We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

Local cuisine, Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Special Occasion Dining, View, Groups, Bar Scene
About
Historic rural pub offering home cooked classic pub food including our famous fish pie and our traditional Sunday roasts. Popular with dog walkers, families, cyclists, and horse riders. Open earlier for Breakfast Fri-Sun. Monday 11am-10pm Tuesday 11am-10pm Wednesday 11am-11pm Thursday 11am-11pm Friday 10am-11pm Saturday 10am-11pm Sunday 10am-10pm
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
FEATURES
Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, 有泊車位, Free off-street parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Dog Friendly
Reviews (672)
Filter reviews
671 results
Traveller rating
380
190
49
27
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
380
190
49
27
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish pie sunday roast whitebait pot roast pudding ham salad beef fries the pub reigate heath mars bar dog walkers specials board piping hot car park booked a table
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 days ago

The location must be wonderful but it was dark and raining on arrival so couldn't see it. Cosy place with nice fresh food and lovely, helpfull staff.

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Not fancy or pretentious but serves good honest pub grub done well , we both enjoyed two courses this evening and the fish pie was particularly delicious. Very friendly and welcoming staff, both us and our dogs were made welcome. Would definitely visit again for...lunch or dinner if we were in the area, if you’re looking for somewhere that serves good hearty food with good portion sizes and offers a nice and cosy atmosphere then you’d certainly like it here. Thank you for a very pleasant evening and for making us feel welcome.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?1  
Jules, General Manager at Skimmington Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave this lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Reviewed 6 days ago

We went for a Sunday Roast here today - admittedly without a booking. It was a 1 hour 30 minute wait, so way too long. I did get one free drink after asking if we should expect our food soon. The roast was good, not...amazing unfortunately. Maybe we'll try again another Sunday with booking.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Jules, General Manager at Skimmington Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Apologies for the long wait. We were busier than expected due to the clement weather, but take on board your comments about the excessive delay for your food. We hope the free drink went a little way to compensate! Thanks for the feedback.

Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited the Skimmington Castle pub for Sunday lunch yesterday. We were a large party and asked, on arrival, if we could run separate tabs, to help with payments at the end. “No”, said the sour and surly waitress. It didn’t suit their “systems” apparently....Running separate tabs was an inconvenience to the pub, so who cares about the customer’s convenience, eh? Our perpetually unsmiling waitress then more or less demanded our food orders, without allowing us time to browse. This was, we were told, due to a combination of the pub being short staffed and some vague threat that our table would be needed later. But then, time seemed to flow in the opposite direction and there followed a near 90 minute wait for our food to arrive. When it did arrive, quite a few dishes were rubbery and dry, having obviously been lift sitting around while other dishes were being prepared. On the menu, each roast dinner is supposed to arrive with a portion of cauliflower cheese. Out of the half dozen or so orders we placed, only one cauliflower cheese turned up. We had to enquire about the whereabouts of the remaining servings – no information on this was being volunteered by the staff. When we did ask, we were told that the kitchen had run out. And that was it – no apology, no offer of recompense, no substitutions. Like it or lump it. I see that this place has a lot of high scoring reviews. I cannot understand why, unless we were particularly unlucky or the Skimmington took a particular dislike to us. Put simply, the service was atrocious and the food average at best. Not recommended.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?1  
Jules, General Manager at Skimmington Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are sorry to hear you had a disappointing visit to the Skim recently. Certainly we were extremely busy this Sunday, and due to extremely high demand did run out of some of our popular dishes and sides towards the end of the service. We...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went here for a roast last sunday and loved it. The staff were all very friendly, there was plenty of dogs outside and in! Great atmosphere and a fantastic roast. Thanks for having us

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Jules, General Manager at Skimmington Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave this lovely review. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Oh those mussels were really something to write home about. The service was incredible; almost like that of a Michelin star restaurant, not forgetting Charlie, the hotty behind the bar. Would recommend to anyone with a functioning set of taste buds.

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Jules, General Manager at Skimmington Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely feedback. But did Charlie pay you to write this?! 🤣

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went to The Skim with my dog late one rainy afternoon. What a great pub - friendly, good wine and beer plus they love dogs! Rob the manager was really friendly, gave the dog a biscuit and a good time was had by all! Great...place for all and friendly staff.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?2  
Jules, General Manager at Skimmington Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Friendly atmosphere and doggy friendly !! The food was fresh and deliciously tasty 😋. The staff was really friendly and made sure we’ve received great service !

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Jules, General Manager at Skimmington Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this lovely review! 😊

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Have always loved “The Skim” but we won’t be too keen on eating there anymore after seeing a member of staff (male with brown curly hair) feed dog biscuits to a dog, his fingers going in the dog’s mouth, then immediately handling cutlery (not wrapped...in a napkin) and food. Disgusting.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?1  
Jules, General Manager at Skimmington Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will address this issue with the staff member ASAP. Hygiene is of utmost importance to us.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent food and service. The crumble is particularly be recommended. The burger I had a great amount of meat.

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Jules, General Manager at Skimmington Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It’s lovely to hear people are enjoying our homemade food.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Cranleigh Hotel
88 reviews
1.25 km away
Hartsfield Manor, Betchworth
712 reviews
2.54 km away
Reigate Manor
579 reviews
2.56 km away
Travelodge Redhill Town Centre
330 reviews
4.36 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Veeno Reigate
83 reviews
1.44 km away
New Gurkha Kitchen
919 reviews
1.41 km away
The Black Horse
326 reviews
.95 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Pilgrim Brewery
27 reviews
1.34 km away
The Red Cross Inn
19 reviews
1.42 km away
The Bulls Head
75 reviews
1.45 km away
The Cage Wine Bar
13 reviews
1.55 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Precipitusdaisy
29 August 2021|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from 775gentianm | Reviewed this property |
Hi, just looked up their website and yes they do one, about 5 choices. Hope this helps.
0
Votes
cyprusjunky
10 July 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from JamieWetherall | Reviewed this property |
It has a good sized car park there area few steps to the restaurant.
1
Vote
34Briton
1 January 2019|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from CommodoreChris | Reviewed this property |
Again not sure but give them a call at a quiet time, they are very helpful.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Skimmington Castle

Skimmington Castle is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4