We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Dukes Head

Laindon Common Road | Little Burstead, Billericay CM12 9TA, England
+44 1277 651333
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent40%
  • Very good26%
  • Average12%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“scallops” (24 reviews)
“fish cakes” (13 reviews)
“sea bass” (13 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Laindon Common Road | Little Burstead, Billericay CM12 9TA, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (723)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 722 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Reminded me of days gone by typical boozer with guys meeting in the bar for a social drink chat and banter . Good beer and a great menu fir snacks or a full dinner. Scope is fantastic , volumes are exceptional and value for money...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Robert M
Reviewed 1 week ago

Extremely busy and popular restaurant and you are unlikely to have a table without prior booking. Our party of seven (4 adults & 3 children) were booked for 3 o'clock on Sunday and had trouble finding a parking space in their extensive car park. Friendly...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Suzy1Kent
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

We appreciate your positive review about your recent experience with us! We hope to be of service to you again in the future. Best wishes, The Dukes Head, Little Burstead

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

#pubgrub Lunch with friends at this lovely pub in a secluded location. Definitely up market in comparison to the other pubs in the vicinity. The food was excellent, service was great. Modern Decor, atmosphere is very nice, staff helpful and friendly. Slightly more on the...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Jay J
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Jay J, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at The Dukes Head, Little Burstead! We hope to see you soon!

Reviewed 1 week ago

Pretty terrible really. ordered a £17 Wagyu burger which came like a lump of charcoal. Couldn't complain about it as I was on a work Christmas lunch. The service was so slow no one could have a desert and we had to pay at the...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Christopher L
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Christopher L, we regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us, but would appreciate the chance to turn your experience around. Thanks for bringing this matter to our attention. We would like to get more details about this; please reach out to...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Met friends for lunch at The Dukes Head. I used to come here many moons ago so I was looking forward to seeing what it was like now. Lunchtime was busy with a number of large groups celebrating a works Christmas lunch. I had already...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank westiewoowoo
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Westiewoowoo, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at The Dukes Head, Little Burstead! Thanks again for taking the time to leave us this information about your recent visit. Take care!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Came in for Sunday lunch and as expected it was busy. I should have booked! To our delight the team very quickly found us a table and the food and service was excellent Hope to come back again soon (this time I will book!)

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Dan_Tornbom
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dan_tornbom, thanks for your praise and kind comments about our team. We always strive to provide top quality service to every guest, and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience here at The Dukes Head, Little Burstead!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The lobster and crab cakes were fantastic, the burnt crispy seaweed was an unnecessary addition. The twice baked chips were good, as was the burger, though it was very drippy (grease?) we went for the lunch deal, half if the starter options were not available...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank LDRogers
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We appreciate all reviews, and appreciate you giving us the chance to improve by providing us with this feedback. Thanks again for taking the time to leave us this information about your recent visit. Take care!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Dukes head what can I say it’s a lovely pub great atmosphere great staff excellent food one of the nicest pubs I’ve been to in a long time well worth a trip out to it you won’t be disappointed it makes a pleasant change to...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Michael N
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Michael N, we are very happy to have provided you with such a positive experience! We look forward to your next visit! Take care!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A group of us visited The Dukes Head for a celebration and we were not disappointed! We had a fantastic room and table and the service was impeccable. Johnny the manager was incredibly accommodating and made sure everyone had a brilliant time. Food was beautiful...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Sophie F
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We appreciate your positive review about your recent experience with us! Our team strives to deliver an excellent experience, and are glad you found this to be the case during your visit. If you have further needs or questions, please reach out!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Came here for dinner as a party of 6 to celebrate a family members birthday, nice atmosphere but food and service were poor. Had a drink missed off of our order, a sauce specifically requested was missing from a main meal, there was no meal...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank hanbx
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hanbx, we regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us, but would appreciate the chance to turn your experience around. Thanks for bringing this matter to our attention. We would like to get more details about this; please reach out to us...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Campanile Hotel Basildon East London
397 reviews
3.36 km away
Premier Inn Basildon (Festival Park) Hotel
445 reviews
4.03 km away
Holiday Inn Basildon
590 reviews
4.29 km away
Travelodge Basildon
266 reviews
4.34 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Pasha Restaurant Lounge
389 reviews
1.57 km away
The Duke Of York
766 reviews
1.51 km away
Caffe & Cream
91 reviews
1.56 km away
Nearby Attractions
Barleylands Farm and Craft Village
539 reviews
2.37 km away
The Four Seasons Hungry Horse Pub
130 reviews
3.69 km away
Snakes Alive Ltd
39 reviews
2.36 km away
Billericay Brewing
29 reviews
1.71 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Kakakate
26 September 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from LindaL49 | Reviewed this property |
dont think so
0
Votes
Reviewer10013
28 June 2015|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Lorraine W | Reviewed this property |
Hi, yes in the bar area and they have a big seating area outside. Will provide you with a dog water bowl too.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, 有泊車位, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Laindon Common Road | Little Burstead, Billericay CM12 9TA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Billericay
  • Phone Number: +44 1277 651333
  • E-mail
Description
The Dukes Head is a stylish bar, restaurant, and pub located in the town of Billericay, Essex. With a unique dining area and an extensive menu of seasonal delights, this is the perfect place to relax, indulge, and socialise, whatever the occasion. And, with a lovely beer garden, a patio area to the front and a pond to the back, The Dukes Head is the perfect place to sit back and relax with food and drinks on a long summer’s evening or a sunny afternoon. There’s also a stunning barn area located just behind the pub, bar and restaurant, which is perfect for functions, events, and celebrations. Our menu is full of tempting, seasonal dishes encompassing everything from light bites and starters, through to hand made burgers, pizzas, and classic dishes. We’ve also got a dedicated menu for your little ones.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing