We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
About
A stunning 16th century thatched inn, with the unique attraction of being Ringwood's only riverside pub. Offering home cooked menu and daily specials including fresh fish. Quality cask ales and fine wines. Traditional Sunday lunch. Dog friendly (in the bar area)
PRICE RANGE
US$8 - US$34
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
British
FEATURES
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, 有泊車位, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (708)
Filter reviews
704 results
Traveller rating
297
236
83
58
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
297
236
83
58
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish and chips pudding mash roast dinner burger nice pub family meal booked a table jude garden egg dorset ales dog
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed yesterday

Since the entry from the A31 was closed access is through Ringwood but it is worth making the effort. The staff are very friendly and efficient, the food excellent and the atmosphere warm and welcoming.

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked for a family get together on a Saturday night. There were 12 of us and we were pretty disorganised and chaotic as we hadn't seen each other for a long time. Our waitress, Scarlet, did a great job of taking our order and we...all somehow managed to get what we'd ordered which was an achievement in itself! The food was great and the service excellent. Would highly recommend this lovely old pub in Ringwood and will definitely return if they'll have us!More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?1  
jude k, General Manager at The Fish Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for your great review, I will certainly pass on your comments to my hard working team and can't wait to welcome you back soon! Kind Regards Jude

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just popped in for a quiet fresh cool beer after work! The Fish Inn is quiet and cosy with friendly staff! There's a fire 🔥 which I sat next to although not lit today!! Always a pleasure to pop in!! It's traditional quaint and quirky...just as a pub should be particularly with bar layout selection of beers and pub knowhow not just food!!!!! Would I recommend yes I would! Great location there's also lots of outside seating and a river to sit by !!! We be returning and will recommend to everybody at work and all my family Thank youMore

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
General M, Digital at The Fish Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind Regards Jude

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Another visit to this great Ringwood pub for a quick lunch. Prompt and courteous service as well as tasty, interesting and well presented food (recommend the seafood fritto misto), what's not to like?

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
jude k, General Manager at The Fish Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your great review, look forward to seeing you again soon! Cheers Jude

Reviewed 22 September 2021

Fries were lovely the sticky toffee pudding was amazing and the waiters where extremely welcoming. would definitely go again

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
jude k, General Manager at The Fish Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2021

Thank you so much for your review - look forward to seeing you soon. Kind Regards Jude

Reviewed 7 September 2021 via mobile

Ordered the two meat, beef and pork Sunday roast, 2 thin slices of both meats piled on top of vegetables to make it look an impressive meal, it was anything but! The cabbage was under cooked, while the 3 small roast potatoes were so cooked...that once you managed to cut them open there was nothing in side. Yorkshire pudding was cold and horseradish and apple sauce had to be requested and served in tiny bowls about a tea spoons worth. At £19.95 this is the great British Sunday roast at it’s worst. The young serving staff not very attentive, dessert spoons and napkins were placed on the table in a pile for us to sort out. Shall not returnMore

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?1  
General M, Marketing at The Fish Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2021

Moretonboy, Thank you for leaving us feedback. We are disappointed to hear that your experience was not a positive one. I wish you had mentioned this at the time as we could have resolved the problem. I have discussed your review with my team and...More

Reviewed 30 August 2021

We enjoyed a delicious family meal here recently. The staff were polite, attentive and very efficient. The food was piping hot, well presented and tasty. We had the risotto, fish and chips, gammon steak and tortellini. Four clean plates and four happy customers. The puds...were equally as tasty and well presented. We would all highly recommend dining here for good food and atmosphere. We all felt that the current situation re covid was well addressed also.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
General M, Marketing at The Fish Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2021

Thank you so much for your excellent review, which I will gladly share with my team! Kind Regards Jude

Reviewed 29 August 2021

I can't speak highly enough of the polite, helpful and friendly staff....especially Harvey, who went above and beyond to make us (family party of six) feel like valued customers. The food was delicious too! Thank you for a most enjoyable evening and we'll see you...again soon as you never let us down! Keep up the good work :-)More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
jude k, General Manager at The Fish Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2021

Thank you so much for your review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit. Harvey really does go above and beyond to make sure your visit is enjoyable and he really is a most valued member of our team. ( He will be delighted...More

Reviewed 22 August 2021 via mobile

All food was cold, the pork was raw, when we complained we were told we did not HAVE to eat there. We will never go back. Avoid!More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
jude k, General Manager at The Fish Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2021

I am very concerned to read your review, I would be grateful if you could contact me directly on 01425 473185 to discuss your visit, in order to investigate further, as having spoken to my team this morning, no one recalls your comments. We pride...More

Reviewed 19 August 2021 via mobile

Had a lovely meal here with my family. The staff could not have been more helpful and accommodated all our requirements with ease. The food arrived quickly and was delicious. Would highly recommend this wonderful pub.

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
General M, Marketing at The Fish Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2021

Thank you so much for your kind review, I will pass on the positive feedback to our team! We look forward to seeing you again soon! Kind Regards, Lulu

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Original White Hart
338 reviews
.37 km away
Tyrrells Ford Country Inn & Hotel
279 reviews
5.60 km away
Premier Inn Bournemouth/Ferndown Hotel
719 reviews
6.57 km away
Burley Manor
835 reviews
7.11 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Cellar
230 reviews
.56 km away
Lovitaly
414 reviews
.39 km away
Cafe Velo
131 reviews
.38 km away
V&G's Ristorante Italiano
398 reviews
.27 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Ringwood Brewery
681 reviews
1.01 km away
Ringwood Meeting House & History Centre
6 reviews
.50 km away
The Danny Cracknell Pocket Park
5 reviews
.31 km away
The Furlong Shopping Centre
34 reviews
.44 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
joanned29
21 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from gavins1969 | Reviewed this property |
I would probably book for lunch as it can get fairly busy.
1
Vote
DonHowie
25 July 2017|
Answer
Response from Jude K | Property representative |
Yes, we are in the bar area.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Fish Inn

Yes, The Fish Inn offers takeaway services.

Yes, The Fish Inn is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Fish Inn is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4