We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
OR
Reserve a table

Ratings and reviews

#414 of 545 Bar in Hong Kong
#6,376 of 12,094 Restaurants in Hong Kong
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
Bar, European
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Dinner, Lunch
View all details
meals, features, about

Location and contact

Lantau Island
5.7 km from Tian Tan Buddha (Big Buddha)
Improve this listing
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
15
14
7
3
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
15
14
7
3
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish and chips burger calamari cheung sha tasty food mui mains wo
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 5 days ago

Had booked a table, when we arrived it felt like we were putting them out by wanting to eat there. We asked for a specific table at the front (given it was empty) which they obliged but were told sternly when the table must be...returned by. Ordered the squid which was very good but were told the beers were “frothy” so would have to wait. Felt as though we were imposing just being there so paid up and headed up the beach to Lantana which was excellent. Expected chilled beach vibes given the location, but didn’t really feel welcome. Such a shame - better places along the beach.More

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 10 September 2020 via mobile

Bathers is far from how it writes about itself on website. Nothing to offer but terrible unfriendly unprofessional services. Last week of August we were on Staycation in Tai O. Walked in three times. First time on Tuesday August 25. One Filipino male staff (kinda...bald) who had no service manner really took his time to seat us. The restaurant was not busy, only 5 tables occupied. His manners, very strange, it’s almost like we had to be super smiley to him to get services! Never brought us water even when we asked. There were three staff, all Filipinos I think, chatting away, could not be bothered. Thursday August 27, after finishing a 6-hour long hike, we called at 4:50 asking if they are still serving (as restaurants closed at 6). A girl staff went on a long long explanation basically discouraging us to go. My husband loves his cold beer so we made it to Bathers at 5:05. Sadly the same Filipino staff was not interested in seating us, no other staff in sight. At the end we went next door to Long Beach for some delicious Thai food. And again Aug 28, after finishing trail 10&11, we ended up at Bathers again, (as my husband wants cold drafted beer and he loved the old Stoep). We walked up from the beach side, this SAME philipino staff pointed his finger from his work station called out loudly “put on your mask”. We did. He was soooo rude. No manners at all. When I went to the bathroom to change, he said “you need to put on your mask”. Wow! I finally had enough and said to him, “maybe you could say “can you please””? Then He started an argument ! I wonder if the owners know this. And if he was the owner, we will never go back again. Will certainly discourage friends to goMore

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Passport11956178144, Owner at Bathers, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2020

DearJacquelyn, Thank you so much for choosing to dine with us at Bathers. We take each piece of individual customer feedback very seriously and we were very disappointed and disheartened to hear that you found our service was not up to your standards, or indeed...More

Reviewed 13 July 2020

To be honest we were slightly nervous as the reviews on TA were very mixed. As a result we were pleasantly surprised, the service was on the whole good, but i think its important to get into the Cheung Sha vibe, its not the bustle...of HK island so relax and chill out a bit. The food was excellent from the calamari, to the salads and mains, all washed down with some Aperol. At the same time you cant get away from the sound of the ocean and the tranquillity of the setting at night. We would thoroughly recommend the restaurant - but wished that they would keep the kitchen open a little later. 8:30 on a Saturday night - come on guys - please!More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 8 July 2020

Pleasantly surprised when I came across this Lantau gem on Lower Cheung sha beach. The place has a very relaxed feel where you can hang out all day untill sunset sipping on sangrias and love how it's just a stone throw away to the sea....I didn't eat but will be coming back again.More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 3 July 2020 via mobile

Mainly the location and the occasionally passing water buffaloes makes it worth a visit and a place to spend some hours. The food is mediocre and could’ve been anywhere in one of the English speaking corners of the world. Not much of a style or...special atmosphere other than you are at one of Hong Kong’s most stunning beaches.More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 1 July 2020 via mobile

We came here on a public holiday morning, a funky of 4 with 2 toddlers. Arrive at this restaurant at 11am, only a few customer there. We ask for the menu and a staff literally throw the menu on the table and went way without...saying a word. (Nothing alarming here, at least not to me, quality of service on south Lantau beach restaurant is not known for his high standard) We order within a few minute (11:00am to be precise) 2 kids menu, a salad and a burrata in tomato. 25 min later, kids starting to be impatient (obviously) I ask the waiter how long do we still have to wait, his answer is “it will come shortly”. 15min minute later, I get up and go to the manager, he dare says to me that we order the lunch menu and that at time only breakfast is available (no one told us). At the end, the kids menu took more than 45min minutes to be served!!! At the end, It’s clear based on previous reviews that this restaurant already have a reputation. Don’t bother!!!!More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 1 July 2020

We waited for more than 45minutes for two salads and two kids menu. Ridiculous service! We arrived the restaurant at 10:45. The staff gave us the lunch menu. We ordered from the lunch menu at 11:00. At 11:30 we asked to check the order as...no food has been served yet. Overheard the conversation of the staff saying that they ordered from the lunch menu they have to wait as they were still running the breakfast menu. But the staff never told us about the breakfast menu thing. Finally our food arrived at almost 11:50. They have the worst management and service Of all! This is the most terrible experience we ever had.More

Date of visit: June 2020
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 26 June 2020 via mobile

2 waitresses for a packed restaurant are clearly not sufficient to provide service for 50 plus diners. Restaurant management take note! Oh no! I forgot to mention the restaurant manager is arrogant and just ignores diners who have actually booked in advance and are spending...money! And don’t even get me started on the food, salmon salad with tinned salmon, really???More

Date of visit: June 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 12 May 2020

Were there last weekend, food is hugely overpriced, it’s all fried stuff. I honestly didn’t know what to choose from the menu. Staff seems stressed out. Very disappointing place if you consider the location

Date of visit: May 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 3 May 2020

Arrogant staff and totally unorganized restaurant....the 'chef' at the entrance plays so important but does NOTHING....we waited 15min until we could order..no one is responsible, it is all so unorganized..we ordered another bottle of wine it never came, as we wanted to pay we gave...our credit cards and waited for ages as we stood up and ask for paying!!!! This is really a very bad place and friends told us that was a nice place years ago..What happend with the new owners???? PLEASE AVOID THIS PLACEMore

Date of visit: May 2020
Helpful?2  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Silverview Resort Holiday Hotel Lantau
25 reviews
5.52 km away
Silvermine Beach Resort
516 reviews
5.79 km away
Mui Wo Inn
17 reviews
6.21 km away
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
5,080 reviews
6.51 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Gallery
130 reviews
2.44 km away
Po Lin Monastery Vegetarian Restaurant
362 reviews
5.90 km away
The Kitchen
80 reviews
5.80 km away
Handi Indian Restaurant
71 reviews
5.34 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Tian Tan Buddha (Big Buddha)
14,790 reviews
5.66 km away
Lantau Trail
205 reviews
3.31 km away
Lantau island
5,596 reviews
5.50 km away
Po Lin (Precious Lotus) Monastery
2,125 reviews
5.50 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Bathers staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing