We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great outdoors on a hot day”
Review of The Dukes Head

The Dukes Head
Ranked #19 of 87 Restaurants in Billericay
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Our menu offers delicious seasonal dishes – so whether you’re dining in our restaurant, grabbing a snack in the bar or enjoying a delicious salad al fresco, you’re sure to find something to brighten up your day.
Reviewed 31 May 2018

Outdoor seating under shaded umbrella with dog along, menu varied, food fresh, filling and service excellent, drinks also well priced and walking area available across the road if you want to exercise after filling up.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

We appreciate your positive review about your recent experience with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (707)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 707 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

Visited during a mini storm (lots of rain and thunder). Came with dogs and baby. Was seated with no menus. Order taken in good time. After 40 minutes, started to wonder where the food was. Waitress came out to apologise that the fuse had blown in the kitchen so all ovens down, but that they were back up again and so the food will be with us in 20 minutes, with complementary deserts for the wait. So after over an hour of being seated, our mains came. 2/3 were cold and one was soggy in the middle. Felt like it was half cooked and finished off in the microwave. Asked the waitress to provide water as two of the party were pregnant and it was very hot, which she never brought. We never saw her so couldn’t ask again. After we finished, took around 15-20 minutes to take the plates and we were not asked how the food was. When I told her that it was cold and didn’t enjoy it, she didn’t seem surprised and said she’d talk to the manager about it. We asked for our desert to go, it came in dirty Tupperware all wrapped together, and was very underwhelming. Had to ask for the bill, and then again to be able to pay. Bill came with no amended or an apology. Service was so slow and almost no existence. Granted, the restaurant could not help being struck by a storm, but the restaurant staff and handling of the situation brought the whole tone down. Shame because decor amazing and very accommodating of the dogs.

Thank freyaspencer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018 via mobile

Regular haunt for the odd Saturday lunch and occasional of the cuff meal for two .
The restaurant as I would more class it is beautifully situated , with only passing punters of the 4 wheeled variety .
In its leafy setting and idealic duck pond with carp inhabiting, this recently upgraded to a high taste location , boasts a new chef and fantastic menu .
Meals are sometimes hard to book due to its popularity , however I love it when in “off peak hour “ mode , where if caught in early afternoon for a peaceful Pinot or tasty tapped ale , you can relax in some quite sumptuous surroundings and tastefully decorated areas of split level bar .
The restaurant ( behind bar ) is exceptionally well laid out , where if you manage to Hail the tables at rear ( but discreet Satellite ) bar area , it is away from footfall at front of house.
Food beautiful , bar staff polite , good choice ale and wine , hoping it stays this idealic .
I have only taken a rating off top rating , due to its over popularity on evenings and events ( Mother’s Day , Christmas ) where booking can be busy .
Recommend .

Thank 916woody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

916woody, we are so happy to read such a great review about The Dukes Head, Little Burstead! Thank you so much again for your feedback! We hope you have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

We had a disappointing visit last year in June
But dinner last night was fine and service good despite the fact that the place must have been busy on a Bank Holiday.
Good service, good food and the kids were very happy with their grub.
So a happier visit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BenYorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day! We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018

An absolute hidden gem off the beaten track. Shhhhhh don't tell everyone

Always welcoming and always an amazing meal!

The staff are a credit to this place.

Always best to book as this is a very popular pub at the weekends. You can eat in the newly extended restaurant or eat the same menu in the bar,

Drink selection is top notch!

Could do with some singers etc on a Saturday night and Sunday afternoon and this would be the cherry on the top.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukesHeadBillericay, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day! We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dukes Head also viewed

Eynsford, Sevenoaks District
 
Battlesbridge, Essex
 
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 

Been to The Dukes Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing