We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

Local cuisine, Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Special Occasion Dining, View, Groups, Bar Scene
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, 有泊車位, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveller rating
92
58
16
20
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
92
58
16
20
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pie new forest compliments to the chef visited for lunch main meal friendly atmosphere food was lovely pub
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visit the New Forest every so often and over the years High Corner Inn has been our go to. Unfortunately, this was not quite the excellent experience we have had in the past. We arrived at 1830, tried to get in the main entrance...but it was locked? A young man came running over, apologised. The same young man came to take our food order, he explained the menu was new and several items were missing from it, following his suggestion, we ordered a special (Curry, crispy onion rice and Sag Aloo). There was a fair bit of a wait and then a curry, rice and bread arrived. We showed the menu to the waitress and explained that the curry was supposed to come with sag aloo not bread? She apologised and said she'll sort it. Another 20mins passed. We asked the same waitress where the side dish was and pointed out that the rice was plain and had no onion, she said she'll get 'Amy'. Whilst waiting for Amy, a side dish of bombay potatoes arrived (not sag aloo!). We had overheard other diners complaining, being offered free courses, another couple were agitated as the tills were not working and they had asked for the bill several times, they kept being told Amy would come see them? Amy asked us to explain what had happened. She then said she would go to the kitchen and find out. When Amy came back she said she had just found out the chef hadn't arrived so the gentleman who had seated us was now cooking and wasn't too sure of the recipes! She offered the curry dish to be taken off the bill. We ordered desert, a cheeseboard, mini donuts and date/toffee pudding with r&r icecream. The waitress came over again to apologise that they didn't have the ingredients for the cheeseboard or the icecream. At this point we were done. As we were getting our things the list of dishes they didn't have ingredients for seemed to grow as other diners tried to order. The excuse staff kept giving out was because it is a new menu. Very poorly managed, it sounds like the staff were put in a difficult situation last night through lack of supplies, poor communication from a no-show chef etc. I'm afraid this has put us off coming back.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 13 September 2021

We were out walking with the intention of stopping here for a mid-walk drink. Being in the middle of nowhere, it was actually quite busy with walkers and their dogs. Car park was pretty full too. I found their setup quite well organised. Ordered drinks...at an outside kiosk/bar provided the table number and paid. The drinks arrived within a few minutes. There is lots of outside seating and the staff worked well in clearing the lunchtime rush of food orders. Will revisit when back in t he area.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
General M, General Manager at High Corner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2021

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Reviewed 6 September 2021 via mobile

Late lunch on a busy Sunday, short-staffed, kitchen overwhelmed - but staff remained professional, polite and friendly. Food, when it came, was excellent. What could have been a bad experience was transformed by the attitude and character of the well trained and managed staff.

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 5 September 2021

Stayed in Willow Room in the hotel and dined in the restaurant in the evening. We received a very warm welcome as always and excellent service from every member of the team. Food was great and an all-round brilliant experience. As a recently engaged couple,...the team made extra efforts with our room and our table that really made the difference. Cannot recommend more.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
General M, General Manager at High Corner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2021

Thank you very much for your review, we are so pleased you chose to come here to celebrate your engagement and your kind recommendation means a great deal. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Reviewed 16 August 2021 via mobile

Enjoyed an excellent roast for Sunday lunch. I was a bit concerned when we arrived, because the place was obviously very busy, but we found a nice place to sit outside in the large garden (with our dog), and the food arrived in about half...an hour. Well worth it. Local beer was good too. Recommended.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
General M, General Manager at High Corner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2021

Thank you very much for your review, we are very pleased you had a great visit and your recommendation means a lot to us. Many thanks.

Reviewed 15 August 2021 via mobile

We did a 12km circular walk in the New Forest which included a stop here for lunch and a pint. We shared a pizza and chips and it was better then we thought it would be! Also, lots of space outside for walkers with dogs.

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
General M, General Manager at High Corner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2021

Thank you very much fore taking the time to leave us your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 14 August 2021

The atmosphere in the garden was lovely, but it was very disappointing to see single-use takeaway packaging and cutlery being used for all meals instead of plates and cutlery. There was SO much waste on such a busy day, and it was really sad to...see so much un-recyclable packaging piling up from everyone's meals.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
General M, General Manager at High Corner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2021

Hi, thank you for your review, I am glad you enjoyed your time in the garden. All the takeaway packaging is recyclable including the knives and forks which are compostable as they are made of cornstarch.

Reviewed 9 August 2021 via mobile

Would have been more but a couple of bad points - a very small menu with only 5 mains and 50% were not available - bad management ! An hours wait for food and then my main course was tepid nearly cold Bit disorganised we...were asked twice if we had ordered food Maybe we just arrived on a bad day Restaurant was only 50% full when we arrived so not the busiest timeMore

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
General M, General Manager at High Corner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2021

Thank you for your review, I am sorry that the choice on the menu was somewhat limited, we had had an exceptionally busy day especially with our very large Garden being so popular and towards the end of the day we were short of a...More

Reviewed 8 August 2021 via mobile

We booked in advance for a set table for Sunday lunch. 5 mins before the booked time as we were driving down the lane to the Inn, we were called to be told they had sold out of all types of Sunday roast. We found...that puzzling as surely any organised establishment could ensure that there would be sufficient roasts for actual bookings made. When we arrived we were given a table right in the middle of the thoroughfare from one room to another two room (and the toilets) and despite there being other visibly empty tables we were not allowed to sit at a corner table out of the way. We chose to leave. Disappointed. Unsatisfactory, not particularly helpful on two counts. That we were prepared to consider alternate menu options despite the lack of Sunday roast, we believe sufficient notice should have been given so that we wouldn’t have had to make a relatively long trip to get there. More disappointed that they couldn’t at least show some goodwill in light of the failure to have sufficient Sunday roasts to allow us a slightly quieter table. The location deserves a lot better.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
David S, General Manager at High Corner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2021

Thank you for your review, I am sorry that on this occasion we were unable to serve a Sunday roast for you, we are, unfortunately, not able to predict the uptake on Sunday roasts and this week was extremely busy both in guest numbers and...More

Reviewed 29 July 2021

We stopped here for a drink during a walk at the weekend. Our boys were peckish so we ordered a pizza and some fries. Wow! The pizza was amazing!! Not your normal pizza but so so good (we had the sundried tomato, mozerella and pesto...pizza). Sadly it was a bit rainy when we arrived so we sat indoors, but the outside area was beautiful. Fab play area for the kids (although currently closed), lots of benches, what looked to be an outside bar - and New Forest ponies poking their heads over the fence to say hi!More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
David S, General Manager at High Corner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2021

Thank you for taking the trouble to leave us a review, I have passed your kind comments onto the Kitchen Team who were delighted you enjoyed your pizzas. We hope to see you again soon.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Travelodge Stoney Cross Lyndhurst
551 reviews
6.91 km away
Burley Manor
835 reviews
7.41 km away
Original White Hart
338 reviews
7.44 km away
Bramble Hill Hotel
163 reviews
8.18 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Foresters Arms
480 reviews
3.25 km away
Royal Oak, North Gorley
570 reviews
3.68 km away
The Three Lions
228 reviews
4.55 km away
The Royal Oak
356 reviews
4.93 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Hockey's Farm Shop
166 reviews
4.33 km away
Fordingbridge Museum
69 reviews
5.98 km away
The Fighting Cocks
127 reviews
4.71 km away
St Mary, Breamore
23 reviews
6.05 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
colin_tayler
13 November 2016|
Answer
Response from Ian L | Reviewed this property |
There were a couple of dogs in the bar area during our lunchtime visit, both owners had asked the bar staff if it was ok to bring them in before doing so. Almost everyone was eating in the bar at the time, so I can't... More
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about High Corner Inn

High Corner Inn is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5