We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveller rating
69
24
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
24
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmonitor lizardsfish eaglesgame drivessable antelopeshimba hillsbush babiesthe reservegreat placethe ownergreat viewtropical forestwater holebird lifeday tripdifferent specieswater monitorsown bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 98 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2018

Shimba Hills hotel is a very beautiful and peaceful hotel in the middle of the national park of Shimba Hills. The hotel is well decorated, the hotel staff are friendly and helpful. There is not much phone network and no internet wifi but that was exactly what I was looking for. Peace and quietness, cut off from the rest of the world. One rather negative point though is the price. I was on full board and paid 119$ per day which is a lot of money also considering the rooms are not en-suite and bathroom/toilets are shared. Also it would be great for this price to at least receive a decent quantity of water rather than a half-liter bottle per day. It is a very beautiful place however the price is very high, especially compared to other gorgeous places in Kenya. Not sure I will go back for that reason only.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Elise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018

We had a great time here! The staff was very friendly and helpful. The atmosphere is unique. And at night we saw a lot of animals, even a bush baby that tried to steal our dinner. We ordered safari at the hotel, which included morning safari, evening safari and a day trip to a waterfall. It was a great way to experience Shimba hills, so I recommend this as well.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tiril B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018

Shimba Hills Lodge is a place like no other - placed in the midst of the jungle, surrounded by animals and beautiful nature. We had dinner with the bush babies in the restaurants, tea with the baboons on the wooden bridge and varans, genet cats and fish eagles surrounded us at all times. Still - the absolute highlight of the visit was definitely the amazing staff. The lady who owns the place is SO nice and helpful, and Abdallah is a GEM! Thank you so much for an amazing experience. I will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018

A big experience to stay at this wonderful hotel in the bush, a lot of animals and I loved the quite bush children, I can hardly recommend a stay at this hotel, we stayed in the suite and it´s was really a wonderful room. The staff and the owner were fantastic, so nice, kindly and service minded.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 12marij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018 via mobile

We had a great time at the lodge with two really enjoyable game drives and a walk to the waterfall.

The food was good but I think an all inclusive deal should include at least a glass of water with your meal.

The staff were incredibly friendly and attentive. They knew our room numbers without asking within about half an hour of us being there. They were always on hand when required.

I would recommend Shimba Hills Lodge to anyone if they were in the area.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShimbaHillsLodge, General Manager at Shimba Hills Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear Steve,

we are happy to hear that you liked your stay at the Shimba Hills Lodge. Thank you for your nice review and the compliment about the team.

We are surprised that you mention an "All inclusive deal". The lodge offers full board accommodation (breakfast, lunch and dinner) and has never offered "All inclusive". Can it be that this was a misunderstanding between you and the tour operator you booked with? It will be helpful for us to know as we wish to prevent further disappointment of guests who might come with the same expectation due misunderstandings or even wrong information upfront.
We thank you in advance for your feedback on this matter and hope to welcome you again.

Kind regards
Gabriele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews