We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Highview Hotel

Save
Share
Traveller (134)
Room & Suite (46)
Dining (19)
Overview
Hotel website
E-mail hotel
P.O. Box 94, Karatu Tanzania See on map
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
3 Star accommodation
Additional information
Visit Hotel Website
Offers from Highview Hotel
Special Offer: Package Deal
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (255)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveller rating
56
59
35
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
56
59
35
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshotel is situatedhigh viewnice hotelwifi workstwo nightsrecommend this hotellunch boxsurrounding landscapepool barnearby national parksnice sitting areaseparate tentplenty of hot water for showerslake manyarasoupstea and coffeepacked lunch
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 160 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel was a perfect “stopover” hotel but I would not choose to spend longer here. On the first night we had no hot water (cold showers!) and two of the lights were not working properly. It was late and we had been travelling all...More

Thank Mandy S
Response from Zainab A, Owner at Highview HotelResponded 4 days ago

Dear Guest, Please accept our heartfelt appreciation for choosing Zara Tours during your amazing journey in Tanzania. We highly appreciate your amazing feedback from your stay with us and we are very thankful for your overall recommendation over our work, our team, and our services....More

Hotel's Favourite
Reviewed 9 October 2017

I wish we had stayed here for longer. The hotel and the pool were terrific. After hours in a hot car and exciting (& dusty) safari, Highview was a much needed respite The pool was glorious after our long day.More

Thank Elizabeth M
Response from Zainab A, Owner at Highview HotelResponded 11 October 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for this feedback from your stay with us, we are very glad that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed our services especially the pool and everything else you enjoyed. We look forward to host you again as you...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed two nights at this hotel. The rooms are ok, not fantastic but you get what you pay for. The corner rooms upstairs have a great view of the surrounding landscape. The food was good. And especially the dinner outside was a wonderful experience....More

Thank Vegard H
Response from Zainab A, Owner at Highview HotelResponded today

Dear Guest, Please accept our heartfelt appreciation for choosing Zara Tours during your amazing journey in Tanzania. We highly appreciate your amazing feedback from your stay with us and we are very thankful for your overall recommendation over our work, our team, and our services....More

Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the Highview Hotel for 4 nights whilst on safari. It is a decent hotel which caters for safari travellers. The staff are friendly and helpful, the food is nice not a great deal of choice but we enjoyed every meal and they...More

Thank TracyH537
Response from Zainab A, Owner at Highview HotelResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest, It was a pleasure hosting you at the Highview Hotel and we are all glad that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you so much for the recommendation of our services especially the food, room, internet, laundry and most of all our staff. Thank...More

Reviewed 5 August 2018

We stayed in the outbuildings, not in the main house and the room very really luxurious, with balcony, views, sofa. Coffeemaker in room and buffet dinner and breakfast. - Alone for their coffee its worth the stay. The pool and bar looked nice and not...More

Thank Matilda F
Response from Zainab A, Owner at Highview HotelResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest, It was a pleasure hosting you at the Highview Hotel and we are all glad that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you so much for the recommendation of our services especially the food, room, internet, laundry and most of all our staff. Thank...More

View more reviews
About
Description
Located at high elevation above Karatu town, Highview Hotel offers a magnificient view over the surrounding hills, local coffee farms and the forests of the Southern Ngorongoro Conservation area. The hotel is ...More the ideal base for excursion trips to the Ngorongoro Crater, Lake Manyara National Park and Lake Eyasi area. Longer trips include Tarangire, Serengeti, and Lake Natron. The hotel, which opened in 2006 is modern, comfortable and offers all kinds of contemporary amenities. Less
Hotel class
Contact Information
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Restaurant
Pool
Free Internet
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Air Conditioning
Concierge
Laundry Service
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Beachfront
Room Service
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Hotel class
Contact Information
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
20
Price range
US$260 - US$332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
Tanzania > Arusha Region > Karatu
Hotel class
Contact Information
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
20
Price range
US$260 - US$332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
Tanzania > Arusha Region > Karatu
Photos
Traveller (134)
Room & Suite (46)
Dining (19)
Pool & Beach (7)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (3)
Family and Play Areas (2)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 3 nearby hotels
Green Hills Lodge
4 reviews
2.02 km away
Crater Rim View
48 reviews
5.54 km away
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge
687 reviews
18.63 km away
Lake Manyara Wildlife Lodge
148 reviews
19.09 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 7 restaurants in Karatu
Lilac Cafe
28 reviews
2.89 km away
Cafe Kabisa
32 reviews
23.23 km away
Mambo Cafe Ngorongoro
9 reviews
6.55 km away
Happy Days
10 reviews
2.37 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 6 attractions in Karatu
Lake Manyara
281 reviews
22.34 km away
Ngorongoro Crater
3,686 reviews
45.07 km away
Empakaai Crater
102 reviews
14.10 km away
African Galleria
63 reviews
18.79 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
TracyH537
25 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Zainab A | Property representative |
For Tanzania, there are two associated plug types, types D and G. Plug type D is the plug which has three round pins in a triangular pattern and plug type G is the plug which has two flat parallel pins and a grounding pin... More
1
Vote
TracyH537
3 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Leif H | Reviewed this property |
Hi We took a shower and put on some leisure clothes. Shorts and a short sleeved shirt. No fancy at all.
1
Vote
Google Translation
sid69
1 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Piers G | Reviewed this property |
There was a hairdryer in the room. Wi-Fi is only in the lobby area which is a separate building from the one with the rooms. The bandwidth is only really good enough for doing emails
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Lodge rooms"
Read review
"Stay at Kudu Lodge over the road."
Read review
"Ask for the lodges. Lovely to eat down there."
Read review
"Rooms of Chameleon Travel No 1"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing