We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Navarinou st., Kalamata 241 00 Greece
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (409)
Room & Suite (115)
Dining (28)

About

#5 of 27 hotels in Kalamata
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Filoxenia, the perfect Family Getaway in Kalamata. With gorgeous beach and crystal clear waters right in the front, and plenty to do within stroller-pushing distance along an exotic riviera with palm trees to Kalamata town, magnificent Filoxenia is the perfect family getaway. Located on the beachfront of Kalamata, under the magnificent Taygetos Mountain. The Messinian Gulf with its crystal clear azure-blue waters and 300 meters of smooth pebble beach is ideal for luxury holidays in the Peloponnese.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Tennis court
Babysitting
Internet
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Evening entertainment
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Baggage storage
Concierge
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Private beach
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Family
Languages Spoken
Greek
593Reviews19Q+A70Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 206
  • 209
  • 123
  • 37
  • 18
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
A G wrote a review Oct 2022
London, United Kingdom1 contribution
I wouldn't normally write reviews but was moved to do so by the exceptional service that I received from Chef Athanasios Moukos. Despite being a coeliac for some time when booking I didn't really think through the half-board buffet arrangement for meals. Buffets increase the risk of cross-contamination between dishes but in this case, each dish had its own serving implements which diners respected. High-risk items such as the breads and desserts were displayed on their own islands. However, there was no allergen labelling of dishes but Chef Athanasios came out from his busy kitchen every evening and took his time to talk me through, in English, each dish and explained which did or did not contain gluten and offered to adapt any dishes in the kitchen where that was possible. Gluten-free bread and muffins were provided and Chef even went to the trouble of adapting desserts specially for me on a couple of occasions. Chef Athanasios simply considered that he was doing his job but for me, it meant that I had a relaxing and stress-free stay. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from George Kalantzis, Guest Services / Front Office at Grecotel Filoxenia
Responded 18 Oct 2022
Dear ag659, Warm Greetings from Grecotel Filoxenia! Thank you for writing and sharing such a kind review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent experience in our Resort. We are delighted you found our service exceptional and especially you recognized the care and professionalism of our Chef. We have communicated all your kind words to Mr. Moukos as well as to the Management. We will be happy to welcome you again in the future. Yours truly, Grecotel Filoxenia Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Womble422 wrote a review Oct 2022
London525 contributions221 helpful votes
+1
We stayed 3 night after putting our boat to bed for the winter. We paid about £135 a night. Our “side view of the sea” was amazing. Much better than we expected. We were on the 1st floor. Higher up would have been even better. The room had a very creaky bed and none of tbe furniture matched. Our bed was a 4 poster but with no curtains. Balcony nice but very close to next door’s - higher up they have screens between We like a bath so no problem with the bathroom. Pool - we only tried the outdoor one. It was cooler than the sea. We had lying out beds on tbe beach but they were the standard mesh ones, not the thick cushioned ones shown in the hotel pictures. Lounger chairs round pool had some padding. Towels provided every day as you wanted them. So I would give this a 5 if it wasn’t for the bed. Also, we noticed that the hotel was offering free 1/2 board for stays of 3 or more nights. We enquired and were given it. The cost would be €30 per person. This is breakfast and buffet dinner. The first night was a disaster. We went early (730) as the reception lady said that Greeks eat late. We got caught up with 2 coach loads of elderly Greeks so the queue was awful. There was a big salad bar but mainly with separate ingredients- eg tomato, pepper, cucumber. Lots of dips and some dolma, cheese, salami. Same each night. Hot food was a mixture, same fish (perch) each night - in a different sauce. Chicken, meat balls, pasta. One night there was octopus (very good) another squid. It was ok but bland and not that hot. Breakfast was nice. Lots of salad and fresh fruit plus hot food - again not very hot. Lunch snacks were expensive - double or triple what you pay in a local taverna eg €14 for Greek salad, €14 for a club sandwich. There was no carafe wine and teb cheapest bottle was €18 So again, it was a 3 not a 5 for food and drink. I would stay again as it is a lovely location. But I would eat out rather than pay for 1/2 board. As it was free / include. we ate in the hotel. I wouldn’t pay €30 per person per day. We ate out locally for €30 -€60 for 2 including wine - much nicer food.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from George Kalantzis, Guest Services / Front Office at Grecotel Filoxenia
Responded 11 Oct 2022
Dear Womble422, Greetings from Kalamata & Filoxenia Hotel! Please allow us to share our gratitude for such a kind and thorough review of your recent experience with us. We are glad we offered a lovely experience overall which made you wanting to stay here again. We are very sorry for the incidents you mentioned during your meals which we already examine carefully in order to be avoided from happening in the future. We wish you all the best! Yours truly, Grecotel Filoxenia Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
VitallyGlobal wrote a review Oct 2022
24 contributions5 helpful votes
This was our first time in a Grecotel. The website looks good and we wanted to stay some time in Kalamata during our roadtrip. We were very disappointed. What we did like was the Garden area (green, lovely trees and well kept) and the reception staff was really friendly and helpful. The hotel is directly on the beach and most rooms have a side view to the sea. What we did not like - The price, too much for what you get. We had way better hotels on our roadtrip for less. - Everything looks outdated (except the garden) - The room is outdated, it looks tired and the air roosters blow a weird rotten smell into the room - The bathroom has a bath with a shower and a plastic shower curtain. I think I have not seen one in 20 years but here it was in a so called 4 star hotel. - The breakfast buffet has many options but it lacks in fresh veggies and variety of fruit. No eggs to order. - There is always loud music in the lobby and in the restaurant during breakfast - There are no tea or coffee making facilities in the room - There is no insect screen for the balcony door so you need to close it early evening
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from George Kalantzis, Guest Services / Front Office at Grecotel Filoxenia
Responded 12 Oct 2022
Dear VitallyGlobal, Warm Greetings from Filoxenia & the beautiful city of Kalamata! Thank you for choosing our Resort for your stay as well as for posting your impressions on TripAdvisor. We would like to reassure you that all of your comments have been noted carefully and have passed to the Management for evaluation. One of our main goals here in Filoxenia is to continuously improve the services and the overall experience we offer to our guests and your feedback guides us to that direction. We offer you our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused durin your time here with us and we hope to have the pleasure to accommodate you again in the future. Wishing you a lovely day! Yours respectfully, Grecotel Filoxenia Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mike wrote a review Oct 2022
Santa Clarita, California3 contributions1 helpful vote
Pulling up to this hotel, my girlfriend and I both thought this can’t be it. The pictures online are so heavily photoshopped this did not look like the property. It was empty when pulling up but I walked in and it looked old and dingy I asked to see the room first. This place reminded me of a retirement home. When I saw the room there was no way we were going to stay there especially since it was not as pictures and that is not what I paid for. If you are looking for a nice hotel, this is not it. I then left and asked for a refund which I am in despute of now but they are refusing due to a non cancellation policy. Policies work two ways and the hotel did not provide their end of the agreement - not as portrayed at all.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Stay else where. The Horizon Blu down the street was 10x better for nearly the same price
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from George Kalantzis, Guest Services / Front Office at Grecotel Filoxenia
Responded 11 Oct 2022
Dear Mike Harcarik, Greetings from Grecotel Filoxenia! Seizing the opportunity given by your review, we would like to make some clarifications regarding your reservation. From the moment you arrived and stepped into the Lobby you requested to cancel the reservation because our premises seemed old to you. You did not even want to see your room at the first place. After our colleague's proposal you went to see your room but you saw it only from the doorway. Upon your return to the Front Desk, you asked to cancel your reservation and our colleagues advised you to speak directly with the online agency you booked initially. No refund was mentioned or confirmed by us. The agency contacted us to request a refund with the justification that you could not travel due to illness! We explained to the agency what happened and rejected the request. Policies do go both ways and flexibility is applied when there is a serious reason to do so. We wish you all the best for the future! Kind regards, Grecotel Filoxenia Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Journey24212869456 wrote a review Oct 2022
2 contributions
Amazing holiday 25/9/22 lovely spotlessly clean hotel room 106 the best room with pool view and close to the beach, George pool and beach barman is amazing friendly helpful and a very hard worker - thank you (even though you forgot the nuts) 😂Harris the pool lifeguard so funny and very knowledgable for a Scunthorpe supporter! Only thing that was of poor quality was the food we were B&B only but it was very repetitive and not the best quality! Luckily we ate out every evening We had a fabulous stay in a perfect location and will definitely return soon! Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Take sea shoes as a rocky beach making getting in and out of the water a bit tricky but so worth...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from George Kalantzis, Guest Services / Front Office at Grecotel Filoxenia
Responded 5 Oct 2022
Dear Journey24212869456, Good morning from Filoxenia! We would like to thank you for such a wonderful review. Your kind words have been communicated with George, Harris and the rest of the Staff. Wishing you all the best! Kind regards, Grecotel Filoxenia Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KLEOPATRA T wrote a review Aug 2022
London, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
Wonderful hotel with very professional and helpful staff. I would like to thank Anastasia and George at the spa of the hotel for their excellent services. The hotel is clean with great food and amazing beach. We will definitely visit it again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from George Kalantzis, Guest Services / Front Office at Grecotel Filoxenia
Responded 11 Aug 2022
Dear kleotriant, Good morning from Grecotel Filoxenia in Kalamata! Thank you for sharing your impressions from your recent stay in our Resort. We are delighted to read that you had a relaxing vacation. But we were more than happy when you mentioned about the professionalism and efficiency of our staff. Anastasia and George have been informed about your special reference to them. Wishing you a lovely summer ahead! Yours truly, Grecotel Filoxenia Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Katerina wrote a review Aug 2022
Athens, Greece5 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
In desperate need of renovation while being really overpriced.. the room was really dirty: towels were yellow instead of white and the floor was really dirty too. Tiles were cracked in the bathroom and many common areas and the bed was damaged. All common areas were really dirty.. on the positive side location is nice and staff is friendly. Pictures on the website are really misleading, don’t trust it!!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Do not trust the pictures on the website they are extremely misleading…
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from George Kalantzis, Guest Services / Front Office at Grecotel Filoxenia
Responded 6 Aug 2022
Dear Happiness50482344813, Greetings from Grecotel Filoxenia & Kalamata! Thank you for writing a review based on your experience from your stay in our Resort. It is difficult to read that your stay was not up to our standards or your expectations, and we are disappointed we were not informed on time to resolve any issues prior to your departure. That is why we kindly ask you to contact us and provide us with more information about the room you have booked and stayed at as well as the period you stayed in Grecotel Filoxenia. Looking forward to hearing from you. Please enjoy the rest of your summer holidays! Yours respectfully, Grecotel Filoxenia Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Falcon wrote a review Jul 2022
London, United Kingdom27 contributions4 helpful votes
Last time the place was renovated??? God knows when!!!!🤔🤔🤔 I think when Carter was the president in USA. Kind and helpful staff ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ cleanness 3 1/2 ⭐️⭐️⭐️, Food ⭐️ if you wish to go on diet on your holiday it’s the right place, the same food for lunch and dinner, 7 days a week the same thing, poor quality. Drinks 🍹 ⭐️⭐️⭐️ Prices ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ was the only real 5 star. View and scenery ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️. I will absolutely go back to kalamata again but will choose a different accommodation and Hotel 🏨
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: You can get better value for the money
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from George Kalantzis, Guest Services / Front Office at Grecotel Filoxenia
Responded 31 Jul 2022
Dear _aquadentist, Warm Greetings from Kalamata & Grecotel Filoxenia! Your review is well received and highly appreciated. Thank you for sharing it with the rest of TripAdvisor community. We have noted all your comments in order to define the elements we can improve. We try hard to accommodate all needs and cover all tastes and your feedback really help us to reach our goal. Wishing you a great summer ahead! Yours truly, Grecotel Filoxenia Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Panos B wrote a review Jul 2022
Athens, Greece11 contributions1 helpful vote
1 star for the pets policy at the beach bar of the hotel. We have visited the place every year for the last 5 years, along with our trained dog, always on a leash. This year we were suddenly informed that dogs are not allowed on the hotel beach bar equipment... Meanwhile when the talk about Beach equipment they actually mean the floor deck on the beach 😂😂 In an era when the entire Europe is becoming more n more dog friendly Grecotel in Kalamata will not accept dogs on leash on the beach. Have to admit, that the personnel was very polite through the entire communication, still this policy belongs to the previous century. We ve heard from other people that the rooms are poorly renovated but didn't expect the same for the Management mentality. Next time in kalamata we will visit businesses with a dog friendly approach.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from George Kalantzis, Guest Services / Front Office at Grecotel Filoxenia
Responded 29 Jul 2022
Dear panosb995, Greetings from Grecotel Filoxenia & Ipanema Bar-Restaurant! We would like to inform you that we received your review with great surprise as the Hotel's pet policy only applies to the rooms and public areas of the Hotel. Your dog stayed with you throughout your visit as all the previous years. Our colleagues just clarified that pets are not allowed at the dining area of our Beach Bar, clearly for hygiene reasons. Additionally, there is a specific area between the deck and the beach where there is shade and water for visitors' pets. We believe your review is unfair for our Beach Bar and our staff which goes above and beyond to accommodate all kinds of requests. Wishing you to enjoy your summer! Kind regards, Grecotel Filoxenia Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PeripateticJohn wrote a review Jan 2022
Athens, Greece98 contributions120 helpful votes
Stayed here with my family on a one-day visit back in May 2018 to attend a christening. The hotel is part of a high-quality chain and offered everything one would expect. It is at the end of Kalamata beach, with direct access to the sea, the rooms are nicely decorated and the service impecable. We very much enjoyed it - probably more than any other hotel in this - not so sure if I like it so much-city.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$133 - US$219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
filoxenia hotel kalamata
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Filoxenia Hotel
LOCATION
GreecePeloponneseMessenia RegionKalamata
NUMBER OF ROOMS
188
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GRECOTEL FILOXENIA - Updated 2022 Prices & Hotel Reviews (Kalamata, Greece)

Frequently Asked Questions about Grecotel Filoxenia
Which popular attractions are close to Grecotel Filoxenia?
Nearby attractions include Crazybloom Kalamata Official (1.0 km), Crazy Bloom Water Park (1.0 km), and Ipanema Sea Bar (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Grecotel Filoxenia?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at Grecotel Filoxenia?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Grecotel Filoxenia?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Grecotel Filoxenia?
Conveniently located restaurants include Yiamas Gastro Bar, Secada Beach & Resto Bar, and Trilogia.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Grecotel Filoxenia?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Grecotel Filoxenia have airport transportation?
Yes, Grecotel Filoxenia offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Grecotel Filoxenia?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Grecotel Filoxenia offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Grecotel Filoxenia?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Ancient Messini (12.8 km).
Does Grecotel Filoxenia have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.