We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Inauguration 2021

Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
20 posts
Inauguration 2021
Save

Hi everyone! I want to go to the inauguration in January, but most of the hotels are booked and those that aren’t booked are charging $1000+ per night. I’m a college student and can’t afford the $1000+ per night. What are some close areas that I can stay in and travel into DC? What would be the best form of transportation to get to DC from these areas? Thank you!

23 replies to this topic
Fairfax County...
Level Contributor
3,454 posts
27 reviews
11 helpful votes
1. Re: Inauguration 2021
Save

You need to give the exact dates you will need a hotel room. Some people need it before, some people need it the day of, some need both.

And what is you maximum budget? Hotels are always expensive around Inauguration dates historically, and this year we have even more limited capacity.

Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
20 posts
2. Re: Inauguration 2021
Save

My exact dates are January 19 - 21.my max budget is $1000 total for the rooms.

Edited: 12 November 2020, 20:53
Maryland
Destination Expert
for Las Vegas, Washington DC, County Donegal, Western Ireland
Level Contributor
72,329 posts
49 reviews
111 helpful votes
3. Re: Inauguration 2021
Save

As I commented the other day on a similar post:

I will be very ( very!) surprised if there are any public inauguration events in January.

Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
20 posts
4. Re: Inauguration 2021
Save

Yeah that’s another reason why I’m stuck in a hard place. I don’t want to book the hotels, flights and possibly a rental car and he doesn’t have one. At the same time, if he does have a formal inauguration, I want to have those things set in stone.

US
Level Contributor
9,047 posts
42 reviews
17 helpful votes