We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrendous experience”
Review of Virgin Atlantic Airways


Reviewed 9 September 2019

Booked Premium Economy for the flight home. Firstly the seats originally booked (ages ago when first done) were changed at check-in without any explanation which meant we were in the middle and not where we had originally booked (I was stuck in the middle of a group of three). The Virgin representative at check in was extremely morose and hardly said anything. On boarding the plane, when seated, a lady seated behind was disabled and I had to move my seat forward each time she needed to get up; as this was effectively a night flight (attempting to sleep) it was incredibly frustrating. Baffled why the airline had not recognised her disability and seated her nearer to the facilities. Choice of meals was limited as they ran out of two of the three options so went without a meal on an eight hour flight. We were offered a meal from economy but not what we paid for! In flight entertainment had not changed from inward flight even though month had changed and inflight magazine gave an update which was not reflected on screen. Overall an extremely poor experience and would not travel with Virgin again or pay for Premium Economy which was far from it!

Date of travel: September 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank dianab001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (15,178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,814 - 1,818 of 15,178 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2019

Couldn’t fault anything about the flight service and the help we received prior to flight as my daughter needed special assistance. The sunflower lanyard scheme is excellent for hidden disability and the extra legroom seats given meant we were able to fly with no problems

Date of travel: April 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank 312rachelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2019 via mobile

We love flying with virgin but this wasn’t a good one. To be honest the planes are old now, we flew on Ruby Tuesday, therefore the seats are not as comfortable or the tv screens responsive. Lots of jabbing the screen in the headrest from behind can be rather annoying in a night flying when you are trying to sleep!
Unfortunately for us there was a very large family all around us with children running up and down the aisles, loud shouting parents with foul mouths too. We know this isn’t the usual for virgin but was very intimidating plus annoying!
We have informed the company and did receive an apology so should be thankful for that even though we were unable to get any rest at all!
Good food, service and drinks were the only saviour of this flight.

Date of travel: August 2019
2  Thank TRIXIE2010_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2019 via mobile

Virgin Atlantic is by far the best long
haul airline I've ever been on. Their premium economy rivals first class on other airlines. Cabin attendants were great, food was fantastic. Highly recommend VA to anyone heading to Europe.

Date of travel: September 2019
Thank tcox0161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2019 via mobile

What a brilliant flight, initially I was worried about the small seats but they are so comfortable, staff are just fabulous, food OK, lots of drink, good choice of tv programmed. My best long distance flight ever!!

Date of travel: August 2019
2  Thank maimurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC