We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
"Friendly, humble & slightly nostalgic..” We are a young brand, based around the personalities of the grandparents of the founders 'Jack' and 'Alice'. We are friendly, free and easy, humble and slightly nostalgic. We care about the people we work with, the guests we serve and the suppliers we use.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Drinks
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Wine Bar
FEATURES
Reservations, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Digital Payments, Live Music
Reviews (430)
Filter reviews
427 results
Traveller rating
237
87
46
34
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
237
87
46
34
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brunch fondue cake toasties burger pre cinema everyman cinema goats cheese
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 5 days ago

booked before we went (best to start getting use to doing this) warm friendly greeting on arrival. seated straight away,; we were given enough time to view the menu before the waitress came to take our order. lovely menu not complicated, fantastic food (yum, yum)...loved the wine menu. I would recommend trying Jack & Alice. I will definitely be going back there again and again and againMore

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We wanted lunch in Gerrards cross and looking online this place looked good. A bit cramped but a pleasant place to go with lovely staff. Brisket chilli was wonderful and a very generous size. I found it great value for money and will come back

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 27 June 2021 via mobile

Booked on line, for 10am on a Sunday morning. When we got there and asked for a window seat we were told they were all needed for larger groups from 10.30am onwards. So we sat at a small table perhaps nearer other tables that did...fill before we left. Being asked about coffee we asked to order when ordering food. On that occasion we ordered to see the server shaking her head when she went back to other servers!! The food was excellent and the other staff (not the person who met us at the door) were friendly and courteous) and we left at 10.40am. Looking at the seats in the window, only one out of four were taken!! What a shame the seating person was not as arrogant and if she had asked how long we would be there we could have assured her we would be away by 11am. We then could have had a great experience, unfortunately we could say the food was good but the staff need to take ‘customer service’ into account!!More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 18 June 2021 via mobile

My husband and I wanted a quiet lunch after a few days away We decided to book on-line to ensure a quiet corner. We specified this in the reservation which we made four days ago. When we arrived today we were told that the two...booths were not bookable and only groups of four could sit there. The waitress waved us towards one of two little tables in the middle of the very noisy restaurant. We asked for a quit spot to be told that was it. We said we would leave it to be virtually told that “was it” with an off hand shrug. So there is no point in booking to ensure a nice table to end up with one of the worst tables in the restaurant. While the food is nice your policy and staff let you down. We won’t bother again.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Jack And Alice, Owner at Jack & Alice, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2021

Dear madam, Thank you for taking the time to open a trip advisor account specifically to give us feedback. We are so sorry that we couldn't accommodate you on the specific table that you wanted, but I would just like to clarify our policy, and...More

Reviewed 18 June 2021 via mobile

After booking a table to ensure we had a pleasant experience we arrived to be told the only tables available were in the middle of the cafe area. After asking why we couldn’t have a booth we were told they were reserved. I asked why...as they don’t reserve specific tables and were told they were for 4 people. On stating that we asked for a quiet table we were informed it is first come first served. What is the point of booking to be left with the three overflow tables no one wants. At this point we said we would leave it and the waitress just shrugged and walked off. No apology. Not only have you lost about £100 we normally spend on an outing there we will not be back for a while. So will be more like over £1000 on lost revenue. I hope you managed to fill the tables for 4 as otherwise this would have been a large loss for you. Hope that following lockdown you can afford to do this.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Jack And Alice, Owner at Jack & Alice, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2021

Dear Sir, As your feedback is a duplicate of your wife's review above, I am simply copying my response to hopefully clarify the issues that arose We are so sorry that we couldn't accommodate you on the specific table that you wanted, but I would...More

Reviewed 12 June 2021

Tried this restaurant and couldn’t recommend enough. Great cocktails and the most friendly staff. Excellent food choice and definitely going back .

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Jack And Alice, Owner at Jack & Alice, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2021

Come back anytime! We are often changing up the menu, including our cocktails!

Reviewed 11 June 2021

Visited for an impromptu dinner! Amazing food, great atmosphere & staff couldn't be more helpful and accommodating. Can’t wait to get back and try more from the menu!!

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Jack And Alice, Owner at Jack & Alice, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2021

Can't wait to have you back!

Reviewed 11 June 2021

Really enjoyed visiting Jack and Alice after lockdown. We got the takeaway Caesar with chicken during lockdown and were so impressed that we had to come back! Comfortable dining experience with a well priced menu. Ordered the spicy chicken burger and it was amazing. The...buffalo wings are a must! The drinks menu is quite expansive too, so you’ll be spoilt for choice.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Jack And Alice, Owner at Jack & Alice, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2021

Fantastic to hear you enjoyed your experience, We have really appreciated the support we've received throughout lockdown, and are so happy to have customers back in the restaurant again!

Reviewed 8 June 2021

Food isn’t good, service isn’t good either. This is just one of the worst restaurants in the area, avoid at all costs and save your money.

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?3  
Reviewed 20 May 2021 via mobile

There is no better way enjoy an afternoon of shopping than to nip into Jack and Alice I was told for a glass of wine and lunch. Friendly, unique, very independent and proud of that fact. Definitely a lovely place to stop. Only thing maybe...best not to brave the outside due to its more tables on the pavement, which is fine! But road works next door perhaps took the final star off. But again bad luck maybe, as everything else was enjoyable enough!More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Jack And Alice, Owner at Jack & Alice, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2021

Thank you for the lovely review - we're glad you had a great time. We apologise for the road works, the outside seating is much more enjoyable when the sun is out instead of the builders!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Ethorpe Hotel
403 reviews
.11 km away
The Bull Hotel
1,071 reviews
.79 km away
Denham Grove
401 reviews
3.10 km away
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
864 reviews
3.17 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Di Paolo
734 reviews
.12 km away
The Three Oaks
880 reviews
1.08 km away
Lomito GX
276 reviews
.12 km away
Fego Restaurant Gerrards Cross
259 reviews
.21 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Fired Works
100 reviews
2.05 km away
Adventure 001 Ltd
1,335 reviews
4.46 km away
Pinewood Cinema
36 reviews
4.79 km away
Everyman Cinema
204 reviews
.05 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
jenwishney
27 September 2016|
Answer
Response from jobob10 | Reviewed this property |
Yes it has a dinner menu for the evening
0
Votes
jenwishney
27 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from gerrym624 | Reviewed this property |
Yes I definitely would go for dinner.
1
Vote
Lauren01London
18 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from jobob10 | Reviewed this property |
My partner and I are GF and this restaurant has a GF menu.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Jack & Alice

Jack & Alice is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4