We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
British, Bar, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Drinks
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveller rating
65
40
21
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
65
40
21
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak and kidney pie fish cakes yorkshire pudding salmon soup giant yorkshire previous night delicious gravy food portions great home cooked food pool table locals and visitors welcoming pub pub grub special board real ale an extensive menu
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had such a fabulous time here Saturday night - sun was shining so enjoyed the lovely garden - food was great and portions massive! Service friendly and speedy (but not at all rushed) / and I enjoyed my first ever parmo - delicious! Never seen...bigger fish on the plates of fish and chips that came out, and the white wine was was chilled. Great value too! Well done all/ it was a hot and busy night for you but you did your customers proud and we’ll definitely be back soon!More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Black Bull Hotel Reeth, Owner at Black Bull Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Jackie thank you very much for your review, we really appreciate it. We are glad you enjoyed your evening with us and hope to see you again soon. Regards David

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went for dinner. The food was fine, nothing special. The owner was very friendly. The other staff made us feel like an inconvenience rather than paying customers. They weren’t welcoming and spoke to us abruptly without any manners. Needless to say, we won’t be...returning.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?1  
Black Bull Hotel Reeth, Owner at Black Bull Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Guys it was nice to meet you this week, you have a lovely family, and I will practice the card trick you guys showed me. Although I am a bit disappointed with some of your comments. The whole team here go out of there...More

Reviewed 24 June 2021 via mobile

Our walking holiday started badly when the bus to Keld didn’t see us at the bus stop and missed us, (The bus to Keld leaves from the Kings Arms not the bus stop) . We went to drop our overnight bags off at The Black...bull and contemplate how to solve our problem when the landlord offered us a lift to Keld. Such unexpected kindness, thank you. We stayed the night in a twin with wonderful views, new linen and good bath. Our meal of chicken parma & Steak and Ale pie was delicious, the service was great and attentive. Good selection of wine. All staff very friendly. The following day the landlord gave us a (pre-arranged) lift to the start of the next stage of the Herriot Way. Thank you David, you really went the extra mile and it was a pleasure to meet you and your team. Highly recommend and Reeth is so beautiful.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Black Bull Hotel Reeth, Owner at Black Bull Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi Sarah Firstly you are very welcome, I was glad to help. Thank you for you review, it was great to meet you and 'Betty' ;) and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Well done on completing your Herriot Way walk and...More

Reviewed 10 June 2021

Evening meal. Great menus. Friendly staff. Both our main courses were first class. Crumble for dessert was fantastic. We will be back ASAP.

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Black Bull Hotel Reeth, Owner at Black Bull Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi Stuart thank you for your very kind review, we do appreciate it . See you again soon we hope Regards David

Reviewed 3 June 2021

Spent a few days in Reeth over the last week. Made sure we booked a few days beforehand to ensure we had a table as this place is so popular. I would definitely say it is the best place to eat in Reeth and I've...eaten in them all! The food is home cooked by the wonderful chefs Kyle and Adam (not pre bought/frozen unlike other establishments) and caters to all needs. I'm Gluten free and the lasagna was amazing, including gluten free garlic bread! My children loved the kids menu and wanted more. Especially the lovely puddings. The hosts are out of this world, nothing is too much for them. David and Helen are so welcoming and look after all of their guests whether visitor or local equally. Charlotte, Linzi, Nicola and Dale are so friendly and serve your drinks to the table (as requested by the Covid restrictions) efficiently. Would highly recommend this place, make sure you pre-book (Covid restrictions or not). They have a one way system in place and ensure everyone wears a mask. I feel, after such a long time of uncertainty, very comfortable in this place. They also do fantastic rooms.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Black Bull Hotel Reeth, Owner at Black Bull Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi Fluffmonkey It is always a pleasure to see you guys and thank you so very much for the kind review and words. See you soon, in hopefully less Covid times and we can have a proper catch up. Regards David & Helen

Reviewed 2 June 2021 via mobile

Good traditional pub food. Two of us had scampi and chips which tasted really fresh. Halloumi burger also good, as was the chocolate brownie afterwards.

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Black Bull Hotel Reeth, Owner at Black Bull Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi Helen thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your evening with us, hopefully we will see you again soon. Regards David

Reviewed 27 May 2021

What an amazing pub!!!!!! The food my wife and I ate was incredible not what we expected from a little Yorkshire dales pub. It's clear to see that the new owners really care for the place and have obviously invested in a chef who knows...what they are doing. Our drinks were cool and refreshing the fires were roaring most of the staff we talked too were friendly and engaging however there was a bad apple of the bunch. The older lady with the short blonde hair made us feel very unwelcome she was more than just direct she was simply rude. We felt like we were an inconvenience to her and like we were in the way. This being said the young gent on the bar that joined her was so nice to talk too he made a fuss of our dog and always made a point to talk to us as he passed. Ignoring the small issue it's clearly 5 stars we will certainly be back with friends and family -TerryMore

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Black Bull Hotel Reeth, Owner at Black Bull Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2021

Hello Terry Thank you for your review. We have discussed the incident you mention internally, however we have no recollection of any incident taking place. I can assure you the whole team here are working very hard to ensure all our guests and visitors receive...More

Reviewed 6 May 2021 via mobile

We were staying in Reeth and stopped for lunch on a blustery day and headed to the beer garden at the back of the pub. The pub has made a real effort to be open despite the restrictions with covered tables and blankets for colder...days. The food was good pub food and very enjoyable. We were made to feel very welcome and everyone was brilliant with our little boy and our dog. The service and welcome alone meant we returned for drinks again. So nice to be out and about again and visit somewhere so friendly.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Black Bull Hotel Reeth, Owner at Black Bull Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2021

Hi Thank you for the kind review. It was great to meet you and young Toby is a star. Take care guys and see you again soon we hope. Regards David & Helen

Reviewed 21 April 2021 via mobile

We came to The Black Bull as it was the only Pub open serving food in the area on a Monday. We were made to feel very welcome by the Manager and his team. The food was so good we returned the following night. We...had fish and chips the first evening - freshly battered delicious fish, served with some of the best chips we’ve ever had. The meal the following evening (grilled gammon & a splendid ‘chicken parmo’ - highly recommended) was served with hand cut chunky chips - even more delicious than the previous night. We have eaten Heston Blumenthal’s triple cooked chips in his pub in Bray and these were definitely better. The Manager & his family have been running the Hotel for just over a year (a lot of it closed due to Covid), we wish them all the best - keep up the good work!More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Black Bull Hotel Reeth, Owner at Black Bull Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2021

Hi and thank you so very much for your comments, they are greatly appreciated and we have posted these on our Facebook page. It was great to meet you both and get know a little about you, we hope you are able to enjoy a...More

Reviewed 13 December 2020

AMAZING!!! As per usual Fresh home cooked Sunday dinner, proper Yorkshire portions, fluffy roasties, juicy meat and a service above your average pub. Both me and my wife had turkey today and we are booked back in for next week for more of the same....We were both shocked when our complimentary mince pies arrived at the table but happily scoffed them in no time at all. Our all time favourite pub to go into after a long walk in the dale. It's cozy, friendly and reasonably priced. Not to be missed!! Covid guidelines strictly adhered to and enforced without feeling like a military boot camp.More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
Helen W, Owner at Black Bull Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2020

Hi Paul Thank you for such a lovely review, so glad you enjoyed your dinner and we look forward to seeing you again next week. I will make sure there are a couple of mince pies left for you. Kind regards Helen

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Buck Hotel
385 reviews
.10 km away
Burgoyne Hotel
394 reviews
.12 km away
Kearton Country Hotel
159 reviews
3.64 km away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
749 reviews
9.77 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Overton House Cafe and Deli
225 reviews
.02 km away
The Bridge Inn Restaurant
176 reviews
1.24 km away
Two Dales Bakery
60 reviews
.17 km away
The Kings Arms
226 reviews
.03 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Alfresco Adventures
127 reviews
.03 km away
The Bridge Inn, Grinton
66 reviews
1.20 km away
Hazel Brow Farm Visitor Centre
50 reviews
5.22 km away
Aysgarth Falls
1,937 reviews
11.05 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
freddie e
19 February 2017|
Answer
Response from BlackBullHotelReeth | Property representative |
We were yes
0
Votes
terry S
9 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from sportybirmingham | Reviewed this property |
12pm - 2pm & 6pm - 9pm. Check website or call them to double check info.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Black Bull Hotel Restaurant

Black Bull Hotel Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5