We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rachel's

3, The Mound, West Bay, Bridport Dt6 4, England
+44 7974 314277
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent86%
  • Very good11%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“fish stew” (154 reviews)
“chowder” (102 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
3, The Mound, West Bay, Bridport Dt6 4, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (930)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 923 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went for lunch after parking caravan nearby. We knew about the “posh shacks” on the harbour from the past but hadn’t tried “Rachel’s”. Food was freshly prepared and took a few minutes but worth waiting for: my crab salad with chips was really good as...More

Thank llo1846
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are so pleased you chose to try us and it’s lovely to hear that you enjoyed your lunch. Hopefully we will see you again next year. Many thanks for your fabulous review.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just an end of season few lines to thank you all for the many delicious meals we have enjoyed this year. Not just the food, it’s never anything less than perfection but, also the amazing team that ‘delivers’ each and every single time. Nothing is...More

3  Thank John W
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Many thanks John and Marion for taking the time yet again to write us an excellent review. It’s always satisfying to serve customers who appreciate all the hard work and effort every member of the team put in to making the experience of eating at...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I have eaten at Rachels a couple of times in the afternoon which they have normally run out of everthing. So on Monday in October i decided to try earlier with my husband. It opens at 11:30 and we arrived at 11:32 and all the...More

2  Thank Carrie H
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

I was quite astonished to read your recent review regarding your experience at Rachel’s. How on earth can you accuse young Jess of shouting? She is the most pleasant and sweet girl I have ever known and I’m sure she hasn’t a got a shout...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Ok I review a lot. I’m hesitant to say how much I like Rachels as its small and I may not get a table but hey ho the reviews speak already for themselves. Fantastic specials. If you get the chance of the scallop and king...More

Thank LondonSony
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Love love love your review!! Thank you for taking the time to write us such an excellent review even though you’re concerned it may affect the availability of tables in the future. It’s always a pleasure to serve customers who appreciate all the hard work...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

So very pleased that the weather changed and Rachel's opened today. We had to wait for a table and while the food is cooked but on a nice warm day it wasn't a problem. I had the fish stew and my husband the local butchers...More

Thank Lian S
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Just what we love to hear! Thank you so much for the compliments about our fish stew. We look forward to seeing you again to try out another dish if not this year then next.

Reviewed 14 October 2018

Outside dinning of surprisingly great quality. The only disadvantage is that there is no protection from the weather. Be sure to wear a hat if it is sunny.

Thank BaldEagleDude
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for your excellent review. We only have a limited amount of umbrellas and do advise in hot conditions that customers come prepared for the hot sun.

Reviewed 8 October 2018

Visited on a sunny Sunday and the place was really busy but they gave us a time to return and when we did seated us within minutes. Food is cooked to order so there was a wait, but so well worth it - fab fish...More

Thank Ajane3
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

It’s great to hear that you both enjoyed your lunch with us. Due to the space within the kiosk there is a limit to what alcohol we are able to stock and are sorry to hear that you weren’t enamoured with the wine we had....More

Reviewed 3 October 2018

Admittedly weather was on our side. Had to wait for a table so what better way than sit in the sea wall with a bottle of wine. Once shown to our table we selected our food and we weren’t disappointed . Scrumptiously tasty hot and...More

Thank Lulu R
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Many thanks Lulu. We are pleased you both enjoyed your lunch and look forward to seeing you next time.

Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

Food is amazing and although you may have to wait for a table sitting on the wall with a bottle of wine while you wait what can be better. Will definitely return. My friend had the fish stew and I had tempura prawns both equally...More

Thank LindaR3749
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Thank you Linda for your lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 2 October 2018

A year since we were last here and the quality of the cooking goes from strength to strength. We had a delicious lunch with the freshest of ingredients and generous portions. Fish stew, served with chunky bread, was brimming with white fish, prawns and mussels...More

Thank mahonia2013
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

It’s fabulous to hear from returning customers continuing to enjoy the whole experience of lunching at Rachel’s. Many thanks for taking the time to write this excellent review and we look froward to seeing you next year.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
The West Bay Hotel
321 reviews
.32 km away
Seacroft Bed & Breakfast
24 reviews
.33 km away
Haddon House Hotel
564 reviews
.37 km away
Eype's Mouth Country Hotel
439 reviews
1.63 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Baboo Gelato Ltd
155 reviews
.14 km away
Seagulls Restaurant
442 reviews
.27 km away
Snack Shack
142 reviews
.01 km away
Nearby Attractions
Lyme Bay Rib Charter
226 reviews
.19 km away
West Bay Canoes
136 reviews
.14 km away
West Bay Harbour
1,139 reviews
.08 km away
The Customs House
79 reviews
.24 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
FloydOnForever
15 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Rachelwestbay | Property representative |
Hi Floyd, our current opening hours are 11.30 -2.30 Thursday - Monday. Weather depending. Please feel free to give me a call 07974314277 to double check on the day. Thanks Rachel
1
Vote
Honeypie100
25 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Rachelwestbay | Property representative |
I’m terribly sorry we close on the 28th October for the season. Opening again in the spring. Hopefully you’ll be able to make it for a meal then. Kind regards.
0
Votes
GavCla11
13 August 2017|
Answer
Response from Rachelwestbay | Property representative |
Hello. I don't believe so as it's been a very hectic summer and everyone is shattered by closing time. Sorry to disappoint.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$15
Meals
Lunch
Restaurant features
Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Good for
View, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 3, The Mound, West Bay, Bridport Dt6 4, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Bridport  >  West Bay
  • Phone Number: +44 7974 314277
Description
CLOSED UNTIL 2019 Rachel's is open daily from 11.30am to 3pm. Opening is weather dependant and there will be occasional days that they close for personal reasons. We will endeavour to advertise these closures on Facebook. Customers are welcome to telephone the advertised mobile number to discuss needs or book a table between 10.30 - 11.30am. Prior to start of service.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing