We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Toby Carvery Dronfield

Sheffield Road, Sheffield S18 2GA, England
+44 1246 412326
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent24%
  • Very good32%
  • Average16%
  • Poor16%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
“pudding” (24 reviews)
“salmon” (22 reviews)
“peas” (9 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Sheffield Road, Sheffield S18 2GA, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 453 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

We came for our first visit with some friends for Sunday lunch. I was glad I'd pre-booked on line as the place was heaving. Inspite of the busyness we were welcomed and shown straight to our table. There was quite a queue for the carvery...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Jayne E
Reviewed 1 week ago

23/11/2018 12:30pm. Car parking was clean tidy and offered easy access to spaces with already plenty of customers attending the premises. Disabled parking clearly marked on entry to main car park and within a very short walk or wheelchair travel on a flat surface route...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Paul S
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at Toby Carvery Dronfield, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Paul S, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed and amazing review. We always strive for 100% guest satisfaction so your review means a lot to us ! I will make sure that all the team reads your review and...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When entering the Toby Carvery, we initially were met nicely by a front of house server who told us that we could wait for a table at the bar and it would be 30 minutes. This was fine and we were seated in the allotted...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Edward F
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at Toby Carvery Dronfield, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

We are disappointed to hear that you did not have a more positive experience with us at Toby Carvery Dronfield.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Well worth a breakfast visit. Just like the dinner offerings, the menu is inexpensive so the turnover is high resulting in the food turn around being quick. In short, nothing was old or stale. The only thing I would say that wasn’t great were the...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 692kena
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at Toby Carvery Dronfield, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi 692kena, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at Toby Carvery Dronfield. We''re happy we could meet your expectations!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Having attempted to visit a few weeks ago and being told once again there were problems with meat supply etc, we decided on Wednesday afternoon to give this Toby another try. Armed with a £10 gift card sent to me after making a complaint, we...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank BlueFox17
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at Toby Carvery Dronfield, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Bluefox17, thank you so much for your positive comments about Toby Carvery Dronfield!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We called for breakfast, our first visit, first impressions was very tired and shabby decor, coffee was diy with hot water and those coffee sachets you get in hotel bedrooms, this was £2.10 extra, but you could have as much as you want. Lattes etc...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 794nick2018
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at Toby Carvery Dronfield, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are disappointed to hear that you did not have a more positive experience with us at Toby Carvery Dronfield. I would like to clarify that the coffee used in breakfast is fresh filtered coffee in thermal jug, we do also have sachets and hot...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

So I booked our takeaway for 1pm we didn't get the food for 20 minutes. When we arrived home we only had half of our order so had to go back for the rest of it. The size of the carvery looks great until you...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Kimhague
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at Toby Carvery Dronfield, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi kim, We have responded to you privately

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We can’t fault this place, the staff are always very friendly. The place is clean and tidy. And they have a decent vegan and vegetarian range. Only downside this time there wasn’t any mash potatoes.More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Sandypant
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at Toby Carvery Dronfield, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you sandypant for your lovely review, feedback means a lot to us and I will be passing on your lovely words to the rest of the team ! The broken down equipment that stopped us from having mash potato is now back up and...More

Reviewed 29 October 2018 via mobile

As a frequent Toby carvery visitor, I was disgusted when I got to the carvery to find the tiniest Yorkshire puddings ever, this is the second occasion when I have visited this Toby and found the same issue, which I find ridiculous as Toby is...More

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank ameliahudson2202
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at Toby Carvery Dronfield, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2018

Dear Amelia The reason why we haven’t got any mash potato is because one of our equipment has broken down and we are waiting for a part to get it fixed. Regarding the Yorkshire I cannot apologise enough about it but please ask the chef...More

Reviewed 28 October 2018

Lovely food, very busy, staff friendly and attentive especially the men behind the car very. Good value. Only down point was that in my opinion it needed a clean and a spruce up. Windows mouldy, table sticky, floor worn. Would go again though.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Rachael O
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at Toby Carvery Dronfield, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely review ! I will ensure the rest of the team sees your review and I will pass your comments regarding the cleanliness to the cleaners !

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 51 hotels in Sheffield
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park
1,826 reviews
.95 km away
The Manor House Hotel
232 reviews
1.50 km away
Cross Scythes Hotel
203 reviews
4.34 km away
The Sandpiper Hotel, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western
358 reviews
4.95 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Little Italy
504 reviews
1.14 km away
Lawrie's Bistro and Coffee House
145 reviews
1.51 km away
Chequers, Hungry Horse
430 reviews
1.08 km away
Mint Leaf
246 reviews
1.42 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Forge Shopping Centre
40 reviews
1.60 km away
Cross Daggers
18 reviews
1.21 km away
Cliffe Park
17 reviews
1.84 km away
Smiffy's Bar
6 reviews
2.03 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
helenm964
26 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 11 answers
Response from blackarrow | Reviewed this property |
Not impressed with the place at all food not brilliant.
0
Votes
U832WVlaurent
7 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from BlueFox17 | Reviewed this property |
Highly unlikely, although I know they have been some problems with supply .
0
Votes
U832WVlaurent
7 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from MelissaInAU | Reviewed this property |
According to a statement on the Toby Carvery website, it is not.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$15
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, 有泊車位, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Sheffield Road, Sheffield S18 2GA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  South Yorkshire  >  Sheffield
  • Phone Number: +44 1246 412326
Description
Welcome to the Toby Carvery Dronfield. When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings – including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're Sheffield’s favourite carvery restaurant. Drop by and you'll find lots more on offer, including cooked breakfasts and tasty specials.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing