We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Agoda.com
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
46
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
46
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews akakura kanko cheesecake train station local restaurants yogurt fabian gondola ski
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2020 via mobile

Dinner at this restaurant was superb. The chef puts on a choice of two entrees, two mains and a dessert with a different theme each night. On our first visit, we tried sashimi and then seared tuna or beef cheeks with mash followed by a divine deconstructed poached pear cheesecake. Our second visit was curry night, which included delicious accompaniments like pineapple chutney, yoghurt dressing and roti. We let the chef know in advance that we had a vegetarian guest and he was happy to cater for her

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Robyn-Wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom_Langtry, Owner at Hotel Silverhorn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2020

Dear Robyn-Wendy,

Thanks so much for visiting and the kind words in your review. I'm delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your dinners and will forward your comments on to our head chef Grant.

I hope you've enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Myoko, and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again sometime.

Warm regards,

Tom Langtry
Owner
Hotel Silverhorn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2019 via mobile

Visited Hotel Silverhorn for a 5 day skiing trip. Was met from the train station by Brian a 10 minute journey later we were at the hotel. We were booked into a ‘western’ style room on the second floor which was large, modern and clean. Double bedroom, lounge area and bathroom (with an excellent heating system).

Breakfast was a small selection of cereals, breads and a cooked option. We ate in the hotel for dinner on a couple of occasions and whilst the menu was fairly limited it was very tasty and large portions. Other days we went into town and ate in restaurants there.

The hotel is located across the road from the gondola. Probably the best location in town.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank LondonAVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom_Langtry, Owner at Hotel Silverhorn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2019

Dear LondonAVB,

Thanks for your detailed review, and for choosing to stay with us during your trip to Myoko. I'm very glad to hear you enjoyed your room, dining and our location.

I appreciate you taking to time to share your feedback, and hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to stay with us again sometime in the future.

Warm regards,

Tom Langtry
Owner
Hotel Silverhorn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2019

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Silverhorn for our Honeymoon in January 2019. Our expectations were exceeded in every aspect.

From the minute we arrived, we couldn’t believe how friendly and welcoming the staff were. Outside of dropping us into town for dinner and occasionally picking us up, they were also more than willing to provide recommendations for where to eat, advice on what stores to visit in town, guidance on Japanese culture and traditions to avoid embarrassing ourselves, as well as tips on which ski resorts in the Myoko area would be best for each day’s conditions (and they were spot on!).

Aside from having breakfast at Silverhorn every morning, we also had dinner there on multiples evenings and always found the food to be delicious and good value for money. We found the Tuesday Japanese Menu night to be particularly enjoyable, and were disappointed we were only there for one of them. We were very impressed by the staff’s attention to detail in remembering our dietary requirements at every meal to offer us things we weren’t allergic to.

At the most basic level, one of the most pleasing aspects of our stay was that everything was exactly as advertised or held to an even better quality. We found our room to be very comfortable, and appealing after a long day on the slopes, all amenities were very clean and functional. We made use of the private onsen in the lodge almost every day.

We found the location to be fantastic, the base of the gondola lift for Akakura Kanko is literally across the road. The town of Myoko Kogen and the closest lifts for Akakura Onsen is a quick walk away, but free shuttles are also available.

My wife and I will always look back on our time in Myoko pleasantly, and were very grateful to the staff of Hotel Silverhorn for helping to make it such an enjoyable experience.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrdnw2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom_Langtry, Owner at Hotel Silverhorn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2019

Dear jrdnw2017,

Thank you so much for staying with us for your Honeymoon. So nice to be able to assist during such a special time in your lives. And especially nice to hear that you enjoyed your time both in Myoko and with us at Silverhorn.

Thanks for all your feedback, it is much appreciated and encouraging. I have just shared it with all our team.

If you are ever considering another trip to Myoko please don't hesitate to let us know if we can be of assistance. Hoping to welcome you back again sometime.

Warm regards,

Tom Langtry
Owner
Hotel Silverhorn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2019 via mobile

What a lovely staff this hotel have.

We stayed at the hotel 6 night and all of us wished that we could stay for more nights.
The service was so professionell and the persons who worked at the hotel mad everything to make us feel at home.
Nice and fresh rooms.
The breakfast was perfect and to live so close to the skiing area was luxury!

A special thanks to the chef who joined my husband in the early morning to watch Liverpool on his computer.

We have nothing but creed to the hotel and the staff .....thanks for help to book restaurants, thanks for all rides with your car, thanks for the After skii drinks, thanks for all smiles and positiv talks!

If you stay at Hotel Silverhorn you’ll never regret your decision to book the place!

/ Helene and Sonny Eriksson, Sweden

Ps:dont forget to visit Onsen in the basement

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank HeleneE149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom_Langtry, Owner at Hotel Silverhorn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2019

Dear Helene and Sonny,

Greetings from Myoko. Thanks for staying with us during your holiday in Myoko. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your trip and the facilities and services from our team. And I hope Liverpool had a win!

Thanks for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I hope your trip back to Sweden went smoothly. Best wishes until we hopefully welcome you back to Myoko!

Warm regards,

Tom Langtry
Owner
Hotel Silverhorn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2019 via mobile

Our first stay at Hotel Silverhorn did not disappoint. Very helpful & friendly staff, great large comfortable clean rooms, excellent location literally across the road from the main gondola that services the longer red & black runs. We’re already planning our return trip.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 244amandap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom_Langtry, Owner at Hotel Silverhorn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2019

Dear 244amandap,

Greetings from Hotel Silverhorn. I am very glad to hear you were happy with your stay with us, and the location opposite the Akakura Gondola.

Thanks so much for staying with us, and please let us know if we can assist in planning your return trip.

Best wishes until we welcome you back.

Warm regards,

Tom Langtry
Owner
Hotel Silverhorn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews