We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go Fishing and Get Your Steaks Right”
Review of Harvester

Harvester
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: There's always a family-friendly atmosphere at Harvester, with delicious, freshly-prepared food that everyone can enjoy. It's the perfect place to bring food, friends and family together, with grills, spit roasts, farm assured chicken, special 'Young Guest' dishes and the famous 'unlimited' Harvester salad bar.
Reviewed 2 May 2018

Pleasant and efficient service, salad bar clean and filled, Disappointed many of the fish dishes weren't available. Asked for a rare steak but got a well done one. Nevertheless tasted ok but for my liking was over cooked . I didn't return it as we had already waited quite a time for the meal to arrive. Interesting selection of starters/tapa's. and ice cream based desserts. So with a better fish selection and a steak as requested this would be better than average for the cost.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tezpil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2018

Tezpil, thanks for taking the time to leave us some feedback. After reading your review, i instantly popped onto Amazon and have ordered a new fishing rod, hopefully I will be able add shark back onto the menu reel soon ;-)

On a more serious note, sorry for the lack of availabilty, and I apologise that your steak wasnt cooked perfectly to your liking, I will be sure to pass your comments onto the Kitchen Manager so that he can address them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 455 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2018

Extra busy and we were initially told to wait for a table but we could have just sat in the bar area. Didn't have to wait long for a table. Just had the salad as we didn't have time to wait for a cooked order as on our lunch break. Haven't been to a Harvester for years but pleased to report salad is still just as good.

Thank LynneGosport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2018

Hi Lynne, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, please remember in future that if you only have a short time available for a lunch break you can always book a table in advance, so it will be ready for when you arrive, or just call ahead to see how busy we are. Also, you can always let a server know if you are in a hurry, and although they obviously cant promise anything if we are really busy, they will always do their best to accommodate you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018

A strange experience. Our waitress become part of our evening with her return friendly banter, a good sport. However, the menu was missing many of the favorites our group requested which was a shame. There was plenty of what we did order and warm. Only one steak went back out of our group of 12 for being underdone. The biggest problem we noticed was that where we were placed in the restaurant a radiator was leaking so when we rose from the table the carpet was waterlogged. We immediately reported to the manager who it turns out knew all about it, so why put us there!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ray J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Ray J, we're disappointed to hear of the negative experience you had at our location.

I would like to apologise for your visit, and for letting you down on this occasion. We have placed a call with our engineers for the radiator, I am hoping that will be fixed soon, obviously I know that doesnt help you now, so Im sorry that you were sat there.

Great to hear that you received good service, I will be sure to pass that onto the team that was on duty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018 via mobile

Meal was average, the coconut curry was good. But the evening was made better by excellent service and also the balloon man, John Schollenberger.

Thank MissT14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Misst14, we regret to hear that you had a less than excellent experience with us.

i am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your service, the entertainment and your curry, but its a shame you didnt enjoy your meal.

Hopefully we will see you again in the future and next time we will be able to wow you, thanks for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018 via mobile

Really mixed review, waited to get a table for a longtime and got ignored by the staff. Opted for food at the bar, friendly staff with a standard selection of drinks. The food was really average and cooked in a lot of grease. There are better pubs for food.

Thank Stuart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Stuart C, it's upsetting to hear that you did not receive the top-notch service we strive to provide, but thanks for taking the time to leave us some feedback that we can use to help improve. Hopefully next time you visit we will do better, sorry that we let you down on this occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harvester also viewed

Fareham, Hampshire
Chichester, West Sussex
 
Climping, Arun District
 
Fontwell, West Sussex
Woodmancote, Horsham District
 

Been to Harvester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing