We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boston to Oahu direct - first time.”
Review of Hawaiian Airlines


Reviewed 10 December 2020

This was my first time on this Direct Flight from Boston to Honolulu and even tho the quite flight was long ... it was reasonably priced and seemed to go quickly. I think the economy seating these planes had reasonable legroom and the meals and service were acceptable. Hawaiian in flight entertainment is lacking - an app you must download to your own device - so it is advisable to bring your own e-books, movies, and other entertainment - but the app is still worth preloading for the destination oriented content and flight information for that moment when you get inevitably bored with you own.

Date of travel: January 2020
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank L930jayb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (7,602)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 40 of 7,602 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2020

I had flight in December and had to change because of covid scare at work and quarantine waiting for test results. So canceled flight and tried to change to Jan 2021. Original flight that was paid for two people was $1200 plus for one way coach and return extra comfort because on Dec 15 2020 Hawaiian pulled restricted seats to open all seats. When booked figure since flight is empty and non sold seats can go from HNL to LAS on coach. When tried to rebook, first was told even though credit difference of $238 was not going to be paid back to me. Even though had to pay $20 extra when it was a price difference in a flight, they said it would be forrfitted because that is policy. I asked then I want extra comfort both ways and was told I had to pay an extra $89 per person because it is extra comfort and even though Hawaiian owed me $238. So instead of getting credit back, they want more money for extra comfort, even though it is still cheaper than the credit. TO make it worse, they said cI had a reservation, yet no seat reserved....How is that possible, and I checked my credit card and was charged for one person $89 yesterday, but still no seat reserved and why would I change only one seat and not two of us???? I was told, that is policy and either pay or go coach. Hawaiian is usually good, but this was last straw of nickle and dime loyal customers by hiding the fact they might not charge a change fee, but will keep anything that is a credit, but have to pay any difference for a extra comfort or first class. SHame on Hawaiian. Also was put on hold on chat and finally no one came back to answer questions.

Date of travel: December 2020
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank J385DEjohng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2020 via mobile

We had return flights booked for the whole family between the islands. Unfortunately our plans got impacted by COVID-19. Despite the fact that we could only qualify for the credit, the airline decided to give as a refund. The money was back on my account the next week. I would like to mention that I'm still waiting for my refund from the Australian travel agent (6 months now).

Date of travel: August 2020
    • Customer service
Thank veronikaw2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2020

In March 2020 i was meant to travel to Hawaii however had to cancel my trip due to COVID-19. I requested a refund which took weeks and week to get approved. Its now December 2020 when i am writing this and i am still waiting on my refund thanks to the lack of respect and care for their customers. I have made a countless number of follow ups over the phone and via emails and not once has a member of the customer service team been able to properly assist me, they just give false information and continue to make mistakes delaying the issue more and more. This has honestly been the worst customer service experience i have ever received, all i want is my money back and HA just continue to avoid giving my money back by the day.

Date of travel: March 2020
1  Thank shalinip306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2020

I fly with Hawaiian Airlines often. I was flying alone back home to Oahu. I boarded the plane with a carry on and a small duffel bag. When I got to my seat, I struggled to push my duffel bag onto the top of the plane (I am 4’9). I politely asked the flight attendant if she could help me put my carry on up. She was extremely rude and said “If you can’t put your own luggage up then you should not be flying”. There were other flight attendants looking at me aware of what is going on. They too did not bother to help me. The rude flight attendant then took my carry on and called people to grab it and remove it from the aircraft. At this point the entire plane knew what was going on. I am very unhappy with the service of Hawaiian Airlines, this is definitely not the “aloha service” they advertise. I will greatly consider taking my business to Southwest Airlines.

Date of travel: July 2020
1  Thank kyhi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.