We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Fat Crab

$$ - $$$Seafood, , Asian
53 Haig Road | Colombo 04, Colombo 00400, Sri Lanka
+94 11 2 055606
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent38%
  • Very good42%
  • Average11%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“crab curry” (31 reviews)
“bread” (27 reviews)
“clams” (56 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Sri Lankan, Asian
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
53 Haig Road | Colombo 04, Colombo 00400, Sri Lanka
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We had a great but expensive meal here on our 1st night in Colombo after a busy day exploring the city. It is located a bit out of the way from the usual tourist hotels; Our chauffeur guide drove us to make the reservation &...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank DidiSyd
Kishand42, Marketing at The Fat Crab, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi, thank you for your feedback and we will take it on board and look to improve our service. We are glad you enjoyed your overall experience :)

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had great fresh crab here.Very reasonable price My husband had fish and chips Wine not good but overall a good experience in a small friendly place

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank gmilner2017
Kishand42, Marketing at The Fat Crab, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi, thank you for your review, we are always looking to improve our standards, and will take your feedback on board!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The ambience was nice and service was quite good. The taste of the dishes were pretty ok too. However the crabs were water logged and certainly not fat as has been our experiences at many other Sri Lankan restaurants. If I had a name like...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank lagoon19
Kishand42, Marketing at The Fat Crab, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi, Thank you for your feedback, we constantly look to improve our service and will take your feedback on board moving forward.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This slightly out of town, seaside restaurant does good mud crab. Frozen is half the price of fresh, and fresh butter crab costs $25, so not a cheap meal. It is a poor relation to the intown Ministry of Crab, and if you on this...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank wmmgarnett
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came here one evening and ordered a chicken biryani and caesar salad. The biryani was delicious but the caesar was probably the worst I've ever had. Soggy lettuce smothered in some weird dressing with croutons that had been pre-buttered. Staff were friendly but meal was...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank seanhnz
Kishand42, Marketing at The Fat Crab, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi, thank you for your feedback, we constantly look to improve our standards and we will take your feedback on board.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Loved the baked crab they made it perfect for us with just a little added spice. The fish and chips we got for the kids wasnt to their pallate unfortunately. It wasnt an english fish n chips we were used to. But everything else was...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank naseem h
Kishand42, Marketing at The Fat Crab, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi, thanks for your feedback, we always look to improve our standards and we will take your feedback on board.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was our 2nd attempt to visit. The first time we were turned away because we needed to reserve, apparently they were fully booked even though the restaurant was half empty. But we thought fair enough and reserved for a later date. The restaurant itself...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Danielle M
Kishand42, Marketing at The Fat Crab, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Danielle, I'm sorry to hear about your negative experience at our restaurant. Please know that this would have been a one off instance and we will take your feedback on board and look to better our service.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I love this finger licking Crab. If you want the special roast paan (bread) make sure you order when you book as it is in high demand. Food is really tasty and great place to share good food and drinks with friends. Beautiful view and...More

Date of visit: December 2018
2  Thank Partington1
Kishand42, Marketing at The Fat Crab, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi, we're delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stunning crabs. So fresh and huge. Tried all the flavours. The garlic prawns were also amazing. Stuck to spirits to accompany the meal.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Elizabeth F
Kishand42, Marketing at The Fat Crab, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi, we're delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us!

Reviewed 11 December 2018 via mobile

Me and my wife spent a awesome evening at the Fat Crab Restaurant! We tried some big Gambas and a hole Lobstertail with a special garlic chili Dip and some fresh vegetables in the side. Sooooo Good you have to try it! Special thanks to...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Manuel W
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 70 hotels in Colombo
Ceylon City Hotel, Colombo
304 reviews
.26 km away
Grand Ella Motel
149 reviews
.46 km away
Hotel Eurolanka
23 reviews
.59 km away
Pearl Grand Hotel
325 reviews
.60 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Momo's by Ruvi
66 reviews
.37 km away
New Banana Leaf
146 reviews
.59 km away
Dwaraka
51 reviews
.53 km away
Nearby Attractions
PickMe Taxi
154 reviews
.12 km away
Zam Gems
6 reviews
.27 km away
Rhythm and Blues (R&B)
19 reviews
.39 km away
Rhythm and Blues
9 reviews
.47 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
lovemanger
31 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from zahran z | Property representative |
Yes they do and you can bring your own as well. You have to pay corkage.
0
Votes
missak887
28 October 2016|
Answer
Response from FiyazIsmath | Reviewed this property |
Not sure of what you r referring i.e blue swimming flower crabs but the srilankan lagoon crabs are the same as the mud crabs. Check out the "ministry of crab" in colombo too
0
Votes
missak887
28 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from howard0928 | Reviewed this property |
They have two crabs in SL mud and sea I believe
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Seafood, Sri Lankan, Asian
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
6:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
6:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
6:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
6:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
6:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
6:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
6:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 53 Haig Road | Colombo 04, Colombo 00400, Sri Lanka
  • Location: Asia  >  Sri Lanka  >  Western Province  >  Colombo
  • Phone Number: +94 11 2 055606
  • E-mail
Description
Pavilion Seafood Bistro
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing