We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Mentioned in

Sponsored by: Taverna Restaurant

Top 3 Reasons to Eat Here

1. Fantastic food...great flavour
1. Fantastic food...great flavour
"Well done again Taverna (My favourite Greek restaurant)"
Neil T
See reviews that mention Fantastic food...great flavour
2. Fantastic meal and @@service@@
2. Fantastic meal and @@service@@
"Service was impeccable. This is a high end dining experience."
Jennie J
See reviews that mention service was impeccable
3. Outstanding!
3. Outstanding!
"We could not fault anything. Great food, great service, great ambience"
Intrepidtraveller001
See reviews that mention great ambience
About
Taverna is a quaint seaside restaurant with ocean views. We serve Greek inspired cuisine and a comprehensive beverage list. Bookings essential.
PRICE RANGE
US$9 - US$26
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
Mediterranean, Greek, Grill, Contemporary
FEATURES
Gift Cards Available, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, 有泊車位, Street Parking, Free off-street parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (648)
Filter reviews
648 results
Traveller rating
492
96
24
18
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
492
96
24
18
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lamb halloumi octopus trout potatoes roasted pumpkin bread fries seafood salad sunday night chefs table small plates sunday banquet modern greek share plates banquet style
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Taverna at Kingscliff provides the best Greek food I’ve had for some time. The shared plates are generous with mouth watering slow cooked lamb shoulder, always a favourite. The scallops were delicious as were the entree lamb cutlets and the roast pumpkin with beetroot tzatziki....Every dish was tender juicy and full of flavour. Excellent service staff which hard to find outside the city these days. A delightful spot for lunch on a beautiful sunny day in Kingscliff.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Restaurant's Favourite
Reviewed 22 June 2020

Taverna has everything: delicious food, generous servings, lovely ambience and professional, attentive staff. Our third visit and just as impressive as previous meals. Will be back.

Date of visit: June 2020
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was my second time dining at Taverna. The first time we had the Sunday evening banquet. While the food was good, we were incredibly rushed so they could flip tables multiple times during the night. We had thought this may have been a one...off scenario on a particularly busy evening so wanted to try again due to the positive reviews. Once again, the food was delicious but the evening was ruined by poor customer service focussed on flipping tables. Our first drinks took 30 minutes to arrive, at which point we were already well into our food. We were asked if we’d like another drink so we ordered 1 drink which involved putting one shot in a glass (we poured the mixer ourselves). The bill was put in front of us and we were asked to pay immediately. We then waited 20 minutes for the drink to arrive, having to follow it up once with the waitress. Less than 5 minutes after the drink was served, the waitress asked us to leave or finish the drink outside. We understand the need to push customers through in an evening, but there is also a way to do that, and the rudeness of the waitress was unacceptable. If Taverna want to push that number of people through in an evening, their bar service needs to dramatically improve so the customer’s time is not wasted waiting for drinks. It’s a shame the service is so poor as the food is pretty good!More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Restaurant Mana... T, Owner at Taverna Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for your feedback. We would really like to investigate your experience some more. We would be grateful if you could contact our Venue Manager directly by email restaurantmanager@taverna.net.au.

Reviewed 1 week ago

One of the top three restaurants (out of 165 ) I've been to on the Tweed and the Gold Coast. Nothing could be faulted from booking until leaving. Staff and service was fabulous, location and table by the window added to the experience and the...food was way better than I could do at home and we enjoyed every mouthful. We had the Pan seared QLD Scallops, laolemono with Caviar. Followed by the BabySquid, seaweed and pink peppercorn . Then the sardines, sesame seeds and lemon oil. The main was the Lamb shoulder with the baked pumpkin and beetroot Tzatziki. For dessert we actually went to an entree dish of the Halomi with honey instead of the usual dessert. This was amazing as it was sweet not salty. Everyone should experience this place at least once.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Restaurant Mana... T, Owner at Taverna Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

We feel humbled at your lovely feedback. Thank you for sharing your experience. What a great idea to finish the meal with the Byron Bay Haloumi with local bush honey! We hope to welcome you back another time soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our second visit to this gorgeous Taverna, we had a few friends with us and booked a table outside as we had our little dog with us. We all shared the Sardines, Meatballs, Spinach Pie plus Slow Cooked Shoulder Lamb, Everything was TDF...and we had great service , our friends said they will be back for sure as this place has excellent food and we will also be returning on our next visit to Kingscliff.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Restaurant Mana... T, Owner at Taverna Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Always lovely to hear such lovely feedback. Thank you for sharing and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Reviewed 16 April 2021

My daughter and I celebrated our birthdays at Taverna. We tried a delicious Greek wine and shared the tasting menu for two which was excellent value. Every dish was delicious and the service couldn’t be faulted. Our dietary requirements were accommodated for and we thoroughly...enjoyed our leisurely lunch. We can’t wait to return!More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Restaurant Mana... T, Owner at Taverna Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Happy Birthday to you both! Thank you for letting us help you celebrate special family occasions. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Reviewed 13 April 2021

Went for a birthday and was seated outside. The atmosphere was terrible, with no music and bright fluorescent lights beaming down on the tables. We were there for the Sunday night set menu, and the food was extremely mediocre. The scallops were practically inedible, the...octopus was paired with a puree that was unsuitable and just plain bad, and the halloumi left much to be desired. There was a vegan in our party and the vegan options were even more disappointing than the rest of the food. They lacked flavour, originality, and multiple dishes were paired with the same beetroot puree. This was a terrible place to come for a birthday meal, as it lacked ambiance and quality. I would not revisit.More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Restaurant Mana... T, Owner at Taverna Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for your feedback. As explained when your party called to move the booking to an earlier time, we only had an outside table available for the earlier sitting as you were changing your reservation last minute. This was agreed upon by a member...More

Reviewed 11 April 2021

Went for lunch and had the banquet menu (again). Superb. Excellent value. Great service. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Restaurant Mana... T, Owner at Taverna Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for your lovely feedback and your continued support. We always love welcoming back repeat guests.

Reviewed 22 March 2021

You have to try the squid and halloumi and honey. The service is excellent and the location is wonderful. We were on tour but would definitely go back to experience the full menu.

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
Restaurant Mana... T, Owner at Taverna Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2021

We are so glad you enjoyed your short time with us. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 15 March 2021

Lovely selecion of food.. we were a grop of 7 & we opted to order from the menu every dish was delicious .. stand outs for me were the beetroot falafel (something I wouldn't usually order) someone else picked them & I am glad they...did.. so tasty. The slow cooked lamb is also outstanding .. we had a late lunch booking & they were happy for us to sit around & enjoy a few cocktails after our meal .. not trying to rush us out the door.. a lovely venue .. great service & quality food. Cant wait to go back & try the sardines as they were sold out on this occassion.More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
Restaurant Mana... T, Owner at Taverna Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2021

Always lovely to hear such nice feedback. We hope to welcome you soon to try the sardines!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Peppers Salt Resort & Spa Kingscliff
4,263 reviews
2.09 km away
Peppers Bale Salt
140 reviews
2.15 km away
Mantra on Salt Beach Kingscliff
4,339 reviews
2.35 km away
Chinderah Motel
25 reviews
3.38 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Choux Box Cafe & Bar
538 reviews
.36 km away
Mockingbird
370 reviews
.32 km away
Kettles On Cafe
462 reviews
.27 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Kingscliff Visitor Information Centre
37 reviews
.25 km away
Kingscliff Farmers Market
8 reviews
1.38 km away
Emmanuel’s Wineshop
5 reviews
.07 km away
Cinemax Cinemas
80 reviews
.19 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Youngy2
7 April 2021|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Restaurant Mana... T | Property representative |
Hi Stephen, We do offer children's meals which are communicated on the day. Usually a choice of chicken or fish with chips and salad. Kind Regards Bookings Team Taverna
0
Votes
Christine F
16 April 2018|
Answer
Response from perfectlastbite | Property representative |
Hi Christine Thank you for your enquiry, we are fully licensed here at Taverna and do not allow BYO beverages. We look forward to seeing you at Taverna soon. Kind regards Team Taverna
-1
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Taverna Restaurant

Taverna Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5