We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

1783 Bar & Restaurant

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
  • Single-use or sanitised menus
Read more
Updated 02/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 02/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
British
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
53
16
6
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
53
16
6
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cheese board pasta burgoyne hotel lounge area delicious meal service was excellent on arrival sunday evening fine dining yorkshire dales chef salty filling dog
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 25 June 2021 via mobile

Stop looking for any other place to eat in Swaledale.. this is the best! A warm and cosy atmosphere in a beautiful historic hotel. The staff are always attentive and very friendly - and the food is delicious with many things locally sourced. I have...family in the Dales and 1783 has become a regular treat for family meals since it changed hands a few years ago. Highly recommend :)More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
RachaelOwen, Marketing at 1783 Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank-you for taking the time to review 1783. We very much appreciate your feedback, especially during these challenging times. It is lovely to hear that 1783 restaurant has become a regular treat for yourself and your family and we look forward to welcoming you all...More

Reviewed 20 June 2021

Interesting menu that is even better on the plate! Tried 3 starters and 4 mains on our visit, the cheese board is excellent and good for sharing.

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
RachaelOwen, Marketing at 1783 Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2021

Dear Susan, Thank-you for taking the time to review 1783, we are delighted that you enjoyed your dining experience with us and hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 8 June 2021

It has taken me 9 months to write this review because what should have been a night to remember turned out to be the opposite! From the start we were seated in the restaurant close to a couple just drinking wine, no social distancing. We...all ordered steak for our mains and they were all inedible. They cannot have been cooked by a chef. We complained to the young lady in charge and after a long wait we were told we could have a free dessert! The chef (if there was one) didn’t have the decency to come and speak to us. The staff were so young and inexperienced one of them even told us our steaks were all cooked correctly!! The place might look the part but it certainly doesn’t deliver. Thank goodness our holiday cottage was excellent.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Rachael O, Front of House Supervisor at 1783 Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review your trip to our 1783 restaurant. We are very sorry to hear that on this occasion, we did not meet your standards. I can assure you all of our tables met and currently still meet the social...More

Reviewed 18 October 2020

We had booked an overnight stay and because we had our labrador with us we ate in the bar but the menu was the same as the restaurant. We had been travelling round the Yorkshire Dales for a week and this was the best evening...meal we had during that week. There was a good choice on the menu and the food was excellent. The staff were very attentive - all in all an excellent evening and we can't wait to return.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
RachaelOwen, Marketing at 1783 Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2020

Dear David, Thank-you for taking the time to review our bar & restaurant. We are pleased that you enjoyed your dining experience with us and really appreciate your feedback! Look forward to welcoming you back.

Reviewed 16 October 2020

My husband and I were excited to try this restaurant, having been recommended by family. Unfortunately it left a lot to be desired. It’s an expensive restaurant with starters averaging around £12 and mains at around £30. It also tries to give off the vibe...of being a more luxury restaurant with a lounge area and expensive decor. However it did not live up to the standard it had set itself with the prices and building. The food was definitely sub par and the service was lacking. We had the scallop for starter (coming in at around £14) which was one small scallop on some masked up pork. It was little more than one mouthful and was under seasoned. The main course was a vast improvement and actually very good, although again it lacked seasoning throughout. For £30 you wouldn’t expect that. We ordered quite a pricey bottle of wine for the table which was brought along in a wine bucket and plonked on the table. I’m not trying to be pretentious, but when you’re spending that kind of money you would expect the wine to be poured to try and the glasses filled. We also had to ask twice for the wine cooler to have ice put in it so it was actually cold. I don’t think it’s the staffs fault, they were very nice, but they did seem to be understaffed, only having 2 front of house staff in for the whole evening service. Overall it was a very underwhelming night out.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?1  
RachaelOwen, Marketing at 1783 Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2020

Dear Amy, Thank-you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We are sorry to hear that on this occasion you did not enjoy your dining experience with us. Apologies you were not asked for your wine to be poured, we usually do offer this...More

Reviewed 9 October 2020

We went to the 1783 restaurant for my fiancé’s birthday on a Thursday. It’s a cosy place and very well kept with nice decor, we were fortunate it was right next to our B&B. The menu looked delicious so we were excited for a meal...that wasn’t pub food for our stay in Yorkshire and final night in Reeth. The meal started well with delicious wine and the goats cheese ‘Bon bobs’ for starter were lovely. However, unfortunately we were left very disappointed. I ordered the cauliflower steak, which was not a steak at all but 4 pieces of normal boiled cauliflower. It had no flavour and was certainly not worth the money. When paying the bill I mentioned this to the waitress and she apologised that they had actually run out of the steak and made a joke about the chef just giving cauliflower instead. At no point had anyone communicated that the steak was not on the menu, so it felt like they had deliberately ignored it and tried to serve something else sub par at the same price, which is clearly not great customer service. In the end they agreed to give a 50% discount on that dish, which I appreciated but they should have really just taken it off the bill. I would have much rather been told up front that the item wasn’t available and I would have ordered something else. My fiancé ordered the sea bass which he said was OK, but nothing special. We were also ignored a few times throughout the night and had to wait a long time to actually pay. I appreciate it was a fairly busy night and there were only two people working, so I’m sure the service would have been fine in other circumstances. Unfortunately wouldn’t recommend or go back in a hurry, it has great potential and lovely setting, but overall our experience was not worth the money.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
RachaelOwen, Marketing at 1783 Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2020

Thank-you for taking the time to review 1783 Restaurant. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your dining experience with us and it did not meet your expectations. We value your feedback and will review the comments made.

