We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
French
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
7
4
1
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
7
4
1
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 18 October 2023 via mobile

Table bread had maggots inside! I made chef aware who simply said "bread was freshly baked this morning" to which I replied maggots take 24 hours to hatch so they must be in his kitchen! BewareMore

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mark corrie, Owner at Le Kiwi, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2023

Dear Brendon, when you told me that there were maggots in the bread I effectively replied that that was impossible because the bread came out of the oven at 11 o'clock that morning and as you so rightly said maggots need 24 hours to develope....More

Reviewed 2 September 2023

What we enjoy most about this place if that they provide meals that are not like other restaurants in the region. We have also had great feedback from every guests that took us up on our recommendation to eat here.

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 July 2018 via mobile

When visiting the Grotto at Mas d'Azil it's tempting to have a lunch at the very new and very touristy establishment nearby. Resist this temptation - drive/cycle/walk into the town and visit le Kiwi for a more satisfying experience. But pick your moment, the opening...hours vary (see below) We were late comers for lunch this day and there was not much left on the 'menu du jour.' However what was left was the Vietnamese dish 'Pho.' Both the wife and I had this during a recent FarEast trip and were keen to try it here - our host agreed to join us (not that there was much of an alternative) It turned out to be the best version (and there are many in Vietnam) of this dish we had ever had and all three of us were more than pleased with our enforced 'choice' This reviewer can highly recommended this dish should it be on the menu when next at le Kiwi. Other than that, the service was sharp and affable, with more than enough English spoken. There's also quite impressive purchasable paintings by local artists on the walls, making original mementoes of the visit. It's a small, neat, unassuming and clean restaurant with an extention to the rear built on garden patio decking - but when the weather is warm, it's better to sit outside on the not too busy street rather than inside. Highly recommended. Mon, Tue, Wed, closed. Thu, Fri 12:00 -14:00, then 19:00 -21:00. Sat 12:00 -14:30, then 19:00 -21:30. Sunday is 'Brunch Day' 09:00 - 14:30More

Date of visit: July 2018
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 December 2017

I ate there with a group of more than 20 friends. Everything was well organized by the lovely staff. The meal was extremely tasty and beautifully presented. I will definitely recommend this restaurant to all and sundry!

Date of visit: December 2017
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 September 2017

Had a very pleasant lunch. Staff very helpful and speak English. Has a lovely filling and delicately spiced soup that was a meal in itself.

Date of visit: September 2017
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 February 2017

excellent food, Asian themed, always of a very high standard and suitable for all diets. Staff very friendly, reasonably priced.

Date of visit: February 2017
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 November 2016

Good value for a tasty home made menu prepared on the spot. Vegetarians or not, I recommend it. The service is good.

Date of visit: November 2016
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 June 2016 via mobile

Having enjoyed our last visit, we were looking forward to our return. This time we booked in advance and opted for the plat de jour at 16 euros. All four of us enjoyed the food, atmosphere and service. We're already looking forward to visiting again...on our next trip.More

Date of visit: June 2016
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 April 2016 via mobile

We have a home in the area & have eaten here a couple of times. The food was actually quite good but the English owner we think just might not like the English; or maybe just us, although we have never done anything other that...eat in his restaurant and give him our money! Due to his rudeness we no longer go.More

Date of visit: May 2015
Helpful?4  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 February 2016

and meat and fish - but really, this is difficult to find in France, certainly when outside of a city. We had delicious salads and lentil main course with root veg mash which was sublime. Nice oriental touch to the menu, decor a bit clinical...for me, but probably most people would love it; friendly and very efficient staff, and great value. BRAVO!More

Date of visit: February 2016
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 January 2016

We stopped because of all the cars parked outside, even in january - proof of its popularity. A thai meal, vegetarian option, in the rural south of France, cooked by a Brit chef, and with veg that had not been cooked to death and still...had texture!! Great subtle flavours, perfectly cooked, well presented, and 3 courses for €14. , ! Truly amazing.More

Date of visit: January 2016
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 June 2015

We went for lunch with friends on a nice sunny day so opted for the 'semi external ' but covered area where other customers smoked. This area is a bit disappointing as the toilets were very visible (the door seemed to swing open) and staff...accessed their storage area tightly adjacent to our table twice during our meal. The choice of food is quite good, with nice vegetarian choice options which is always a challenge in SW France. The food was well presented, tasty and of a high standard, but for wine avoid the house red which is very poor and barely drinkable. Service was fine, with lovely fresh bread and nicely presented bottled water. The cost was quite high for a lunch, but the 'rapido lunch menu' looked better value. Having previously had a rather mixed quality evening meal at Le Kiwi this visit was a second chance, but we were left with the same mixed feeling of good and poor elements. Will we try again ...?More

Date of visit: June 2015
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 February 2015

Being a vegetarian I was very glad to find Le Kiwi so I booked a table for dinner. My partner went straight for the meat while I ordered vegetarian. I have to admit, as we ate our dinners I felt very much the poor relation…...envious at the sight and smell of the great heap of potatoes and venison being devoured in front of me. (delicious apparently.) My meal was a small bowl of minestrone soup with way too much pesto mixed into it. The starters and deserts were simple but tasty enough, and the cheese was delicious. (Keep local!) The house red was very good and reasonably priced while others seemed too expensive. Service was very good and it's always nice to see the kitchen at work. It is a treat to find somewhere in rural France that caters for vegetarians with options beyond the cheese baguette…and I would return. I just wish on this occasion the chef had been a little more adventurous than a bowl of soup…More

Date of visit: January 2015
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 October 2014

After a morning walking around the local area, we decided to stop for lunch at Le Kiwi. It was a Thursday in late October, so we were surprised to find that the restaurant was quite busy. So busy in fact that they had run out...of 'le menu' advertised at 12.95 euros. The owner / chef said that he could offer us something similar and proceeded to produce four portions of Thai broth with chicken wontons and king prawn, followed by apple tart. We also had a bottle of very nice Corbieres at 22 euros. Service was friendly. Food was good and the atmosphere pleasant. Well worth a visit if you're in the area.More

Date of visit: October 2014
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Chateau de Rhodes
27 reviews
9.13 km away
Auberge Les Myrtilles
181 reviews
14.47 km away
Hotel Eychenne
162 reviews
20.08 km away
Hotel Le Valier
35 reviews
20.21 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
L'estanquet
5 reviews
7.26 km away
La Terrasse du Mas
51 reviews
.11 km away
La Table De Cazaleres
8 reviews
7.59 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Grotte du Mas d'Azil
351 reviews
.14 km away
Ferme des Reptiles
113 reviews
6.34 km away
Mohair Pyrenees
8 reviews
6.87 km away
Xploria
78 reviews
1.36 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Le Kiwi staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

LE KIWI, Le Mas-d'Azil - Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Le Kiwi

Le Kiwi is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4