We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we booked the flight four hours before departure”
Review of China Airlines


Reviewed 13 March 2024

We were late for our original flight at a different airline so we booked a flight at China Airlines instead to ensure we arrived in time for our tours. The four of us conveniently found and booked a flight that left within four hours.

They had a priority line for those who had checked-in online with very few passengers in queue. However, online check-in was not available for our flight and we found out upon manually checking in that this was because of the meals. Because the inward flight had already left, the airlines could no longer process the in-flight meals; they had asked us to sign a waiver that we understood and waive our right to the in-flight meal—hence the unavailability of the online check-in for our transaction.

Since there were senior citizens and PWD in our group, we were given priority in checking in. Nevertheless, the service crew handling our case has not yet encountered this scenario since he had to ask his supervisor for advice at each step. There were several when we had to repeat what I had already said to the supervisor. The staff at the counter were more rigid in asking about our purpose, etc. than the immigration personnel. They asked for copies of our itineraries, reservations, return flights, etc., items that not even the immigration officers required from us.

Although the inward flight arrived late, we arrived in Taipei on time. The in-flight entertainment was ample. There were some newer movies available. Most of the choices for the series were mostly old or were in Chinese. We were seated in the last rows so portions of the flight when the pilot had manual control were very jerky.

Despite signing a waiver that we understood that there were no in-flight meals available for us, China Airlines exerted effort to serve us snacks—some cookies, peanuts, and drinks.

Date of travel: February 2024
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank jblaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (4,304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 23 of 4,304 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2024

So where to start.
booked a flight to go to a friends wedding and arrived to the airport counter where i was told flight was full.
ok due to the strikes was a issue and i would understand that.
so basically no trying to allocate on a different flight. very rude attendant at airport insulting the customers. call center they hang up on me 3 times and zero help.
in the end i paid my fare and now even through refuse to give the money back from the flight fare.
absolutely not recommended and even wonder how a firm like this is allowed to scam people like this.
never again and stay away from this carrier

Date of travel: March 2024
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank hugo c
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 March 2024

They don’t allow you to bring two luggage on the plane. There’s no other international airlines flying to outside of Europe that prohibit two luggage.

Date of travel: March 2024
1  Thank Riho N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 March 2024

Avoid this airline, They are made for the Asian market and pack you in as tight as they can. We had so many problems on our flight overseas and then again back home. Once try to airlines has your money, customer service goes away. They made promises to resolve our situation, which none of them came true.

Date of travel: March 2024
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 February 2024

Good pilot, indifferent crew, awful food loaded from Canadian catering. Needs definite improvement especially since the meals were tossed at us.

Date of travel: February 2024
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank bertilv2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.