We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pictures of New Place Hotel - Shirrell Heath Photos

Shirrell Heath: Pictures

From Review : Service needs to improve,but spotless tiny rooms! of New Place Hotel
1044
Service needs to improve,but spotless tiny rooms!
Service needs to improve,but spotless tiny rooms!
Wedding anniversary weekend
Poor
Our freshly made bed
Wedding anniversary weekend
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests 
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Expedia
US$66
View Deal
Agoda.com
Trip.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
TheFussyDentist wrote a review Sep 2018
London, United Kingdom387 contributions33 helpful votes
I had called the previous day (Saturday) in the afternoon to confirm my booking ,the phone rang out. I always have a bad feeling when I get an unmanned reception. When I called later the phone was promptly picked up and I checked in. I requested for a booking for afternoon
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
Response from rnap_uk, General Manager at New Place Hotel
Responded 25 Sep 2018
Dear TheFussyDentist, Thank you for taking the time to complete this review. With all the brilliant feedback we receive, it is always disappointing to learn of a less than perfect stay, but we like to listen and improve. I can see you had a Groupon booking, at £109 for a night’s stay, including a 2 course a la carte dinner and breakfast for 2 people, booked into a standard room in a bedroom block next to the Manor house. There are a few points in here we have great plans for, with lots of brilliant changes we have in place. One of those upgrades is the phone system, I completely agree it is not good for any of us when a call is not answered. It is not because it is not manned, but the current system cannot divert or sound engaged, so if we are on another call it continues to ring. This is being fixed very soon with a complete exchange system upgrade. Normally the team are very prompt at answering calls, but we need to be able to divert calls better if already on another line. Afternoon tea is currently only pre-booked, this is due to space we serve afternoon tea in, as often they are used for Weddings or private events, due to this we do afternoon tea booking on a pre-ordered basis via the sales team. That said, we thank you for the feedback and are looking at options for this. Really glad you found the room was spotless and the cleaning staff were cheerful and polite. Indeed, we have just invested £1.3m on the bedroom refurbishment upgrades along with lots of other exciting plans ahead. The room you had was a small room, it was a standard double room in one of our annex blocks. These rooms are cheaper and priced accordingly, as per your Groupon offer. I am sorry for the complaint and that this was not clearer. We offer different room types and different rates. We also have plans to introduce room into the manor house in the not too distant future. It is Grade 1 listed, so takes some time - but we are committed to making this happen. We are sorry for the room tray, fully agree this is not good enough and will be dealt with. It is unusual and a one off, and I am sorry that this was the case. I am glad to know my Food and Beverage Manager, Nicu, spoke to you personally and waived the bill. Thank you for the kind comments about the good service and great food in the restaurant. In reference to the pre-auth, yes, this allows charges to be made and is very normal practice to hold an amount to allow room charges. If the same card is used to settle on the check out, then the money is released straight away. We do not personally hold these funds, it is reverted by your bank if not used. Of course guests can pay on arrival and no need to pre-auth, but to allow the room service charge we need to do this for payment on check out. It seems the issue may be that we didn't charge for the room service, so the funds now need to be released back to you. We feel the Groupon offer is such incredible value and the descriptions are clear, but we will look at this to see if need to make any changes. Everything we do at New Place is with our valued guests in mind, it is disappointing we did not meet your expectations and there was short fallings on this occasion, but we welcome all feedback and do hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Richard and team
Read more
Been to New Place Hotel? Share your experience!