We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cancelled flight because of poor planning. SHAME ON YOU AMERICAN AIRLINES!!!”
Review of American Airlines


Reviewed 28 June 2021

SHAME ON YOU AMERICAN AIRLINES!!!

DO NOT OFFER FLIGHTS if you don't have the staff to run the flight!!! No backup solution for canceled flight either.

SHAME ON YOU!!!

Date of travel: June 2021
Thank JohnoDAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (73,214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

888 - 892 of 73,214 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2021

First flight was 3 hours late due to mechanical problems, rebooked a terrible three-part connection and then the middle connecting flight was canceled about 10 minutes before I was due to board the first flight. I bought a one way from another airline to get to my destination. Then I found out that they had canceled my return flights. They said that since I had not boarded the rebooked flight, the entire ticket was void. "You will have to buy a new ticket". I bought it from another airline, of course. Never again.

Date of travel: June 2021
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank marynya1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 June 2021

The worst airline to ever exist. They delayed my flight so then I will essentially miss my connecting flight. Their solution was to drop me off at an airport three hours from where I needed to be. Are you serious? I am missing a very important business meeting and losing hotel I booked. This company is garbage and deserves to go under. We hate you American Airlines!

Date of travel: June 2021
Thank AntonioStrano
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 June 2021

So my original flight was canceled due to bad weather. Totally understandable, however, they did absolutely nothing to accommodate customers who got stuck due to this. The next flight they had to offer was two days later, nearly doubling my stay. I tried to call them multiple times, the first of which they called me back at 2 am so I obviously did not see it until morning. I tried calling a few more times to hopefully at least get some kind of partial refund for the flight as it caused me to miss an entire day of work and have to book a hotel for two nights. They put me on an indefinite “callback list” which they never returned the call for. Unless something drastic happens, will never fly with them and will urge friends and family to use a better service.

Date of travel: June 2021
Thank Mel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 June 2021

Where do I begin? Yesterday I flew from New Orleans to Lake Tahoe for a vacation. The flight from New Orleans to Dallas had no issues. The plan was to meet up with my sister in Dallas (she flew from Houston) and fly together to Reno. Her flight was delayed 20 minutes leaving Houston for weather. We both knew we already had short layovers. When I got to my terminal in Dallas, I called her and she had JUST landed from Houston and she was at a different terminal. I went to the desk at the gate and told them my sister's AMERICAN AIRLINES flight was delayed leaving Houston and she was at DFW walking to the terminal now. The flight attendant was EXTREMELY RUDE and said "if she doesn't get here by the cutoff time we are closing the doors. Tell her to hurry up." I then called her and relayed the information to her and the flight attendant said "if she's not here in 8 minutes (15 mins before take off) I'm closing my doors". Keep in mind this basic economy flight was $800. Wouldn't you think the flight attendants would work with her since her connecting flight was also American Airlines? Nope!
After that whole charade, thankfully she made it on the flight. The flight itself was the worst flight I've ever been on. The landing was extended about 20 minutes because the pilot was trying to avoid a paraglider. Understandable. However, the landing was the most motion-sickness inducing flight landing I have ever experienced (and I fly a lot). The pilot did not communicate to us except ONCE throughout the whole 40 minute landing. Usually they warn of a bumpy landing. It felt like a roller coaster. I as well as MULTIPLE others on the flight VOMITED PROFUSELY FOR 30 minutes straight. I have NEVER gotten motion sickness on a flight before. No apology or communication or anything from the pilot or the flight attendants. Nobody brought us extra throw up bags or napkins. Some peoples vomit was leaking on the floor. Just disgusting.
Thank god, we landed safely! Then we received an email that my sister (who came from Houston)'s bag was delayed. Her bag is on another flight. It is now the next day and no bag. It's almost impossible to get in touch with American Airlines. When you try to call, it's a dead end and doesn't even give you options of speaking with a robot let alone a human. The man at baggage claim was also extremely rude. We are now on vacation in Tahoe .and she doesn't have a bag and the tracking feature online is useless.
I can confidently say that this day of traveling was the absolute worst I've experienced. I fly often, about 1/2 the time on American and can say I will never fly American again.

Date of travel: June 2021
2  Thank saraeL1158UG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.