We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Dukes Head

Laindon Common Road | Little Burstead, Billericay CM12 9TA, England
+44 1277 651333
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent40%
  • Very good26%
  • Average12%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“fish cakes” (13 reviews)
“scallops” (21 reviews)
“pork” (10 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Laindon Common Road | Little Burstead, Billericay CM12 9TA, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (710)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 709 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Met friends and their dogs and we tried this pub. It has a very friendly, welcoming vibe. Dogs are welcome in the bar too - so no need to worry about the weather either. We picked a lovely sunny day so sat outside on the...More

Thank IanJulie2013
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely pub, spacious. Staff were friendly and happy. We turned away three seperate deliveries of food and/or drink as they got the table wrong. Staff were apologetic, we found it quite amusing so it didnt bother us. Music in the dining area was a bit...More

Thank Annemarie B
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We appreciate your positive review about your recent experience with us! We look forward to your next visit! Take care!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Called in to refresh ourselves with some libations and wittles at lunchtime and was really pleasantly surprised. Great atmosphere, fabulous food and well priced. My Pork Belly with Scallops was superb, wife's pate was lovely. Highly recommended. Only downside is that it is 85 miles...More

Thank DoubleSigma
GeneralManagerA765, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Doublesigma, thank you so much for your positive comments, its brilliant to hear what a fab time you had with us! We always strive to provide top quality service to every guest, and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience here at...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Decide to pop in for a drink was busy and very atmospheric liked it very cosy as was raining outside..

Thank mark l
GeneralManagerA765, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thabk you very much for taking the time to give us a review and thank you for your kind words. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. All the best The Dukes Head Team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited for lunch 3 of us. Liked the decor. Staff friendly and helpful. Lunch was ok nothing special but ok. I had prawn sandwich, my friends had salad. Menu quite good. Would go again and try dinner menu.

Thank Teresa S
GeneralManagerA765, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for the 5 star review, and thank you for the kind words. We hope to welcome yoi back in the near future. All the best The Dukes Head Team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great atmosphere, very helpful staff. There was a separate menu for vegans with a good choice of food. Definitely recommend.

Thank Maddymay14
GeneralManagerA765, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Maddy for th glowing review, lovely to hear you enjoyed yourself. We hope to welcome you back in the very near future. The Dukes Head Team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Been to this restaurant a number of times so a old friend was travelling to see me so decided to go here as we always get a great meal here maybe it’s not so good when there not busy but my friend ordered a pasta...More

Thank s79973
GeneralManagerA765, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good afternoon Im sorry to hear your meal didn’t meet expectations, its strive to consistently provide good quality fresh food, on this occasion we failed you. If there is any other feedback you can give us, please feel free to give us a call on...More

Reviewed 8 September 2018

For starters we had the scallops (which were amazing) and the deep fried cheese which was undercooked and not gooey in the middle. Mains was the Wagyu burger and roast pork belly with crackling. Burger was to small for the bun and for £17 the...More

Thank irvinsg2018
GeneralManagerA765, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Irvinsg2018, we appreciate your honest feedback, as we are always looking for ways to improve. It is extremely disappointing to hear you had such a poor experience upon your latest visit, and can only but apologise profusely. We would love the opportunity to discuss...More

Reviewed 7 September 2018 via mobile

Went here with friends on a Saturday evening. Place was cosy with a lovely atmosphere. Food was excellent and staff couldn’t do enough for us. Was quite busy but had enough space that it didn’t feel overcrowded. Comfortable table and chairs and had a nice...More

Thank karen985
GeneralManagerA765, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Thank you for the lovely review, brilliant to hear you and your party enjoyed your evening with us. We hope to welcome you back in the very near future. The Dukes Head Team

Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

Lunch today. Both Ordered the £9.95 steak sandwich which we have had before. Up came two halves of a small roll, about 5 cm long, no dripping as advertised, tiny slithers of supposedly prime steak and a tiny bit of chutney on the bottom. The...More

Thank hfcastell
GeneralManagerA765, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Im so sorry to hear of the quality of food you had with us, if you could please give me a call on 01277651333 to discuss this further at your conveniance, that would be much appreciated. Kind regards Johnny Whitton Manager

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Campanile Hotel Basildon East London
383 reviews
3.36 km away
Premier Inn Basildon (Festival Park) Hotel
440 reviews
4.03 km away
Holiday Inn Basildon
578 reviews
4.29 km away
Travelodge Basildon
255 reviews
4.34 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Pasha Restaurant Lounge
374 reviews
1.57 km away
The Duke Of York
758 reviews
1.51 km away
Caffe & Cream
89 reviews
1.56 km away
Nearby Attractions
Imperial Bird of Prey Academy
291 reviews
2.42 km away
Barleylands Farm and Craft Village
531 reviews
2.37 km away
The Four Seasons Hungry Horse Pub
126 reviews
3.69 km away
Snakes Alive Ltd
39 reviews
2.36 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Kakakate
26 September 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Linda L | Reviewed this property |
dont think so
0
Votes
Reviewer10013
28 June 2015|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Lorraine W | Reviewed this property |
Hi, yes in the bar area and they have a big seating area outside. Will provide you with a dog water bowl too.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, 有泊車位, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Kids, Romantic, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Laindon Common Road | Little Burstead, Billericay CM12 9TA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Billericay
  • Phone Number: +44 1277 651333
  • E-mail
Description
The Dukes Head is a stylish bar, restaurant, and pub located in the town of Billericay, Essex. With a unique dining area and an extensive menu of seasonal delights, this is the perfect place to relax, indulge, and socialise, whatever the occasion. And, with a lovely beer garden, a patio area to the front and a pond to the back, The Dukes Head is the perfect place to sit back and relax with food and drinks on a long summer’s evening or a sunny afternoon. There’s also a stunning barn area located just behind the pub, bar and restaurant, which is perfect for functions, events, and celebrations. Our menu is full of tempting, seasonal dishes encompassing everything from light bites and starters, through to hand made burgers, pizzas, and classic dishes. We’ve also got a dedicated menu for your little ones.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing