We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Visitor Friendly Family Pasta Factory in Medieval Village

Martelli Pasta Factory is Tucscany at its best. Its a small factory owned, operated, and staffed... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Walter S
,
Land O Lakes, Florida
Excellent tour in small family run pasta factory

What a brilliant tour very informative and Luca our guide spoke very good English. Factory set in... read more

Reviewed 23 June 2018
Paula H
,
Redhill, United Kingdom
Read all 98 reviews
  
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveller rating
69
22
3
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
22
3
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pasta take home family members personal tour small factory village holiday lari tuscany martelli castle world shop luca bags
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 98 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2017 via mobile

We stopped at Lari on the way from Pisa to Florence. The town itself is very nice and has lots of character and history. The tour was another thing. Whilst it was interesting to learn that the pasta is rough in texture, which is good for holding a sauce, and what made it rough. The tour was all of 5-7 minutes long. I wasn't impressed. They can make it far more engaging if they put some more thought into it. Whilst the guy giving us a tour (if you can call it that) pointed out where we can buy the pasta at home they missed a trick by not directing us to their gift shop. It felt like doing the tour was a chore he couldn't get out of. I would pop in only if you happened to be in the town. I would not go out of my way to visit it.

1  Thank 410chetnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dino M, Proprietario at Pasta Martelli, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

Dear Mr. I'm the person that guded You into the factory. The visit at our factory is only a possibility that we give at the turist, it is not a part of our work. We can dedicate a few minutes to explain the pasta process and to see the machinaries. Your though is strange because many many visitors are satisfacted of the tour an many return to see again after few years.

At Your disposal

Luca Martelli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Stopped by this wonderful little pasta factory in Lari as part of a tour. Only family members work there and they produce pasta the traditional way. Lovely visit.

Thank Robert Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2016

We have been into making homemade pasta for a long time. It was absolutely fascinating to see how the pasta was first made in the early years....AND is still made the same way today at Martelli's.

A family owned and run business with care and concern for their product...all the way thru the HAND packing of each bag!

We learned a lot and highly recommend it. We did this through the Ariana & Friends tour.

Thank grandmamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

We travelled for about an hour from Monteverdi Mattrimino to get to Lari to have a look at the old fashioned way of making pasta only to find that they are closed for the holidays. A fact not mentioned in the Lonely Planet travel guide. The view from the castle is very good though.

1  Thank H7828BJjoem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dino M, Proprietario at Pasta Martelli, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2016
Google Translation

Ci scusiamo che non abbiate potuto vedere la nostra produzione, ma come tutti gli anni, le ultime tre settimane di agosto siamo fermi, sia per fare un periodo di ferie, sia per fare manutenzione alle nostre attrezzature. in compenso avete potuto ammirare il Castello dei Vicari e la visita è stata senz'altro positiva.
Con i migliori saluti.
Dino Martelli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2015

The Martellis were on vacation, but we were able to buy some of their pasta up at the local store and I will be going back for more! The village is like taking a step back in time. Recommend a visit.

Thank pron6miller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews