We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hungry Horse

Old Shamblehurst Lane, Hedge End SO30 2RX, England
+44 1489 787617
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent21%
  • Very good19%
  • Average21%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible28%
Travellers talk about
“the barn” (12 reviews)
“pub grub” (4 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM Hours
CUISINES
British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Old Shamblehurst Lane, Hedge End SO30 2RX, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 289 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

We wanted a quick family meal. After being told there was no free tables we went out to the garden. All the free tables were dirty and hadn't been cleaned. Eventually we noticed a free table inside. The staff reluctantly cleared the take after we...More

Thank Debbie S
Reviewed 2 days ago

First visit since play area has been moved, dreadful we came with 3 chidren telling them to expect to be able to run around. We sat around 6pm and NONE of the tables in what was the play area were being used. Surely, this is...More

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank Gill G
Reviewed 1 week ago

Ordered a Falafel salad, very small portion arrived on a hot plate (not good for salad) with a greasy falafel burger on top of it at a cost of £7.79!

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank disapointed867
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went in on the ‘reopening’ evening after being promised great things, tables outside were filthy, under 18’s not allowed in the restaurant.the staff were disgustingly rude wouldn’t listen and very obnoxious, Won’t be returning. Can’t belive they are promoting this what a waste of money.

Thank Simone T
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

Came here for food and the experience was stress free and amazing. I was served by a friendly member of staff called Naima, who quickly served me and took my order with a smile :-) My food came out within 8 minutes of ordering from...More

Thank gclarke95
Shamblehurst T, General Manager at Hungry Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello, Thank you for your comments which have been passed onto the team members. We hope to see you again when we reopen on 27th June.

Reviewed 6 June 2018 via mobile

Visited last week and had a lovely lunch. We were served quite quickly considering it was busy-ish, food came out quickly and was great value for money. We were served by liane who was pleasent and professional. We will definitely be returning!

Thank 735jcduk
Shamblehurst T, General Manager at Hungry Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Thank you for your lovely comments which have been relayed to Liane and the team. Just to let you know we will be closed for two weeks from the 11th June for 'A Lick of Paint' See you again soon.

Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

Called in on a busy Bank holiday Monday, staff where very helpful and soon found us a table for four. Ordered the rump steak two of us had ours cooked rare and I was pleasantly surprised by the quality, really tender. On a down side...More

Thank 32-j
Shamblehurst T, General Manager at Hungry Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

Thank you for your comments which have been noted. We hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 24 May 2018

Wife and I just has lunch at the Shamblehurst Barn, Food excellent and quickly delivered to our table by Meg Lebbern. The service is excellent and the staff are very friendly. Well worth a visit

Thank aefogg
Shamblehurst T, General Manager at Hungry Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely comments and we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 23 May 2018

Went into the pub today and I was served by a very pleasant, knowledgeable and friendly member of staff , her name was Liane, she is a credit to the pub, no task is too much for her it seems. I would visit again.

Thank Garvyduff
Shamblehurst T, General Manager at Hungry Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Thank you Garv for your lovely comments.

Reviewed 20 May 2018 via mobile

Enjoyed our visit to Shamblehurst Barn, the food is good and inexpensive and plenty of seating with upstairs dining aswell as other seating downstairs in bar area seperate to the restaurant area.

Thank Kirstie H
Shamblehurst T, General Manager at Hungry Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Hi Kirstie, Thank you for your lovely comments. Just to let you know we will be closed for two weeks from 11th June for refurbishment. We hope to see you again soon.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Hedge End Hotels
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa
2,353 reviews
1.03 km away
Botleigh Grange Hotel
924 reviews
1.15 km away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
1,340 reviews
1.87 km away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
1,073 reviews
1.99 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Monsoon Indian Cuisine
48 reviews
.72 km away
Hello Kitchen Chinese Takeaway
62 reviews
1.03 km away
M&S Cafe
13 reviews
1.43 km away
Nearby Attractions
Botleigh Grange Spa
76 reviews
1.16 km away
CrackleRock Brewing Company
12 reviews
2.47 km away
Kennet & Avon Canal
70 reviews
2.94 km away
Go Ape Southampton
103 reviews
3.68 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Hungry Horse staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$18
Meals
Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, 有泊車位, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Old Shamblehurst Lane, Hedge End SO30 2RX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Hedge End
  • Phone Number: +44 1489 787617
  • E-mail
Description
Shamblehurst Barn is part of the Hungry Horse pub brand, with an outstanding reputation for great sports viewing, a great selections of drink, value food and regular entertainment. So whether you want to watch sports, enjoy a pint with mates, or you'll always be welcome - so pop down and tuck in! Whatever you're hungry for, come hungry.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing