We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Experience - missing basis hospitality”
Review of Etihad Airways


Reviewed 13 April 2024

We traveled with Etihad first time immediately after we traveled from Chicago in Emirates. Bad move!! We traveled with family of 3 including a kid 10 yrs old. He was hungry most of the times in flight as they don't have a service of offering kids first. First time, they said the kids meal is there at the back of flights and he was served with substitute (couple of things that he didn't like). Second time, he was denied too but we had to request more to get his kids meal. We saw this in Emirates where kids are attends first. When we asked for anything, we were shown an emotionless face from the cabin crew. No empathy towards customers, no connection at all. Toilets were not clean and were attended to after a long time. Food was below average. Overall absolutely waste of money!! They need to learn from other airlines. It's not a journey, but an experience for a customer and it should be met with lots of smiles and excellent service. Emirates even clicked photos with with son and gave us the same instantly, offered kids their food first before starting with others, bathrooms had lots of amenities like moisturizers, wet towels, sanitizer gels that opens (unlike Etihad that never opened). Will not fly Etihad again unless it's the last one left on the list.

Date of travel: April 2024
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank Surjeet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Etihadairways, Manager at Etihad Airways, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2024

Hi Surjeet. That doesn't sound ideal as the comfort of our guests is our number one priority, especially the little ones. Please do fill our feedback form via: https://www.etihad.com/en-us/help/feedback and click on 'share feedback', so our Guest Relations team can look into the matter and thoroughly investigate this further for you. Thanks. *Zia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (19,019)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

111 - 115 of 19,019 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2024

We (family of 4) recently flew from Dublin to Thailand with Etihad. We were surprised that we had to pay extra for seats - I didn’t classify Etihad as a low-cost airline. While this may not be the case, it definitely has traits resembling one.

The flights themselves were reasonable enough. We were seated at the back of the plane as we didn’t pay extra for seats. The in-flight entertainment was adequate. The food was so-so, but then again, it’s rarely a source of compliment these days. The new airport terminal in Abu Dhabi is fantastic however.

I found it strange that they insist on serving two 'meals' on 7-hour flights, especially the overnight ones. For example, the flight from Abu Dhabi to Dublin left at 2:20am [local time] and arrived in Dublin at 7:50 [local time]. For some strange reason they insisted on keeping the lights on in the cabin to serve a pasty of some sort, and then 2.5 hours before landing turned them back on to serve more food. I would have expected that every effort would have been made to accommodate the maximum level of sleep on a flight over those hours, when in fact the opposite appeared to be the case.

And to conclude matters, my suitcase was damaged on the return flight (photo attached). I filed the report and went through the dispute process. They determined that the suitcase only suffered a 'minor dent' and therefore no compensation of any sort was available. I requested how this determination was made, what the escalation/appeal process was etc, and I just had the same answers repeated over and over again to me (the damage is considered minor so no compensation on offer). This is where Etihad appears to have taken its lessons from the low-cost airlines - frustrating to deal with, no ability to consider another’s viewpoint and once their decision is made there is no changing it.

Based on my experience, Etihad is an average airline with a decent network across Europe and Asia. However, their customer service is disappointing and it shows serious traits of the low-cost airline industry - paying extra for seats, poor customer service, terrible when something goes wrong etc. Honestly, I would be slow to fly them again, and slow to recommend them to a friend or family member.

Date of travel: March 2024
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
2  Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Etihadairways, Manager at Etihad Airways, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2024

Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and we wish your experience could have been better. Please share all the details of your experience with our Guest Relations Team via our online feedback form as we are constantly striving to improve our service and product for a better guest experience. *Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2024

Seats 74A 74 C two seats together at the back avoid at any cost the noise level from behind you coming from cabin food area is awful 6 hours of noise when you just want to sleep . Very small seats and definitely no leg room .Food 2out of 10 .

Date of travel: April 2024
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank Teresa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Etihadairways, Manager at Etihad Airways, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2024

We value your feedback and would appreciate it if you could elaborate further. Please share more about your experience via our website Feedback section: www.etihad.com
We also encourage you to visit our website www.etihad.com/en-ae/fly-etihad/our-fleet in advance for more information about our fleet. *Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2024

use to fly a lot with Qatar and Emirates. but Etihad is the next level flight experience. including the airport at Abu Dhabi.

Date of travel: April 2024
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank Kees S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Etihadairways, Manager at Etihad Airways, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2024

Thanks so much for your feedback! It makes our day hearing about how much our customers love and the great service they’ve received from our team. We look forward to flying with you again soon :) *Zoe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2024

Over the last 5 years the loyalty programme Etihad Guest has become less and less valuable. It is now virtually impossible to upgrade using air miles, no matter how far in advance you book. The overall quality of the economy flights has become lower and in general this is an less premium airline with low value for money. My experience for my family has generally been very poor and I would not recommend people to fly with Etihad. Their customer service is amongst the worse and I have never been able to resolve my issues through their contact centre staff.

Date of travel: March 2024
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Etihadairways, Manager at Etihad Airways, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2024

That doesn't sound good to us. Your input and the feedback are vitally important to us. Please share your experience with our Guest Relations team on our website for further review. Thank you. *Zoe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.