We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Economy Delight”
Review of Virgin Atlantic Airways


Reviewed 8 September 2019 via mobile

Positives, check in at LHR was quick and priority boarding a nice touch. Negatives, once on board we realised our error. We had booked seats in row 49, so we could all be together. The error being that although plenty of leg room they are right near the toilets and therefore used as a walkway by passengers even though they're told not too. It was suggested that we use blankets as a barricade but as this felt a bit extreme we didn't. People don't realise that you have paid extra for those seats so have total disregard for people sitting there. So what followed was 7 hours of moving our feet, telling people it wasn't a walkway and asking one woman to move who decided to stand right in front of me, we even put 2 bags on the floor but people just walked over them! Having witnessed a near fight on another flight and then being told by the stewardess that a previous passenger had her foot broken on a night flight because someone stepped on it, think it's about time Virgin sorted it, a small chain each side would suffice. Positives, the crew we're great, lovely service and we even got champagne in a glass as it was hubbies birthday. Would definitely fly Virgin transatlantic again but please sort out those seats!

Date of travel: September 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
1  Thank traceyb435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (15,178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,821 - 1,825 of 15,178 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2019

On our flight back we decided to pay a little bit more and go premium, as it was a night flight and we arrived early morning, we didn't want to be driving back home without any sleep.
Neither of us had been in anything higher than economy before, but after this flight I don't think i'll even fly economy again. If you can afford it, premium is definitely worth the extra pennies.
You get 2 check in bags, we only had 1 each so we didn't take advance of this perk, and also your own check in desks. At JFK airport we were also able to go through security in a separate premium line, so missed out all of the huge queues, which was great. At the gate you were given priority boarding, and once on the flight you were given a glass of bubbly or fresh orange juice.
On the flight the premium cabin was quite small, so not that many people were located in our area, which was great. You had your own toilet too, so you weren't constantly waiting for it to be empty like in economy. As the flight was a night flight, we were given a little pack to keep which had flight socks, eye mask, ear plugs, toothbrush & toothpaste. The seats were also extra comfy, extra wide, and could recline further than the ones in economy. The headrests also folded out on each side, so that you could rest your head on something, which was great.
One thing i was super impressed with was the food. It was all served in proper china, and you were given real cutlery, not the plastic ones. All drinks were also given to you in glasses, and nothing was too much for the cabin crew. During breakfast i asked for a hot chocolate, which wasn't on the breakfast trolley, and they went off and made one for me, and brought it back in a proper mug. The food selection was much bigger, and you were given more sweet treats too.
Upon collecting our bags, ours had a premium tag hanging from each, and they were one of the first ones off of the flight. So i'm not sure if this is something that they also do, if you are in the higher classes, or if it was just a coincidence.

Date of travel: September 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank afiedler93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2019 via mobile

The best part of our flight was the service and smiles from the staff on board the plane. They helped us find a lost ear ring and even gave us a tour of the plane afterwards and showed us the various seats on offer. We really enjoyed that.
The seat itself and the in flight entertainment was not so great, very old and not up to date with what you would get elsewhere. The display quality was quite poor which meant we couldn’t watch a film or tv show very well.
Food and drinks were fine and quite tasty. Overall I would recommend as the seats were very cheap, in fact the cheapest.

Date of travel: August 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
2  Thank willl673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2019

We were waiting in the lounge and i thought i check out our plane and take a photograph of it and there She was Ruby Tuesday again! We have no flown on this Jumbo Jet many, many times. Not sure if there are not many but we keep getting Ruby? We boarded and took our seats which were spacious with plenty of leg room. The flight which was 6+ hours was very smooth and i have to say the service throughout the flight was excellent. I really loved the Mile High afternoon tea and scones it was scrumptious.

Date of travel: August 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2019

My favourite airline from now on, just perfect. Meals on the airplane not bad.
Kids loved the experience

Date of travel: July 2019
Thank michael l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC