Manakamana Nepali Restaurant

Manakamana Nepali Restaurant

Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
+852 2385 2070+ Add website
Hours
Sun
12:00 pm - 1:30 am
Mon
12:00 pm - 1:30 am
Tue
12:00 pm - 1:30 am
Wed
12:00 pm - 1:30 am
Thu
12:00 pm - 1:30 am
Fri
12:00 pm - 1:30 am
Sat
12:00 pm - 1:30 am
Improve this listing
Ratings and reviews
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles

RATINGS
Food
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Atmosphere
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Details
Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
PRICE RANGE
HK$80.00 – HK$300.00
CUISINES
Indian, Asian, Nepalese
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
meals, features
Does this restaurant primarily serve Healthy cuisine?
About
Authentic Nepalese and Indian restaurant located in Temple Street of Hong Kong. From Daal Bhat to momos and curry with naan.
PRICE RANGE
HK$80.00 – HK$300.00
CUISINES
Indian, Asian, Nepalese
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
FEATURES
Takeout, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles466 reviews
Excellent
296
Very good
124
Average
26
Poor
13
Terrible
7
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

Vp-Education
Dubai50 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 family
When you look at the signboard or the door you may hesitate. Even when you slide open the door (always drawn shut) and step inside, the modest appearance, lack of decor and simple setting may adversely impact your expectations and cause you to review your decision. But believe me you will have no reason to rue or regret once you sample the magic made in the kitchen. All food is freshly prepared, spiced to your tolerance and tasteful to please your palette. Our order of Steamed veg memos, chilly paneer, paneer mutter and garlic naans took about 15 minutes to materialise. But when it arrived piping hot we forget and forgave the wait. The steaming momos arrived with its dipping sauce. We had to give them a couple of minutes to cool off. The soft, succulent momos made a mouthful that was a pleasure to work through. The next on the table were the 2 curries and the garlic naans. First, the Naans - Crispy, light, flavorful and hot, with the right touch of garlic. The 2 curries were a contrast - the chili paneer was crisp, spicy and tangy, with bell peppers and a tangy tomato base. The paneer mutter was creamy, rich and very tasty. It had the right touch of ginger. Hmm.... once bitten, forever smitten.
Written 3 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
457laxmis
Dear Customer, Thank you so much for visiting us and giving us such a kind review! We appreciate a for sharing your experience in our restaurant. We do prepare all our dishes freshly so the average waiting time is around 15 mins and a bit longer for tandoori items. We are glad that you enjoyed the food despite the waiting time. We will soon be moving to a new location, 107 Temple Street, Jordan, in the hopes of providing a better environment, decor and our overall appearance. Hope you will be able to visit us soon! Best Regards, Manakamana Nepali Restaurant
Written 11 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Lilu
Kowloon14 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2020 couples
Have been visiting for over 2 years now. Very great food and incredible delicious. Since is a small business, there is only one cook and if there was more than 3 tables, you can wait up to 50’mins for your order. Butter chicken however is the best in HK
Written 19 June 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
457laxmis
Dear Customer, Thank you so much for your valuable review and continuous support for these 2 years. Your feedback is important to us and we will continue to improve and provide better service according to your feedback. Best Regards, Manakamana Nepali Restaurant
Written 27 June 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

JB3D
Ashover58 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2022 couples
Very good value for money and delicious food. We had the HK$90 set menu for which we got a decent portion of curry, a black lentil dahl, a green vegetable dish, two excellent roti and a spoonful of chutney. Choice of various curries on the set menu and we had the vegetarian. You are asked to choose your preferred level of spiciness. We chose medium, which to our pallid western tastes was fairly hot. Good choice of beers at reasonable prices, including Nepalese beers. Quick friendly service. Highly recommended.
Written 6 December 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Laxmi S
Dear Customer, Thank you for visiting us and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed the food! We try to make our customers' experience unique by giving options when ordering. We do know that people have different spice levels so we try to make it suitable for everyone :) Hope to see you again soon! Best regards, Manakamana Nepali Restaurant
Written 19 December 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

ChipPan
150 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2021 friends
I had lunch here with a friend and although it was fine, I found that when I had lamb curry I only had 4 small pieces of lamb which was quite stingy. There was an offer of 15% off the a la carte menu but i glanced at the rest of the items, very much overpriced. Service can be slow, some poor guy sitting next to us waited over 45 minutes for his food when there was perhaps 8 ppl in the entire restaurant. The trouble is, in this area there are some very good Nepali buffets for about half the price. And the coffee here is awful.
Written 25 April 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Laxmi S
Dear customer, Thank you for your review. Regarding the 15% offer, it is only eligible for customers who book through Openrice and spend above $200. It is also only for a la cart menu. As you had the set lunch, you might have felt that the quantity is less. However, we give a reasonable amount according to the price. If you wish to have a greater portion, we suggest you to order from the a la cart menu. Our orders are freshly made upon individual orders so the time taken is longer. We hope you understand. Hope you could visit us again! Manakamana Nepali Restaurant
Written 28 April 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Aniruddha
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 solo
The food here is good. I ordered the Nepali thali with fish but had to wait for around 50 minutes for it to arrive. And that is after asking the waitresses multiple times about what the status of the food is and how long it will take. Unfortunately the first bad part of the experience drowned the good part about the food being quite nice.
Written 19 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
457laxmis
Dear Customer, Thank you for visiting and giving us a review. We sincerely apologise for the food being late. The kitchen faced sudden technical problems and it was also a bit busy during that time so the dishes took longer than usual. We are very sorry for that. We will make sure that it won’t happen again next time. Hopefully we can make your experience better when you visit us again. Best Regards, Manakamana Nepali Restaurant
Written 22 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ibrahim K
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2023 friends
Unbelievably slow slow service. Polite and friendly staff but kept delaying food. The newbie kept giving us the wrong food not once but twice. The toilets smelled disgusting. Food tasted nice but curry was cold by the time the roti arrived, chicken was undercooked (after such a long time waiting for it!), and the wrong soup was served.
Written 6 October 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Frances M
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2021 solo
I lived in Hong Kong for many years and this was my favourite neighborhood restaurant. It's family run and the food has a unique flavour compared with other Nepalese and Indian restaurants in Hong Kong. My favourite dish was paneer tikka, consisting of succulent cubes of paneer covered in a tasty spice blend and veg on a sizzling plate. They also make their own tea masala. Wish they could deliver to the UK!
Written 3 March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Laxmi S
Dear Customer, Thank you for such a kind review and continuous support! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our food. Hope to see you again when you’re back to Hong Kong! :) Best regards, Manakamana Nepali Restaurant
Written 23 March 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

World Traveler
Los Angeles83 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2023 friends
I would highly recommend this place, especially if you get the chicken pakora and also the Nepal combination food platter. It was about US$65 for three of us to eat a full meal and well worth it! Do not expect a nice finish out in the restaurant, but it is clean.
Written 25 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

J Steiner
Hong Kong195 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 none
There are 2 menus: Front = Nepalese and Back = Indian. Food is good with a local flavours. The seating is cramped and the decor is a hole in the wall feel. The service was hospitable. I just wish the place was a little cleaner,
Written 20 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
457laxmis
Dear Customer, Thank you for visiting us and giving us a valuable feedback. We hope to see you soon. Best regards, Manakamana Nepali Restaurant
Written 26 October 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

King GNS
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2021 none
I've been eating here for 4+ years after being brought by an associate. I'm ashamed to say I've only tried 2-3 things on the menu, but the reason is that what I had the first time was SO GOOD that I didn't bother to try anything else. I've taken friends and others here every chance I get. The staff are warm and friendly. The ambiance is good for eating alone, with a friend, or on a date. I've been in all 3 scenarios and have had 0 complaints from those I brought. I highly recommend people to eat here.
Written 27 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Laxmi S
Dear Customer, Thank you so much for your kind comments and continuous support to our restaurant. We are more than happy to hear that you’ve had great experiences here, this gives us great motivation to do even better! Hope to see you again and you can always ask us for recommendations if you would like to try something new! :) Manakamana Nepali Restaurant
Written 4 July 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Leenaserena
Brisbane85 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2021 couples
Amazing food here. Fresh, served hot and tasty ! Great value too . In October 2021 they had a dinner and lunch deal for $88HKD. Including soup/starter/bread/curry/rice. So filling and delicious. Well done to this restaurant and staff very professional and helpful. Will definitely visit again!
Written 26 October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Laxmi S
Dear Customer, Thank you for your kind review, we are very happy to hear that you buoyed your meal here! Hope to see you again soon! :)
Written 26 December 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Kauser E
Seaford174 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2023 couples
We found this restaurant on trip advisor. The ambiance isn’t great but the food really was. The mo mo’s were delicious. The service was very good considering there was only one person serving. A very busy restaurant.
Written 31 January 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

LaMar G
Solana Beach53 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 none
I ordered delivery to my hotel room. Delivery took about 45 minutes and was worth the wait. Because I didn't have a local cell phone number I was unable to order online, but I ordered by phone. It was smooth and the food was very yummmmmmy.
Written 4 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
457laxmis
Dear customer, Thank you for your kind review. We are glad that you were still able to enjoy our food through the delivery. Hope you could visit our restaurant next time too! Best regards, Manakamana Nepali Restaurant
Written 6 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Domirwin
Hong Kong346 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2024 family
Saturday lunch. Maybe we made the mistake of not taking a set. We ordered a la carte and it wasn’t great. Onion bhajis were ok but lukewarm. Puris with mint water were unpleasant. Then we waited forty five minutes during which nothing came out of the kitchen (it wasn’t busy). No communication or apology. Eventually pretty good chicken tikka came out, the best dish. It seemed that this was the only thing cooked from scratch. Then we had a Nepali lamb curry, butter chicken, chicken vindaloo, lamb biryani, lentil fry, Goan fish curry, mattar paneer and garlic naan breads. The curries (except the vindaloo) were all the same - creamy mild bland sauce with poor quality (dry thin slices) chicken and lamb and unpleasant chewy fish. The lentil fry was the best of the bunch (not involving the generic sauce of the others). Naans lacked the fluffiness of good naans and were more like thin flatbreads. Bill was 1200 for four people which wasn’t super cheap (but not expensive for HK either). Maybe we should have stuck to the sets but if you want good Indian food then there are better generic Indian food places at this price in Hong Kong. Disappointed.
Written 24 February 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Anthony S
United States3 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2023 family
This spot was very good for our lunch. This restaurant cared us by providing fresh lunch. We enjoyed it. We will recommend this place for excellent and satisfied lunch. Absolutely worth it !!!!!!!
Written 8 February 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-15 of 355
Best cheap eats
See all
Twist & Buckle
$ · Fast food, Spanish, Street Food, South American
b+bc Cafe
$ · Asian, Taiwanese
b+bc cafe - Tseung Kwan O
$ · Asian, Taiwanese
Lemna of the alchemist
$ · Cafe, Fusion, Diner
One Dim Sum Chinese Restaurant
$ · Chinese, Cantonese, Hong Kong
Sang Kee Congee Shop
$ · Chinese, Asian, Cantonese, Hong Kong
Ding Dim 1968
$ · Chinese, Asian, Cantonese, Hong Kong
DimDimSum Dim Sum Specialty Store (Jordan)
$ · Chinese, Asian, Cantonese, Hong Kong
Dim Sum Square
$ · Chinese, Asian, Cantonese, Hong Kong
Best nearby
We rank these hotels, restaurants, and attractions by balancing reviews from our members with how close they are to this location.
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Jordan and Yau Ma Tei neighbourhood is where you will find some of the more authentic areas of Hong Kong. Not as glamourous or busy as its neighbours Mong Kok to the north or Tsim Sha Tsui to the south, Yau Ma Tei is often mistakenly overlooked by visitors on their trips to Hong Kong. Exploring parts of this area makes you feel like you’ve been transported back in time. A large part of the neighbourhood draws from the rich history of Temple Street, stretching from Jordan to Yau Ma Tei, where a mix of dai pai dongs (outdoor restaurants), market stalls, fortune tellers and old karaoke bars bring out the history and culture of the area. The neighbourhood is a showcase of diversity – different ethnicities, cultures, and a mix of old and new.
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

MANAKAMANA NEPALI RESTAURANT, Hong Kong - Jordan / Yau Ma Tei - Photos & Restaurant Reviews - Order Online Food Delivery - Tripadvisor

All Hong Kong HotelsHong Kong Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Hong Kong
Things to Do
All Hong Kong RestaurantsRestaurants near Manakamana Nepali Restaurant
FlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire