We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cuckoo Restaurant

508 Mt Dandenong Tourist Rd, Olinda, Victoria 3788, Australia
+61 3 9751 1003
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent31%
  • Very good35%
  • Average19%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“pancakes” (33 reviews)
“goulash” (8 reviews)
“mussels” (8 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
German, European
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
508 Mt Dandenong Tourist Rd, Olinda, Victoria 3788, Australia
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Took a visitor from overseas here, partly because we thought she'd like it, and partly because we hadn't been before despite living locally. We went on a Saturday night for the buffet. Please be aware that if you're vegetarian, they can not cater for you...More

Thank Chookybirdy
Reviewed 1 week ago

This restaurant has a very nice rustic ambience. We had dinner here and the food was excellent. You get to order the main course and you will get a free drink ( wine, beer or soft drink), salad bar and as well as a desert...More

Thank rama8544
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a wonderful night at the Cuckoo. We were a party of 20 with kids of all ages. The food was plentiful with a wide range and good quality. The sweet chilli mussels really good followed by the goulash!! Plenty of eating options for...More

Thank c h
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I had afternoon tea at the Cuckoo with extended family. It was fabulous. There is so much tasty food to choose from. It is not like thr the usual high teas, because you can have quite a substantial feed for a set price, with items...More

Thank vera h
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Crowded, the music was loud.The wait staff were very friendly I was there with family and we weren't able to talk to each other. We chose the wrong place for our family catchup. The food was "serve yourself" and pretty well eat as much as...More

Thank Lesley M
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Average selection of food, manly tasteless or not fresh, uninviting atmosphere. Staff started cleaning tables to get ready for the following day at about 9.30pm when the party was still going on. Entertainment was a joke. The new management seems to ruin this place as...More

1  Thank Paula R
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Family lunch today for 7.Bad reviews from all at our table.1 soup at the soup station which was like water,entrees where dry biscuits cheese and a bit of pate' mains were terrible with over cooked veg and dried out meats. The strudel and pancakes for...More

1  Thank Leanne P
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you ask anyone in Melbourne, chances are they will say 'Yes I've been to the Cuckoo'. This place is an institution. You go here because it is Christmas all year round. Reading some of the other reviews....yes it is stuck in the 80's, yes...More

Thank JoJoblogs
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Average expensive Christmas lunch, some dishes overcooked, duck was lovely made up for dry turkey did not expect to have lamb chops,the desserts where ok only one apple strudel and one small gravey boat of vanilla sauce compared to large trays of various slices. The...More

Thank John F
Simone G, Manager at Cuckoo Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

I am sorry you didn't enjoy your time at the Cuckoo for Christmas day. We are however very fortunate that hundreds of people disagreed with your perspective on the day as we have been flooded with praise for exactly the aspects you found intolerable. As...More

Reviewed 7 December 2017 via mobile

Went here for lunch. Selection of food very good, however, food not hot (resulting in tummy troubles). Musical accompaniment only lasted 10-15 mins or so. At $60 each excluding drinks, it’s not good value for the family dollar. Won t be rushing back

2  Thank Therese G
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Olinda Hotels
CountryPlace
49 reviews
3.86 km away
Linley Estate
48 reviews
6.69 km away
York on Lilydale
170 reviews
6.98 km away
Ferntree Gully Motel
109 reviews
7.16 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Olinda Cafe
213 reviews
.38 km away
Sassafras Cafe
105 reviews
1.35 km away
Fortnums
134 reviews
1.32 km away
Dudley’s
201 reviews
.37 km away
Nearby Attractions
National Rhododendron Gardens
388 reviews
.71 km away
Tea Leaves Australia
71 reviews
1.46 km away
Cloudehill Nursery and Gardens
139 reviews
.85 km away
Geppetto's Workshop
18 reviews
1.39 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Richard S
13 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Simone G | Property representative |
Hi there, We are indeed open for Xmas but it is almost fully booked out for the lunch session and the dinner is almost full as well. Please give our reservations a call on 03 9751 1003 7 days a week 9-5pm to get more... More
1
Vote
287Angela
21 April 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Partlyblonde | Reviewed this property |
Also we didn't pay a price per head, we paid for what we ordered and so could control how much we spent.
1
Vote
Russell K
31 May 2015|
What is your answer?
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$22 - US$52
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
有泊車位, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, View, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
6:30 PM - 11:00 PM
11:30 AM - 5:30 PM
Monday
11:30 AM - 3:30 PM
Tuesday
11:30 AM - 3:30 PM
Wednesday
11:30 AM - 3:30 PM
Thursday
11:30 AM - 3:30 PM
Friday
11:30 AM - 3:30 PM
6:30 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
6:30 PM - 11:00 PM
11:30 AM - 5:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 508 Mt Dandenong Tourist Rd, Olinda, Victoria 3788, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Victoria  >  Olinda
  • Phone Number: +61 3 9751 1003
  • E-mail
Description
THE CUCKOO RESTAURANT Wunderbar! Situated in the stunning Dandenong Ranges, just 50 minutes from Melbourne, the Cuckoo is close to popular tourist destinations like Puffing Billy Railway and Healesville Sanctuary. This buzzing 400 seat restaurant offers a delectable smorgasbord in a warm and welcoming family atmosphere. Decorated in the style of a Bavarian chalet and with staff dressed in traditional costume, The Cuckoo has been attracting locals and visitors from all over the world for nearly sixty years. With an abundance of food to satisfy all, the delicious international smorgasbord is prepared by first class chefs and the amazing range of cakes and pastries are made fresh daily. Most dietary needs can be catered for. Live entertainment at each session includes music and a floor show, cow bell ringing and yodelling equal to any in Bavaria The Cuckoo also offers wedding celebrations with receptions planned and staged beautifully with views of the surrounding mountain ash forest. For getaway couples, a family day out or large festive party groups the Cuckoo Restaurant offers the beauty of the Dandenong's, sumptuous and generous meals plus entertaining events throughout the year at very competitive rates. Bookings are essential Open for lunch 7 days a week 11.30am - 3.00pm Dinner Friday, Saturday & Sunday 6.30pm - 11.30pm Afternoon Tea Saturday & Sunday 3.30pm-5.30pm
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing