We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
Seafood
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (444)
Filter reviews
359 results
Traveller rating
221
80
25
15
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
221
80
25
15
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sardines oysters tasting menu hake eggs benedict tuna steak pasta bread table mountain our waiter victoria alfred hotel lovely evening sit outside south africa junior sylvester
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 22 February 2021

We had breakfast in Ginja every day during our stay at the Victoria & Alfred Hotel. The Harvest table is fabulous and the cooked breakfast menu really delicious. We were very well taken care of - I must mention Clint our waiter who served us...every day for the period we were there and even when we were not sitting in his section, he went out of his way to make sure we got everything we needed - we really looked forward to breakfast every morning - will definitely return.More

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
Chad Elario, Other at Ginja, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2021

Dear Hermfish Thank you for your very informative and positive review, we do appreciate it very much. We are happy to hear that we have made your breakfast experience a memorable one, this coupled with the exceptional service you received from Clint. We will be...More

Reviewed 4 January 2021

We decided to dine at Ginja restaurant based on the beautiful setting and proximity to the Harbour. The food left much to be desired. The menu is limited to begin with. The line fish was bland, lacked flavour and seasoning. The Korean chicken was salty....The burger was full of onions, patty was dry and relish also did not taste nice. Overall the food was not good value for money at all and quite honestly not up to standard in comparison with the hotelMore

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
Chad Elario, Other at Ginja, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2021

Good day Tebogo M Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your experience at Ginja restaurant. We are sad to hear that the meals were not to your liking. We have since discussed your experience with our chef regarding the dislikes...More

Reviewed 26 December 2020

With such beautiful view its overtly dissappinting to experience a staff member (waiter) that was, arrogant, aggressive and rude in the manner of he's approach. The waiter was unprofessional, making it vehemently clear that hotel guests get treated very differently to walk in guest. Poor...customer service. After discussing the incident with senior management who seems to be resting(over confident) on the notion(illusion) that they have been running the business for 27 years with "exemplary" service. Suggestion: train all your staff members to treat all guests(walk in and in house) equally, instead of segregating them, both your staff and guests. . Sort it out from the Top Down.More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?2  
Chad Elario, Other at Ginja, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2020

Dear Luis G. Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review the overtly dissappinting (sic) experience you had with one of our team members on Christmas Day when you were advised that the restaurant was closed to non-hotel residents for breakfast. You were...More

Reviewed 22 December 2020 via mobile

Cheese corn was exceptional! Service and all food was excellent! Sat outside and watched the clouds roll over table mountain- beautiful!More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
Chad Elario, Other at Ginja, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2020

Dear quentonmarty Thank you kindly for your five star review, we greatly appreciate it. We are really glad that the service and food was excellent and we are fortunate to have the best view in Cape Town. Please do visit us again soon. Kind regards...More

Reviewed 15 December 2020 via mobile

Had a delicious pink lady and cosmopolitan cocktail while watching the world go by. The sirloin steak was great. The KGC chicken not so much - it was almost too salty to eat. Staff were friendly.More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
Chad Elario, Other at Ginja, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2020

Dear KarooChick Thank you for taking the time to write this review and of your experience of Ginja, we do appreciate it. We will look into what you are saying regarding the salty taste of the Korean Fried Chicken. What I can say regarding the...More

Reviewed 11 December 2020 via mobile

We had breakfast this morning at this wonderful restaurant. Delicious food, great view from our table and excellent service from Anne - our waitress! Thank you! :)More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
Chad Elario, Other at Ginja, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2020

Dear K2306 Thank you for taking the time to write this five star review of your experience at Ginja, we do appreciate it. Anne will be very happy to see her name on TripAdvisor and she deserves it after reading what you have written. Please...More

Reviewed 11 October 2020 via mobile

We visited Ginja restaurant and buy, are we glad we did so. All of the staff are very well trained, extremely knowledgeable and super friendly. The food was excellent. Very high standards. The breakfasts are lavish with a wonderful array to choose from. For dinner...we opted for the prawn and wine combo special on our first evening and it was good that we just had to return for more of the same the following night. Our waiter Roy remembered us from the previous night and knew exactly what we were going to be drinking. The manager was great and ran the floor effortlessly.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Roving07216037047, Other at Ginja, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2020

Janinewiggett Thank you for taking the time to write such an informative and positive review, we do appreciate it. We do try our very best to exceed expectations and it seems that we have accomplished that in this case. Thank you for including Roy in...More

Reviewed 19 September 2020 via mobile

This review is for Native Coffee Roasters that share premises with Ginja: Brilliant! The best tomato soup I’ve ever had. The setting is idyllic. We sat outside on the corner of the café to do people watching. Even the seagulls stopped to greet us. All...of this with Thé Mountain in front of us. A great place for pics. The quality of the food make it tops!More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?2  
Roving07216037047, Other at Ginja, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2020

Dear Janet v Thank you for your fantastic review, it is greatly appreciated. We are very happy that you enjoyed your meal and that it was the best tomato soup that you have ever had. On a beautifully sunny day, to sit on our Terrace...More

Reviewed 22 August 2020 via mobile

Great food in a beautiful setting, in a stunning location. Service was very good. A bit pricey, but I will visit again.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Roving07216037047, Other at Ginja, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2020

Dear Saz_m03 Thank you for your short, but informative review, we do appreciate it. We are currently running an amazing prawn special which consists of a kg of queen prawns, a table salad and fries. All this coupled with a bottle of Iona Sauvignon Blanc...More

Reviewed 19 April 2020

Located in the Waterfront overlooking a marina. You may sit inside or outside, on the patio or along the marina. As starter we had the camembert with walnuts and cranberries. Very good but the bread could have been better. The calamars were for the most...part quite good, a few a little too chewy but the tomato sauce and mayonnaise made up for it. The small whole chicken served with lemon gravy was excellent and so were their side buttered vegetables. Very good service.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Roving07216037047, Other at Ginja, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2020

Thank you for taking the time to write us this informative review, we do appreciate it. Please do join us again soon as we have a whole new dining menu in place and many new dishes to try. Kind regards Chad Elario

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
1,939 reviews
.01 km away
Dock House Boutique Hotel
266 reviews
.14 km away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
928 reviews
.15 km away
The PortsWood
995 reviews
.23 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
V&A Food Market
1,508 reviews
.07 km away
Dash Restaurant & Bar
700 reviews
.12 km away
La Parada V&A Waterfront
644 reviews
.09 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Cape Wheel
1,077 reviews
.09 km away
Chavonnes Battery Museum
114 reviews
.15 km away
Eyewitness - A Private Collection
13 reviews
.14 km away
Ripley's Believe It Or Not! Cape Town
15 reviews
.18 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Ginja staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Ginja

Ginja is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4