We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$15 - US$30
CUISINES
Mediterranean, Greek
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (430)
Filter reviews
424 results
Traveller rating
242
123
33
17
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
242
123
33
17
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brunch moussaka baklava cheesecake orzo greek salad chicken pita bread lamb tips great greek food rooftop seating opa appetizers carafe downtown spinach lemon hostess
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 August 2022

Taverna Agora was a great dining experience. The lunch service was amazing. The food selection is fantastic. We enjoyed flambéed Saganaki, which is fun and delicious. We also had the Greek Village Salad, Spinach Salad for entrees. Both salads were amazing. For dessert, Baklava Cheesecake...and Traditional Baklava, both were to die for! The atmosphere is fun and lively. We really enjoyed our meal.More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
WeCare-BrandManager, Agency / Consultant at Taverna Agora, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2022

We are so happy to know that you had an outstanding experience with us. Thank you for taking the time to tell others. We hope we can serve you again very soon.

Reviewed 7 July 2022

Return visit to Agora with a party of six. Pasticcio was delicious and my wife said her Moussaka was best she has had. All other meals equally good. Attentive service and airy pleasant environment

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
WeCare-BrandManager, Agency / Consultant at Taverna Agora, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2022

So happy you had a fantastic meal with us! Thank you for taking the time to share your satisfaction with others! We appreciate it! We hope to serve you again very soon!

Reviewed 25 June 2022 via mobile

Our first visit since being under new management. We were not dissapointed, food, cleanliness, drinks and excellent service. They only do meze but it's the best I have ever had. The food was so flavour some and plentyful.

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
WeCare-BrandManager, Agency / Consultant at Taverna Agora, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2022

We are so glad you had an excellent experience! Thanks for taking the time to leave such a great rating! We hope we can serve you again very soon!

Reviewed 6 June 2022

Six of us got a table on the deck on a very warm night. The deck was lively and busy but really an oasis. We shared the appetizer platter which was very good and the Saganaki which was delicious. The cocktails were yummy. Mixed dinner...reviews - the chicken souvlaki skewers were delicious and generously portioned. The Greek salad was yummy, but the lamb chops (2 separate orders) weren't cooked that well - some parts overdone, other parts bloody. The baklava was delicious. This place is no secret - a steady stream of customers on a Saturday.More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
WeCare-BrandManager, Agency / Consultant at Taverna Agora, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2022

Thanks for the 4 stars! We appreciate your taking the time to leave a good rating for us! We are so glad you enjoyed your visit! We look forward to serving you again very soon!

Reviewed 5 June 2022 via mobile

Some of the family got together at AT for dinner. The service was friendly and attentive. Everyone raves about their food. Definitely affordable. Definitely eat there if you are in Raleigh.

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
WeCare-BrandManager, Agency / Consultant at Taverna Agora, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2022

We are so glad you enjoyed your visit! Thanks for the 5 stars! We appreciate your taking the time to leave a great rating for us! We look forward to serving you again very soon!

Reviewed 29 May 2022

We enjoyed the ambiance and the service we had was impeccable. But we ordered 2 mezzes: 1 grilled octopus and 1 spinach salad: octopus was very very good but you get only 1 tentacle of octopus:( and in the spinach salad you get a lot...of spinach! but I could not find the seeds or the cheese or the fennel shavings or the orange segments because there were so few of these :( I guess we will skip mezzes next time but we will return for main dishes and particularly the lamb shank which is delicious.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
WeCare-BrandManager, Agency / Consultant at Taverna Agora, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2022

Thank you for taking the time to rate our restaurant. Thank you for mentioning the positive as well as the areas in which we can improve. We appreciate both types of feedback! Thank you for joining us. We hope we will be able to serve...More

Reviewed 13 March 2022

Recently met a friend for dinner here as I was in town staying right next door at the Holiday Inn Downtown. The restaurant has a great vibe and ambiance, classy but relaxed. The host & hostess were incredibly gracious and helpful. Got great service at...the bar. When our table was ready, we were escorted up to the amazing rooftop deck. It was a beautiful, warm night and it was great looking out over the city. Service and food were excellent. We started with spanakopita and tzatziki with pita bread and fresh cucumber slices. Both were terrific. For our entree, we had the penne pasta with chicken. We were served ample portions of this delicious dish that we had to make ourselves stop eating. Definitely will be returning next time we are in town!More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
WeCare-BrandManager, Agency / Consultant at Taverna Agora, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2022

So happy you had a fantastic meal with us! Thank you for taking the time to share your satisfaction with others! We appreciate it! We hope to serve you again very soon!

Reviewed 29 December 2021 via mobile

Food was mediocre and portions small. Left restaurant still hungry after their “brunch” I think not everyone got any bacon Not worth the price per person by any means Rooftop terrace was nice but I didn’t know about their confetti rule and we had to...sweep the floor ourselvesMore

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Taylor Cruz, Agency / Consultant at Taverna Agora, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2022

I'm very sorry to see that you had this experience. I would appreciate knowing the details so that we can properly address the issues to improve our service for you and others. Please email me directly at WeCare@TavernaAgora.com with your contact info and please reference...More

Reviewed 26 December 2021 via mobile

Our choice for brunch when traveling thru Raleigh. Consistently good service and food. On a lighter note, I have a couple of plastic toilet wedges that I keep in our car just incase a dining table rocks badly. The tile floor of the open-air dining...was irregular. Rather than bother the wait staff, I went to the car and brought back the wobble solution. Too much fun!More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Taylor Cruz, Agency / Consultant at Taverna Agora, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2022

We are so glad you enjoy dining with us! We appreciate your loyalty, especially during this time! Thank you for taking the time to leave a 5-star rating! We look forward to serving you again very soon!

Reviewed 8 December 2021

Disappointed with the food. The dish plating was poor and foods were not tasty at all. 1. Seafood Giouvestsi - It was a bowl of dry and sticky orzo. 2. Gemista - the description states seasoned rice and fresh herb. The rice was not seasoned...and only tasted salt and rice was gummy, no fresh herb. I thought it should have roasted potato, but my plat did not have roasted potato. It came with squish/limp/watery yellow squash. Worse, the yellow squash tasted fishy. 3. Lemon Roasted Chicken - The chicken was lukewarm and felt it was leftover and reheated. Potato was so hard and drown in oil and nothing resemble of roasted food. I will not return to eat at this restaurant.More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Taylor Cruz, Agency / Consultant at Taverna Agora, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2021

We are so sorry to hear that your experience was disappointing. Would you please email me at WeCare@TavernaAgora.com with your contact info and reference this review? We'd appreciate the opportunity to do better. Thank you.

Reviewed 17 October 2021 via mobile

Arrived for my husband’s birthday celebration, who is from Greece. The hostess was on the phone and never acknowledged us despite reservations. Additionally, I was treated rudely when I asked directions to the restrooms. When we were first seated in the pictures rooftop area, the...seat was soaking wet. We were reseated but as I write this ; the only person who has approached us is another diner who said they have been waiting over 15 minutes without being acknowledged. My husband has patronized this restaurant for over a decade when it was located on Glenwood Ave near Crabtree Valley Mall, but with good alternatives such as Alexander’s in GarnerMore

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Taylor Cruz, Agency / Consultant at Taverna Agora, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2021

I’m sorry to hear you had such a frustrating experience. Thank you for letting us know about it so that we can properly handle the issues. Please email me directly at WeCare@TavernaAgora.com with your contact info and reference this review. I'd like the chance to...More

Reviewed 31 August 2021

This is a good, not great Greek place. We enjoyed our meal and sitting outside. We both ordered the chicken souvlaki which came with lovely rice and the Horiatiki salad. I would have preferred lamb or beef souvlaki but they were not on the menu...which was a disappointment to me. That said the flavor was good and had a nice sauce with it. The salad was very good except that they included a charred pepper that was very spicy- to me it didn't belong in the salad (and wasn't listed on the menu) so I just didn't eat it- I've never had a charred hot pepper in the salad in Greece or in the states. We shared a baklava which was ok. The waiter was very good and friendly and the rooftop was busy!More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Taylor Cruz, Agency / Consultant at Taverna Agora, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2021

I’m sorry you were not completely satisfied with your latest visit. I do hope you will join us again and give us the opportunity to provide an excellent experience for you.

Reviewed 29 August 2021 via mobile

We chose Taverna Agora for dinner because it had been listed as one of the top restaurants to eat outside. We were not disappointed. It is a great small Greek restaurant (“taverna”). You should make a reservation and the rooftop seating is first come first...serve, so go early. The menu is full of authentic Greek appetizers and entrees. The rooftop is comfortable, due to the shade of the adjacent trees and grapes leaves and vines hanging from the pergola. The restaurant is very clean and follows all of the safety protocols. The service is good. Water and an additional carafe of water is served at your table. Great experience.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Taylor Cruz, Agency / Consultant at Taverna Agora, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2021

We are so glad you enjoyed your visit! Thanks for the 5 stars! We appreciate your taking the time to leave a great rating for us! We look forward to serving you again very soon!

Reviewed 11 August 2021

My husband and I ate here with friends during our trip to Raleigh. The rooftop deck was beautiful. Food and drinks were very good.

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Taylor Cruz, Agency / Consultant at Taverna Agora, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2021

We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us! We hope we can serve you again very soon.

Reviewed 15 July 2021

I've been in Raleigh a good bit this month for work and am staying in the hotel next door to Taverna Agora. It's long days at the office from 8:00 AM until 9:00 PM most days, and the restaurant had become my "go to" dinner...destination for a quick meal before bed. I would often get there between 9:30 PM and 9:45 PM, and I was always seated and served. Tonight I got there at 9:30, which is 30 minutes before they closed. When I asked for a table, they informed me that no tables were available - - - even though there were at least a dozen empty tables scattered through the restaurant. They then said that I could sit at the bar, but I am significantly smaller than the vast majority of adults, and sitting on a bar stool with my legs swinging in the air isn't my idea of a good after-work meal. So I found somewhere else to eat. Turns out there are a ton of other restaurants in the area. You should check them out instead of this place. I won't be going back.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Taylor Cruz, Agency / Consultant at Taverna Agora, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2021

I am so sorry this was your experience. I also responded to you on the review you left on another site. I hope you will contact me so that I can help resolve this with you. Thank you.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown
545 reviews
.04 km away
AC Hotel by Marriott Raleigh Downtown
11 reviews
.32 km away
The Casso, Raleigh, A Tribute Portfolio Collection
96 reviews
.34 km away
The Longleaf Hotel
19 reviews
.44 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Second Empire Restaurant & Tavern
1,033 reviews
.04 km away
42nd St Oyster Bar & Seafood Grill
1,067 reviews
.30 km away
Clouds Brewing
170 reviews
.24 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
North Carolina Museum of Natural Sciences
2,314 reviews
.47 km away
Imurj
12 reviews
.49 km away
Capital Area Greenway
13 reviews
.24 km away
CAM Raleigh
42 reviews
.41 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
dolphinstk
19 May 2019|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from TomasFranklinC | Reviewed this property |
I am not aware if they do have gluten free items, but if you call them, I’m sure they will be able to let you know!
0
Votes
JohnnyTravel52
20 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Mark B | Reviewed this property |
Yes call the restaurant and give them your credit card info. They will send you a gift certificate.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

TAVERNA AGORA, Raleigh - Glenwood South - Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Taverna Agora

Yes, Taverna Agora offers takeaway services.

Taverna Agora is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5