2018

We chose Pension Locomotion for our family to stay in Dec 2017/Jan 2018 because it had been recommended as friendly, warm and close to the slopes but within our budget. Much better than a hostel and great for the family. The equivalent of a Bed and Breakfast, Pension Locomotion is a privately-run house designed for skiers and snowboarders. The pension is located a 10 minute walk from the Hirafu Gondola, 10 minutes from the main street of Niseko and 3 minutes from Lawson the nearest convenience store (which is great for quick food and supplies). There is a free shuttle service stop at the end of the street for those who don't want to walk, connecting to the nearby resort at Hanazono, or in to the central street in Hirafu and direct to the Welcome Centre and Hirafu Gondola. The bus stops at Hanazono, Welcome Centre and Hirafu Gondola.

The pension has a dedicated snowboard and ski storage room downstairs, with the ability to wax your board/skis if you want to. There is also a vending drink machine by the entrance at the front. As you come in the front door there is a space to leave your outside boots and slip into some slippers that are provided.

The couple that run the pension are very happy to assist with anything you need - they are also agents for Black Cat the baggage forwarding company, which was very handy. Their English is quite limited but with patience and a translator app on your phone, you can figure out what you need to know.

Our room had 2 single beds downstairs with bathroom and a loft with 2 futons upstairs. Very warm, clean and comfortable. There was also a flat screen TV

The common area has a fridge/freezer, microwave, small grill/toaster oven, instant hot water dispenser, washing machine (100Y for 30 mins) and Dryer (100Y for 30 mins but takes about 2 hours to dry a load of clothing).

We had a fantastic cooked breakfast every day as well as cereals and fresh baking. with juice/coffee/tea. Awesome view of the fresh snow out of the windows and squirrels were sighted if you were quick enough.

The theme is designed around trains and there are a few in the dinning area.
Pension Locomotion is a great place to stay especially for a family. The price and hospitality are fantastic.

Room tip: All rooms were quiet and well appointed.
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwi039
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 July 2017

Visited Niseko for the first time in January 2017. For our accommodation we considered cost and location and a Japanese influence. Trip was with my 16 year old son. Pension Locomotion was exactly what I was after. Small family run pension with that personal touch. Place was clean and location was fine. 5-10 min walk to main village hub. Walking to Gondola was achievable however you needed to be fit,young and keen. Lengthy uphill walk. Shuttle transfer pickup was a 30 second slide to the road corner nearby. Rooms were small however this was expected. Room has shower and toilet. Drying room downstairs needed some improvement. Breakfast was fine and prepared with love. Hosts were caring and there for any assistance/request. Pickup/dropoff from bus stop was organised with a phone call. Lounge area could have been bigger but still ok. Place was quiet and relaxed and Wifi kept my son happy. If I returned to Nesiko would consider a Locomotion Pension.

Room tip: first floor with loft
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AussieVenetian
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews