We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Safety in small town Tala,

St. George, Utah
3 posts
1 review
Safety in small town Tala,
Save

My husband and I are wanting to move to Tala, a small town about 45 minutes west of Guadalajara. He is mexican and his grandparents live there. I, however, am white, blonde hair, blue eyes. I have been studying spanish for several years and would like to move for an immersion experience. I have read that Guadalajara is pretty safe but I have had a hard time finding information about Tala. His grandma assures us it is very safe, but I have gotten mixed messages. Would it be safe for me, a guerita who will stick out like a sore thumb?

Bucerias, Mexico
Destination Expert
for Bucerias, Nuevo Vallarta, Guadalajara
Level Contributor
3,817 posts
113 reviews
71 helpful votes
1. Re: Safety in small town Tala,
Save

You will be very safe there since the family is established there. It can end up being a very enriching experience for you. No doubt you will stick out like a sore thumb at first, but it will be as much for cultural reasons as looks.

BTW, while you may be blonder than some, you will see there are quite a few Mexicans with light colored hair and blue eyes.

St. George, Utah
3 posts
1 review
2. Re: Safety in small town Tala,
Save

Thanks for replying! That is good to hear!

Guadalajara, Mexico
Destination Expert
for San Luis Potosi, Zacatecas
Level Contributor
5,944 posts
3. Re: Safety in small town Tala,
Save