We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$3 - US$10
CUISINES
Pizza, European, Contemporary
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (369)
Filter reviews
334 results
Traveller rating
151
121
44
9
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
151
121
44
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lunch pizza potato wedges calamari soup steak van loveren beautiful location garden setting breede river service was friendly and efficient wines tasting trees shade valley winner
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 13 May 2021 via mobile

Wow situated in a lush garden we had a delightful time with gourmet burgers for lunch on Van Loveren wine farm served by a very friendly and welcoming waitress Pets welcome

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
delia200, Owner at Christina's Bistro at Van Loveren, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2021

Dear Mariaan, Thank you for your glowing review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our offering, and hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Delia

Reviewed 9 May 2021 via mobile

Went for breakfast and had to look for service 4 waiters standing around chatting. Then a single 1 pager with juice as only option. No vegan or vegetarian options in fact all courses all had meat in it. Only place in Robertson unable to do...chai latte! Then when we asked for marmalade they don’t have any??? Positive was when we called a waiter over he was attentive and tried hard. Setting was stunning but not for breakfastMore

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
delia200, Owner at Christina's Bistro at Van Loveren, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2021

Dear Edith, Thank you for your review. We use it as a tool to constantly improve our offering. We are expanding our Vegan choices, as we receive more requests. Kind regards, Delia

Reviewed 22 April 2021

We enjoyed our lunch in the beautiful outdoor setting. Calm, peaceful, perfect for a relax and good chat with friends. The menu was quite extensive and a little different - nice! But prices were above average. Meal was tasty, service fair.More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
delia200, Owner at Christina's Bistro at Van Loveren, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2021

Dear Nicky, Thanks so much for your positive review. We never compromise on the quality of our ingredients. These unfortunately come at a premium. We do however constantly benchmark national chains, and find that our prices compare favorably when you take into account that we...More

Reviewed 25 March 2021

Great place for breakfast & lunch. Had to come back again! Their food is scrumptious, staff very friendly but most of all - their amazing garden is just a STUNNER! I could walk around there for hours. A great retreat & excellent wifi - so...ideal for a working break. Charming atmosphere & nice & shady for those hot summer days. A winner!More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
delia200, Owner at Christina's Bistro at Van Loveren, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2021

Dear Mina, Thank you so much for your great review. We hope to welcome you back soon! Kind regards, Delia

Reviewed 15 March 2021 via mobile

We were too late for the black board menu, so ordered burgers, soup and calamari. The food was tasty and nicely presented. The wine was delicious and the service good. Lovely to sit under the trees. You do need to walk through the garden. It...is beautifulMore

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?1  
delia200, Owner at Christina's Bistro at Van Loveren, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2021

Dear Ellie, We are thrilled that you enjoyed our offering and hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Delia

Reviewed 12 March 2021 via mobile

Great location , great food and service. We had a very pleasant lunch .... until the bill arrived. One of my party accidentally broke a glass during lunch. The bill reflected a charge for a broken glass! We were amazed. Not one of us has...ever been billed for a broken glass. Sadly this has lost this restaurant customers. In these Covid times one would think that eateries are looking for business not loosing it.More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
delia200, Owner at Christina's Bistro at Van Loveren, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2021

Dear oranjezichtgirl, My apologies that you were charged for the glass. This stems from a table that broke 5 glasses just the week before. Your waiter erroneously charged you as well. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the rest of our offering. Please let...More

Reviewed 17 February 2021 via mobile

We have dined here before and everytime we were thrilled by the setting and food. I had the Thai Chicken wrap and hubby a pizza with a bottle of van Loveren Rosé. The food was fresh and tasty, the setting gorgeous and outside, the service...was friendly and efficient. A lovely experienceMore

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
delia200, Owner at Christina's Bistro at Van Loveren, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2021

Thank you for your wonderful Review! We hope to see you soon again!. Kind regards, Delia

Reviewed 23 November 2020

when u order your steak medium rare and it comes done u send it back and 40 min later still no meat...the whole group ate. everyone was done and I had no steak. and then you get attitude. 3 bottles of wine. not one did...they pour for us. bad service and the manager has no clue how to handle all this. the staff needs training. such a beautiful spot but if the staff spoils it then this can't work.More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
EstiStrydom, Owner at Christina's Bistro at Van Loveren, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2020

Hello Jess, Thank you for your review. I must apologize as we got this wrong on the day. Your waitress never informed the kitchen that she requires a refire on your fillet. Please e-mail me on chefchristinas@gmail.com as I would like to invite you and...More

Reviewed 5 November 2020

Well presented and tasty food in a lovely relaxed setting. Pizza was excellent - think crispy base and saalds and deserts delicious!

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
delia200, Owner at Christina's Bistro at Van Loveren, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2021

Thank you for your great review! Kind regards, Delia

Reviewed 6 September 2020 via mobile

Stunning venue...inside and out. Lovely gardens. We had 2 specials of the day. One soup with the freshest bread and a pizza that was thin and crispy. We arrived close to closing time but the staff was friendly and willing to assist

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
delia200, Owner at Christina's Bistro at Van Loveren, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2021

Thank you for your glowing review! We hope to welcome you back soon! Kind regards, Delia

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
theLAB Robertson
97 reviews
8.32 km away
Montagu Country Hotel
806 reviews
14.78 km away
Montagu Springs Resort
123 reviews
16.28 km away
High Hopes of Greyton
42 reviews
40.42 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Shed Restaurant
12 reviews
7.47 km away
Montagne Deli & Wedding Venue
8 reviews
6.24 km away
La Mont Deli
15 reviews
6.24 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Marbrin Olive Farm
238 reviews
7.14 km away
Platform 62
98 reviews
7.42 km away
Goedverwacht Wine Estate
5 reviews
4.97 km away
Ashton Winery
15 reviews
4.96 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
221johannk
11 April 2019|
Answer
Response from delia200 | Property representative |
Hello Joann, Thank you for your enquiry. Our hours are 9.30am till 15.30pm. Please feel free to contact me on 076 862 1995 for a reservation. Thanks again and kind regards, Delia
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Christina's Bistro at Van Loveren

Yes, Christina's Bistro at Van Loveren offers takeaway services.

Yes, Christina's Bistro at Van Loveren offers delivery services.

Christina's Bistro at Van Loveren is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5