We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
PRICE RANGE
US$25 - US$100
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Australian
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, 有泊車位, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Live Music, Waterfront, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (1,416)
Filter reviews
1,410 results
Traveller rating
649
339
190
114
118
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
649
339
190
114
118
Show reviews that mention
All reviews seafood platter barramundi crab garlic bread the wait staff saturday night set menu wedding function desert bugs australia
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The best seafood i have ever had!! Its $235 for a seafood platter for 2 but it is worth every cent. My partner and i went for lunch, it was just perfect. Located right on the water. Will be returning next visit.

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 29 May 2022 via mobile

Restaurant looked dirty when we entered,fork on floor,very messy. Decor very bland.Was a staff member vacuuming the floor as people being seated and eating, very unprofessional . We ordered the hot/cold seafood for 2 as we have had many times. We asked if we could...replace oysters, sashimi and baby octopus with other seafood like fish and more squid.The waiter assured us we would get replacement. Our platter arrived ,it did not have much on it as a replacement, the garnishes looked old and withered,the fruit ,grapes especially looked old and off. Very disappointing for $235 ,not worth it.Such a shame as we looked forward to it so much. Something has definitely changed at the Lagoon, not for the better .Unfortunately we won't be back,we will look for another Restaurant.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Lagoon Restaurant, Marketing at The Lagoon Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2022

Hi Tracy, thank you for the feedback and bringing this to our attention. We apologise for your disappointing experience and hope you give us another try soon!

Reviewed 15 May 2022 via mobile

Excellent. Simply excellent. We were there for daughter's 18th Birthday on a Saturday night. Had a party of twelve people. Our wither was from Columbia and he was absolutely superb, and funny, made the girls laugh. Restaurant was very busy due to a wedding, but...all our food arrived together and there was not one complaint. Just fantastic. Try the Barramundi Nick. It's out of this world IMO. The wedding was really noisy, so at the end of the meal the management offered us a free round of drinks. They didn't have to and that was a great gesture. Hence the 5 star rating which I rarely give.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Lagoon Restaurant, Marketing at The Lagoon Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2022

Thank you Chris! We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your celebratory dinner with us. We love Esteban and are so excited to hear you loved him just as much! Your review is deeply appreciated

Reviewed 11 May 2022

Not sure how this restaurant is still operating. We were there for Mothers Day lunch and the atmosphere was chaotic, they over booked and as a result people who made bookings were queuing for up to 40 minutes to get a table. We ordered the...hot and cold seafood platter which looked like the hot seafood was cooked hours earlier and was stone cold. The garlic bread was stale. The dessert which was a creme brulee reeked of egg. Not exactly the cleanest of restaurants either. Was served a glass of wine which had visible lipstick marks. The table cloth was dirty and one of my forks had dried food on it. Disgusting. Would not recommend to anyone.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Lagoon Restaurant, Marketing at The Lagoon Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2022

I'm so sorry to hear about your previous experience with us. Feel free to send us an email at enquiries@lagoonrestaurant.com.au if you would like.

Reviewed 30 April 2022

We had 25 of our family have breakfast here and it’s the worst meals and service I’ve ever experienced Meals were all cold Waited 40 minutes for toast I watched people’s meals sit on the counter for up to 10 mins going cold before they...were delivered Some of our family had gone before some of the other meals were served When I advised them of this we got “ we can make some more” no thanks and wait another half hour We all won’t be backMore

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Lagoon Restaurant, Marketing at The Lagoon Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2022

Hi there. I believe this review is meant for the Lagoon Deck Bar and not the Lagoon Seafood Restaurant. Please forward your review onto them, where they can address the matter further.

Reviewed 25 April 2022 via mobile

Great service, friendly and accommodating staff. Meals were fantastic and seafood was very fresh like always. Best restaurant in town.

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 24 April 2022

Went for lunch and had a window seat which was a good start. Then went backwards drinks ordered taken a Perroni Leggera and a bottle of Pinot Grigio. Waiter comes back no Peronni ok had a light beer that was on tap. Waiting on the...wine my wife noticed the wine glass on the table filthy. Waitress changed the glass and still waiting on the wine another waiter came don't have the wine i ordered in stock ,offered two alternatives however one was not even on the drinks menu. Wine finally arrived prior to entrees which was good. I had the oysters which came with no fork ,so i was using the large fork on the table another waiter saw this and offered a smaller fork that is use with oysters. Oysters were Sydney Rock however the were smallest Sydney Rock oysters i have ever seen .Mentioned this to the waiter and he said this was due to the recent flooding as other customers also commented. Mains arrived, however we ordered two side dishes fries and a greek salad which hadn't come out with the mains. Again called the waiter over and he went checked and said they wont be long. The fries came and he said the chefs were preparing the greek salad. My wife was have way through her main when it came. There must a been special on onions. The wait staff were good however the lack of drinks and food delivery need a lot of attention. Paid the bill and the reception staff member did not ask how things were,a normal practice in other restaurants. Disappointing overall, however thanks to the wait staff having a sense of humour as they on the coal face.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 9 March 2022

We celebrated our wedding anniversary yesterday at the Lagoon, a restaurant we have dined at many times over the years. It has always been a favourite however sadly it is a shadow of its former self. The staff were very pleasant but the food was...lacking. I had the cold seafood platter for one, it was not worth the $89. I know seafood is not cheap but it was tasteless. The oysters were tiny, the chefs selection of sashimi as listed on the menu was a small piece of smoked salmon. All served on a plastic plate. My husband had the Sumac crusted salmon and again found the fish tasteless. I had an Irish coffee for dessert to my surprise was served a s a white coffee with cream on top! So disappointing to see our “go to” restaurant when we have interstate visitors and special occasions now so mediocre.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 March 2022

This restaurant is a disaster from the moment you approach the rear car park. The first impression is of the rear of the kitchen, with dirty mops and rubbish in full view of whoever drives down the side of the building. What a sight to...behold! It looks old and neglected. Next step is finding a parking space! The front entrance was filthy with old outdoor furniture to sit on, cigarette butts everywhere, and fingerprints all over the front glass doors, what an entrance! Could it get any worse and the answer is yes! It is filthy and neglected inside. The toilets are putrid. The curtains that once partitioned off areas for weddings were hanging off their clips, just like in an abandoned building. Your shoes stick to the carpet and the place smells. This place is so neglected it is unbelievable! The food was mediocre, and I sent back two dishes, the portions are small. The food does not warrant the prices. The service is appalling. This is such a shame, it was once an award winning restaurant, but now just a shadow of its former self. Will not go back. This place needs a total overhaul inside and out!More

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?5  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 29 January 2022

Two of us had lunch here yesterday and on reading the previous reviews were somewhat concerned it may be a poor dining experience. Nothing could be further from the truth. We live in Wollongong and have been here many times although not in the last...year so it was disappointing to read the very negative reviews. Firstly a wonderful greeting from front of house Rosa who seated us and was extremely attentive and engaging and who seated us near the front for a top view. Then our waiter the very engaging and helpful Dakota, for whom nothing was too much trouble, took our orders. The Sommelier was also very attentive filling wine and water glasses regularly. The only mixup with the food was that a half dozen oysters were not as ordered but the other half dozen were correct. Dakota offered immediate replacement but as I’d already started on the delicious Kilpatrick 6 I was happy to keep going. We ordered the steamed whole Snapper and the Jumbo Queensland Prawns, grilled with a wonderful sauce, and both dishes were perfectly cooked and delicious. We followed with one desert and a piece of the cheese also good. So all up we had a lovely lunch and recommended the restaurant highly. However, to avoid any doubts that this may be an “inside” review the reader can read my earlier review for the coffee kiosk on the deck where I gave one star and was highly critical. I’ve since found out it’s a separate operation. Yes it’s correct to say the decor is somewhat dated and I had to swap a dirty wine glass for a clean one but the food in our experience was excellent and the young staff extremely engaging, professional and helpful. We look forward to a return visit well done to all staff mentioned.More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 27 January 2022 via mobile

Returned to this restaurant as we received a voucher for a gift. We had been here a few years ago and had vowed never to return due to the soggy seafood. This visit was even worse. The place is in need of an upgrade. There...was a very unpleasant smell in the room when we arrived. Perhaps the carpet had never been cleaned? Our wine glasses were dirty and had to be sent back and then one of our water glasses had congealed food on it as well and had to be returned. If a restaurant has a dishwasher and proper quality control this shouldn’t happen. Are they being washed properly or just rinsed? We had octopus for the entree. It was ok but wondered why you would serve an Asian flavoured dish with a salad that didn’t match. The fish dishes were nicely cooked, however, some of the vegetables left a lot to be desired. Don t even bother with the side garden salad. The toilets were pretty filthy, including leaking taps. Such a disappointment as premium prices are charged. There are plenty of other fabulous places near so I would definitely avoid this restaurant.More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 27 January 2022 via mobile

We have been to this restaurant on many occasions. We were dined as a couple and have attended large wedding functions. The service and food has always been great, Unfortunately on Australia Day this was not the case. We arrived at 7:15 to be told...that the kitchen was closing at 8 due to the public holiday and the staff being so flat out all day. We made our choices quickly but unfortunately we were still waiting for our first drink some 30 minutes later. For an entree oysters cold two different ways served, with no cutlery. We asked for appropriate cutlery and some 10 minutes later were given a teaspoon that was dirty. We spoke to another waiter who apologised and told us that they had not had time to wash the cutlery but did get us a clean spoon. We ordered a bottle of wine and eventually we were served our main meal that were lovely. Not once during the meal was the wine poured for us. We were eating a seafood platter and a lobster but no bibs that are usually offered, offered. We were given finger bowls that you could fit 3 fingers at a time in. We were hit with a public holiday surcharge. Surcharges are fine as wages have to be paid. If you only have half the staff only take half of the bookings that way patrons will not get annoyed at lack of service and had been charged additionally for that. It should also be noted that the party of six locals that had been there for a long lunch should have been refused service long before the closing of the night.More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 23 January 2022

Saturday night. Music was pumping due to 2 weddings - that's OK however we were kind of warned "we're very busy". Restaurant also very packed. That's their choice. Especially with inexperienced? waiters The staff were all very green; they tried their best but have not...been trained on service standards that you'd expect from the Lagoon (like their competitor down the road). And there were lots of them making it feel chaotic. Napkins not placed on our laps. Not once! did they check on how we were, if we wanted a drink. I had to signal them every time. Every drink came in a hot glass. Beers not poured into glasses (if you actually got a glass). Wine glass bowl was gripped by waiter in her full hand and brought to the table - gross normally, worse during Covid. Hubby loves oysters and chose thai chilli with citrus dressing option - what arrived was not as expected (light brown crusty topping) and tasted very fishy destroying the "oyster" flavour. Unbelievably he couldn't eat them all. Waiter tried to find out information for us on this but clearly the kitchen didn't care. After an hour and seeing others get their main course I asked about ours. It had been missed. My salmon with tabbouleh was VERY dry. I asked for some sauce to bring it together and was provided more of the eggplant puree and a lemon butter dressing - much better. Barramundi and prawn main was good. This was not a cheap dinner either - top prices remain - hence the expectation for better. Hopefully they will review and improve or adjust what type of restaurant they are or what they can manage well during covid. At this time, it's not worth the price.More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 21 January 2022 via mobile

What a terrible experience we had. We usually come here once a month, not any more. The last time we came we ordered a decent bottle of wine only to be told by a staff member : did they shake it up because I’ve worked...in a winery and that’s what you should do if the wine has sediment in it. ? Seriously have you not heard of decanting a decent wine, obviously not. We have always liked this place so we gave it another go. Today we ordered our entree nice. I had fresh prawns other had tempura. Both ok. We then were looking at the mains and decided to order a bottle of red. They had 12 Cabernet Sauvignon and14 Shiraz on offer. So we tried to order - then advised we have 2 cab sav available and 3 Shiraz. Why on earth did you give us a full menu listing at the beginning with no explanation that you don’t have any wines available. We asked for a few different bottles and the staff checked and came back to us with - no we don’t have it, - was there any managers around? Apparently no they are on holidays. It was a horrible experience and we certainly won’t be coming back until they pick up their game. The staff blamed it all on covid. Yes it can be difficult but we have been to other restaurants in the Illawarra and they have their finger on the pulse. Enjoy your holiday managers the place is going downhill fast.More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 9 January 2022 via mobile

Have not been for while due to Covid and happy to be able to go back. The food is great. Service is fast and very friendly. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Beach Park Motel
75 reviews
.34 km away
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
2,775 reviews
.54 km away
Flinders Motel
82 reviews
1.00 km away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
1,697 reviews
1.65 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Il Pozzo Cafe
26 reviews
.90 km away
Bourke St Burgers
32 reviews
.62 km away
Harbourside Fish Market and Cafe
15 reviews
.78 km away
Northbeach Pavilion
724 reviews
.63 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Science Space
161 reviews
.97 km away
North Wollongong Beach
33 reviews
.61 km away
Stuart Park
47 reviews
.19 km away
Beach Cove Belmore Basin
24 reviews
1.17 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Balmainite
11 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Cecelia C | Reviewed this property |
Yes there are GF options - we dined with friends one of whom is coeliac.
1
Vote
Robert W
14 January 2018|
Answer
Response from CarolandBruce E | Reviewed this property |
You cant edit a review.If you want to erase it you need to contact trip advisor.
0
Votes
kazandmillieb
24 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from kazandmillieb |
Karen G it's on once a month for toddlers and carers. Paid $10 for my daughter because I thought there was entertainment. There was some fairy walking around not doing much. Was a waste of money for her because she doesn't... More
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE LAGOON SEAFOOD RESTAURANT, Wollongong - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Lagoon Seafood Restaurant

The Lagoon Seafood Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 4