Reviewed 14 September 2020

Just had a really good meal at the 1783 Bar & Restaurant at the Burgoyne Hotel in Reeth. Can’t fault it. Difficult times but the management and staff were really helpful, friendly and courteous. The food was great and the atmosphere relaxed and enjoyable. Keep...it up.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
RachaelOwen, Marketing at 1783 Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2020

Thank-you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We are delighted that you enjoyed your dining experience with us and really appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 13 September 2020

Enjoyed a delicious three course dinner here for our anniversary. Each course was well presented and couldn't be faulted. Portions were just the right size. The service was friendly and attentive but not over-bearing and we didn't feel rushed. Would happily visit again.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
RachaelOwen, Marketing at 1783 Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2020

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We are delighted that you enjoyed your dining experience and hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 9 September 2020 via mobile

The service was great and the food was very tasty. However, I ordered the ravioli and the portion was much less than I anticipated and was extremely salty. Despite this, my partner ordered the chicken breast with chips and received a large portion and this...was cheaper than the ravioli. The dessert was excellent, we had the cheese board and ginger sponge pudding. Overall, we had a lovely time, the food was great, I just wish that the pasta portion was larger. Would recommend if you want a fancy meal, however if you’re walking the coast to coast and want a big portion maybe try somewhere else in Reeth.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
RachaelOwen, Marketing at 1783 Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2020

Thank-you for taking the time to review our restaurant, we are pleased that overall you enjoyed your dining experience with us. Being a fine dining restaurant our portions are sometimes slightly smaller than your average pub/restaurant, however we appreciate your comments and these will be...More

Reviewed 9 September 2020

A romantic meal for 2 on a Saturday night turned into an emotional roller-coaster. First there was a surprise at the 4 unappetising tortellini served as a mains, then even a bigger surprise at the taste of hard uncooked pasta. Memories of when my children...were little and first learned to cook came flooding back (semi-cooked pasta), however seeing that I was expected to pay £18 for 4 uncooked tortellini’s, I asked for them to be cooked. 10 minutes later 3 tortellini arrived soggy in the middle and still with large peripheral area hard to chew. Decided to opt for halibut on a grilled cauliflower base (my other half had it for his supper). 20 minutes later something vaguely resembling my other halves meal had arrived (costing £26). I had a taste and the memories of when I was learning to cook came flooding back. The fillet was fried, not poached like other customers. The fish was hard to chew, tasted bitter of well used oil and a tiny sprinkle of overcooked cauliflower added insult to injury. Sent it back. Complained to the lady who appeared to be in charge at the time. No apologies for the fact that after a day of walking the dales and the moors I was now savagely hungry, but not enough to eat what the chef had churned out. I was offered a cheese plate on the house, thank goodness it was not cooked by the chef and it was lovely. The waiting staff were lovely and thoughtful (earned a well-deserved tip). The person in charge however made faces that I was in the wrong and being awkward. 4 days later and I am still reeling in shock after that experience. The chef needs to either go back to cooking school or join an AGA club as he is incompetent.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
RachaelOwen, Marketing at 1783 Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2020

Thank-you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We are sorry to hear that on this occasion our food did not meet your expectations. Following a conversation with the manager, I have been assured that you were offered alternatives (not charged for) and given...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Burgoyne Hotel
394 reviews
.00 km away
The Buck Hotel
385 reviews
.05 km away
Kearton Country Hotel
159 reviews
3.71 km away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
749 reviews
9.88 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Overton House Cafe and Deli
225 reviews
.10 km away
The Bridge Inn Restaurant
176 reviews
1.26 km away
Two Dales Bakery
60 reviews
.18 km away
The Kings Arms
226 reviews
.08 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Alfresco Adventures
127 reviews
.14 km away
The Bridge Inn, Grinton
66 reviews
1.22 km away
Hazel Brow Farm Visitor Centre
50 reviews
5.30 km away
Aysgarth Falls
1,937 reviews
11.16 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
U2076KFnicolad
18 April 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from RachaelOwen | Property representative |
Hi, Children are welcome at 1783 Bar & Restaurant. We do not have a children's menu as such but can provide smaller portions of all of our menus choices. If this is not suitable then please call us and we will put some... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about 1783 Bar & Restaurant

Yes, 1783 Bar & Restaurant is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

1783 Bar & Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5