We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Churchill

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
Read more
Updated 31/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Churchill
Updated 31/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (1,047)
Filter reviews
1,045 results
Traveller rating
414
212
138
116
165
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
414
212
138
116
165
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunday roast play area food was lovely karen mary pub swindon
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Was very happy with the service we received on our date night we travel to many green king pubs and I have to say this one of the nicest yet the staff was very polite and efficient and I want so say a special thanks...to Millie who was fantastic and is a credit to your team we will be back 😊More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

I booked well in advance using the hotel's own online booking service. I specified in the requests box that I needed a dog friendly room. Arrived a little early for check-in (heavy rain had changed my plans). The Receptionist told me that there was no...request for a dog friendly room noted in their booking system. She went off to speak to her manager and returned to confirm that she could not accommodate me. She was polite, but that was that. (The manager did not show his/her face.) I stayed in reception, since it was still raining heavily, until I was able to book an alternative hotel. So, this hotel looks nice and the reception staff seem pleasant, but do not expect your booking requests to be taken notice of. Make sure you get confirmation by phone and in writing if you want to stay here with a dog. Have not had this problem with any other bookings I have made for accommodation with my dog. Other hotels that claim to dog friendly have been just that. Very disappointed.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

I booked a room in the fantastic hotel next door and ate my evening meal in the pub. The pub has been decorated to a high standard and the staff were very welcoming. Large varied menu all at very reasonable prices. I went for the...8oz rump steak with extra fried eggs which was superb. Washed down with a couple of pints made for a very enjoyable meal.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago

Rooms were not tidied each day as you would expect. Complained to reception and the next day the only thing that had been done was the rubbish collected. Food was terrible.. The only redeeming factor was the friendly barman, Josh. Overall a shame as the...service was okay. New Management needed it seems!More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my partner stayed at the churchill accommodation for one night on Saturday 10th July, we were greeted by a friendly lady at reception, she gave us our key card and directed us to our room. It was lovely and modern and very clean....The television was a good size and the bed was extremely comfortable ,our breakfast in the morning was delicious. Would defeat stay again.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Churchill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear 537kirstyh, thank you for your kind review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your comments are much appreciated by all the team. Looking forward to seeing you soon. Ana

Reviewed 29 June 2021

Now we have been to the Churchill before , and it has been a good cheap place , and great to take the Kids to , for Play. We had Lunch today, mine was around 3 courses for a tenner, The Fish and Chips, and...Apple pie with Custard and , a free Clotted Cream Ice Cream were very good, My Wife had the Salmon , which was perfectly cooked For a total of about £45 for Two drinks and 3 courses each, it was amazing value, and very friendly serviceMore

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Churchill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear John W, thank you for taking the time to provide us a review. We are extremely glad to hear that you enjoyed today's visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks Ana

Reviewed 25 June 2021 via mobile

Excellent covid precautions. Friendly staff, nice surroundings and lovely food. Recommend a visit. Very reasonable prices with a good selection.

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Churchill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Jo meads, Thank you for your 5* review. Your comments are much appreciated. See you again soon. Thanks Ana

Reviewed 19 June 2021 via mobile

Stopped for a meal on Thursday dinner 🍽 time had a lovely dinner with a family member and decided to pop in on our way back from Wales on Saturday morning had a tea and a coffee ☕Carol said back again when we arrived on...Saturday love the place as its doggy 🐕friendly so big thanks to Carol and all the staffMore

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Churchill, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2021

Dear Edward F, thank you for your 5* review. We are extremely glad to jear that you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for recognising Carol's service and our food. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Ana

Reviewed 9 June 2021 via mobile

We stumbled across this pub whilst staying in Royal Wooton Basset for a few days. From the very beginning we were warmly greeted by a lovely lady. Unfortunately I didn't catch her name. She was very friendly and chatty and professional. As we arrived late...lunchtime she gave us menus etc to ponder till 4pm once service resumed. The lunch menu is a bargain as can choose a starter or dessert for just £2 50 extra with a main meal. Which we did take advantage of 👍Food arrived promptly as did the drinks. The place was very covid safe with sanitiser n track n trace etc. Masks worn by staff n visitors around the pub but once seated you can remove. Never been to a Green King before so was impressed. Would dsfinately visit again. All in all my husband and I had 2 starters 2 mains bottle of wine n 2 larger shandys for £42!!More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Churchill, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2021

Dear 192Vanessa20, thank you so much for your top rating review. Your comments are extremely appreciated and will be passed on to all the team. Thank you for recognising our friendly staff, and our value for money. We look forward to your next visit. Take...More

Reviewed 5 June 2021 via mobile

We were in the area for a couple of nights and passed The Churchill on the way to a visit to Royal Wooton Bassett. The staff managed to squeeze us in at the start of what appeared to be a very busy evening for the...team. We were treated as if we were the only people in the pub, the team were very attentive, even though it was busy and the phone never stopped. Alice, Yasmin and James with Ana were excellent. If we visit the area again, The Churchill will defo be our number one choice.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Churchill, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2021

Dear turtle900 Thank you so much for taking the time to review your visit! I am very pleased to hear that you had a great time, and that you found our team attentive. We look forward to seeing you again, when you visit the area....More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Marsh Farm Hotel
491 reviews
1.14 km away
The Schoolhouse Hotel
163 reviews
1.83 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
571 reviews
1.89 km away
Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel
884 reviews
1.96 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
China Chef
141 reviews
1.51 km away
Sally Pussey's Restaurant
1,024 reviews
.53 km away
The Royal Wootton Bassett
36 reviews
1.11 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Jubilee Lake
82 reviews
1.20 km away
Royal Wootton Bassett Old Town Hall
48 reviews
1.81 km away
Sugar Rush, royal wottoon bassett
14 reviews
1.62 km away
Studley Grange Garden and Leisure Park
240 reviews
2.59 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
angela t
17 August 2020|
Answer
Response from Arfty1 | Reviewed this property |
Unfortunately not, no.
-1
Votes
linda h
25 October 2019|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from george r | Reviewed this property |
I don't know that one but I feel sorry for dog if he eats their
0
Votes
annettes35
28 July 2018|
Answer
Response from carol l | Reviewed this property |
Sorry haven’t been for a Sunday lunch but I think it is around £6.99. Hope they haven’t ran out of anything!!! They never have a full menu during the week!!!
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Churchill

Yes, The Churchill is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Churchill is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 3.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4