We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great flight”
Review of Virgin Atlantic Airways


Reviewed 16 June 2019 via mobile

This was my first ever long flight and flight out of Europe and i was pleasantly surprised. I expected to feel uncomfortable and for the flight to drag on but it didn't. The flight itself was very smooth and the service was very good. The flight was quite empty so the flight attendants were able to be quite attentive, they regularly came round with snacks and drinks and would accomodate us with whatever we wanted. The food available was good and was tasty, the options were pasta / pork / chicken with mushroom, and before they had served not even half the plane they had ran out of the pasta, now for anybody else this wouldn't be an issue but as I can't eat pork and really dislike mushroom this was an issue for me. Luckily they had a spare beef lasagne from the upper class meals that I could have so I didn't go hungry. They were also accommodating with my nephews request for his teddy to have a selfie with the pilot which was awesome. The inflight entertainment was good too with a wide selection of things to watch or do although the tv's themselves were quite tricky to use as the touchscreen played up a bit. Nether the less the flight was good all round.

Date of travel: June 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
1  Thank DanandHannah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (15,178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,635 - 2,639 of 15,178 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2019

They fly the latest Airplanes, depart on time, and have well educated, friendly cabin staff. Would recommend this Airline highly and choose them over other carriers anytime. You just feel safe on board.

Date of travel: May 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank bababobolong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2019

Great flight as always, comfortable, clean aircraft, good food, very helpful and attentive cabin crew, first class entertainment.

Date of travel: May 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2019

Booked last September original booking stated 747 then changed to A330 200. Did some research and they are old Air Berlin planes updated with Virgin seats etc. We knew from previously looking on TripAdvisor that it was going to be an uncomfortable flight. The previous reviews were not wrong. No leg room and I am only 5ft 1inch, very small seat pitch and can say the seating is in comparison to short haul Ryanair, EasyJet planes etc but actually feel Ryanair seats where more comfortable than this Virgin plane. I spoke to an air stewardess who said ' they are here to stay for our northern customers' which I can definitely say I will not fly long haul with them on this plane again. Unfortunately these planes may increase the risk of DVTs. The good point is that the stewardesses work very hard to keep you fed and watered and do their very best to make you comfortable. Virgin need to up their game because for the price you are paying you certainly not getting value and you are certainly not going to be comfortable.

Date of travel: June 2019
4  Thank SamanthaC91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2019

Can’t fault the service , plenty of drinks offered and food service twice on the flight. Cabin crew really friendly and great to see cabin crew of all ages. Entertainment was good with loads of films to watch. But the plane was cramped. No longer the big double deckers but ex air Berlin planes that have been updated. Premium didn’t look much better so didn’t see the point of paying £250 each to upgrade. Dreamliners have much more room

Date of travel: May 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank Adelef1fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC