We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia
Booking.com
Agoda.com
Trip.com
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
299 results
Traveller rating
181
94
18
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
181
94
18
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main building half board shabu shabu akakura kanko lift tickets reception area ski area three nights bakery kaiseki taxis tokyo yen adjustable slopes onsen winter
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 299 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2020 via mobile

What a truely wonderful part of the world. A short trip via train from Tokyo and a winter wonderland await. The hotel is stunning and is set on the mountain in a ski in and ski out fashion. Beautifully appointed and designed to take in the beautiful country setting. The staff are outstanding. Well presented, respectful, and helpful. The Japanese truely take pride in the service of guests. The accommodation is first rate and the food is amazing. There is an on-site bakery with all food carefully crafted right before your eyes......quality ingredients and delicious results. The skiing is top rate as are the onsen. It has been a pleasure to spend time in this special place.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Joninn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2020 via mobile

We were in Akakura at a time when there was strangely not much snow, but as our prime incentive was a spa we were happy to walk along what snow there was(boots provided by hotel) and build a snowman and be thankful that the days were sunny . The hotel is designed ‘lodge’ style and we had a private room with its own spa. The beds were large twins and the room design is very clever and cosy. After a spa ( or 3) you get very relaxed and a great nights sleep. There is a infinity pool( not to swim in the winter!!! Its icy cold) surrounding the hotel and the views of the surrounding mountains at sunrise and sunset are breathtaking. Food is good. We had shabu shabu one night and kaiseki the final night served by friendly staff. The cakes in the cafe are delicious and they make home cooked biscuits and preserves that make good presents. We went a week before the ski season so it was quiet and peaceful, i am unsure what it would be like once ski tourists came as the ski lift is close by. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank ongrena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2019

Ever since decided on a winter trip to Japan, this hotel was on my must go list. Made reservation 10 months in advance! And I have not been disappointed.
My favourite spot would have to be the onsen and then Aqua Terrace, both with amazing views. Onsen is one of the best I've been in Japan.
My room was a twin in the main building, Mt Myoko side. Spacious and of course with all the amenities you can expect in Japan.
Service is excellent, typical Japanese high standard, and they spoke reasonable English. Dinner and breakfast I found to be good but not very memorable.
Quite isolated in terms of location (reminds me a bit of Hotel Tateyama from a previous trip), free shuttle bus pick up/drop off from MyokoKogen station is handy.
A most enjoyable stay. Due to some late changes in my planning, only stayed one night. If I visit again would definitely do two nights!

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank A8889VSjessicah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2019

Spent two days here after kusatsu, It snowed day and night. We stayed in the terrace suite with private onsen which i would recommend. It is nice soaking in your own onsen outside while it is snowing. The suite is rather large for japan. The rooms and bathroom had heated floors. The restaurant had amazing views. If you chose to snowboard or ski you just walk out the door and you are at the top of the slope. The staff were very helpful and spoke adequate english. The only downside is that in snowy conditions it makes it hard to go into myoko kogen. You will have to eat in the restaurant which has a limited but excellent selection of food.

Room tip: Book suite 101 or 100.
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2019

Pretty good hotel, the ski-in/ ski-out of your room was really convenient, and you didn't have to go to one of the restaurants on the ski field. You could go into your room, have a snack and head right out. We stayed in a room with a private onsen, and was very nice to have it so close. Unfortunately this was JPY 50K per night so a bit pricey, but was very enjoyable.

Room tip: The best restaurant was the French.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JKY223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews