We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bernard Stanley Gastropub

223 Duckworth St, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 1H8, Canada
+1 709-722-5266
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good29%
  • Average9%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (28 reviews)
“kettle chips” (15 reviews)
“burger” (37 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
American, Bar, Pub, Canadian, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
LOCATION
223 Duckworth St, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 1H8, Canada
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I went out for a date night but had to bring our 6 week old daughter. There was a little bit of a wait at first because we didn’t have a reservation. Once we got a seat the service was great. I...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Stephielew1
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I loved the menu, however not all items were available, our food took 2 hours to come out and was not served as hot as I felt it should of been. Our server was amazing but overall staff didn’t seem happy to be there or...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank scottymustard1979
AmberLynn D, Public Relations Manager at Bernard Stanley Gastropub, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are so sorry to hear that you experienced a long wait on your food and that we were out of some of our menu items that evening. We have been working very hard lately to work out the kinks of timing and service, and...More

Reviewed 18 October 2018

While in St. John's for a work conference, I hosted two cocktail events at the Bernard Stanely Gastropub. Having only read reviews and viewed pictures on Trip Advisor, it was a leap of faith to host two events at this venue. I could not have...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank KimberlyF31
Reviewed 10 October 2018

This was a fantastic meal. I had the steak, with the shrimp and gnocchi for my appetizer. The food was fabulous, the restaurant is louder, with a relaxed vibe, perfect for a Friday night. My only complaint was the wait; we had a super long...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Gastro-gurl
AmberLynn D, Public Relations Manager at Bernard Stanley Gastropub, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for the review! We are really glad that you enjoyed your steak and gnocchi and our relaxed and lively environment. We have been working really hard with our staff to fix wait problems, such as the one you had that night. We hope you...More

Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

Was completely satisfied with the referral that this place was a great atmosphere with wonderful food. Was not disappointed at all. Extremely good and fast service. Would highly recommend checking out if you are in the St. John’s areaMore

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Rob A
AmberLynn D, Public Relations Manager at Bernard Stanley Gastropub, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2018

We are so happy that you had a good time while here at the pub, and even happier that you have great people in your life who know where some of the best food in the city is! We hope that we will get to...More

Reviewed 25 September 2018

The menu looked amazing, a number of delicious burgers; which is what brought us here. However, the length of time we had to wait for everything really took away from the dining experience. From the drinks to the apps to the mains it took over...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Justtravelling4
AmberLynn D, Public Relations Manager at Bernard Stanley Gastropub, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018

We are so very sorry that you didn't have a good experience or enjoy the dishes that you ordered on your evening out and that it took much longer than a typical dining experience. We are also especially sorry that you received slower service that...More

Reviewed 20 September 2018

Had brunch here and had high hopes, the menu looks great. Its a very cool space. I don't take my ratings lightly, I was very disappointed with my meal so I had to go poor. The person I was with had breakfast poutine and he...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Jason R
AmberLynn D, Public Relations Manager at Bernard Stanley Gastropub, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Hey Jason. Thanks for dropping by for brunch with your friend - and we are glad your friend enjoyed their breakfast poutine! The Bernard is one of two of our tall stacks, and is actually one of our best sellers, and it definitely requires some...More

Reviewed 15 September 2018

If you are into salty food, this is the place. There is no doubt this place has a lot of flare when it comes to creativity & quality of freshness. Service is definitely a 5 star. Spices help to amplifier the flavor of a dish...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Explore439168
AmberLynn D, Public Relations Manager at Bernard Stanley Gastropub, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Thanks for dropping by! We are so happy that you had great service and enjoyed your burger. Sorry to hear that you found your meal salty! If you would like to message us privately at bernardstanleygastropub@gmail.com, we would love to hear a little more about...More

Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

We had dinner there a couple evenings ago and very much enjoyed it. I had the PB&J burger with a prosciutto wrapped asperges stalk and the spicy crab chowder and they were excellent. She had the fish and chips and found they to not have...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Mike H
AmberLynn D, Public Relations Manager at Bernard Stanley Gastropub, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Thanks for visiting us while in town and we hope to see you next time you're around!

Reviewed 5 September 2018

Must be the absolute best in St Johns. The burgers are perfect and the ambience combine to provide a great experience. Had a double IPA which I didn't much like, heavy and dark and not at all like an IPA back home. Too much undeveloped...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank ulstermarine
AmberLynn D, Public Relations Manager at Bernard Stanley Gastropub, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Thanks Mike for giving us a try and we are so happy that you liked everything! Hopefully we will see you again next time you're in town.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 26 hotels in St. John's
The Luxus Boutique Hotel and Lounge
65 reviews
.06 km away
Alt Hotel St. John's
78 reviews
.10 km away
Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland
491 reviews
.33 km away
Quality Hotel Harbourview
433 reviews
.44 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Peaceful Loft
270 reviews
.05 km away
Saltwater Restaurant
380 reviews
.20 km away
Oliver's Restaurant
876 reviews
.20 km away
Raymonds Restaurant
663 reviews
.05 km away
Nearby Attractions
Anglican Cathedral of St. John the Baptist
123 reviews
.31 km away
Spirit of Newfoundland
129 reviews
.24 km away
Bannerman Park
67 reviews
.34 km away
National War Memorial
54 reviews
.13 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Bernard Stanley Gastropub staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Friday
5:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 223 Duckworth St, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 1H8, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  Newfoundland and Labrador  >  Newfoundland  >  St. John's
  • Phone Number: +1 709-722-5266
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing