We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
D184 Cathkin Park, Winterton 3340 South Africa
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (170)
Room & Suite (66)
Pool & Beach (15)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 26/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Cayley Lodge
Updated 26/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 20 Speciality lodging in Winterton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Cayley Lodge is located in the central Drakensberg, overlooking the Cathkin Peak and Champagne Castle ranges. The Bell Park Dam lies within easy access from the resort grounds, providing both a wonderful view as well being the center of many of the leisure activities. Our on-site staff will help make every bit of your holiday as comfortable as possible and you can find them at reception. We also have the following facilities on the property: Daily at Cayley mini shop open daily Steam Café coffee shop open daily Bell and Whistle bar/restaurant open daily
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Canoeing
Game room
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
BBQ facilities
Internet
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Coffee shop
Golf course
Mini golf
Fishing
Table tennis
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Show more
Room features
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Safe
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Zulu
170Reviews7Q+A40Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 48
  • 64
  • 30
  • 17
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Atticus wrote a review 10 Oct
Johannesburg, South Africa9 contributions
Arrived at the lodge and was assigned a unit that was not cleaned. I highly recommend not wasting your time going to this lodge. It does not provide any value for money nor does it leave one feeling relaxed. To ensure a fair / unbiased review, here are pros and cons of staying here. Pros: 1) Breathtaking views of the Cathkin Peak and Champagne Castle mountain ranges 2) Hammock, trampoline and pool on site Cons: 1) Cleaning staff are slow 2) All appliances (iron, ironing board etc) are in terrible quality 3) Bathroom bins were all broken 4) Wifi is useless 5) The games room hardly had any games in there In summary, I would NOT RECOMMEND staying at this venue.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Tony C wrote a review Jun 2021
Howick, South Africa178 contributions66 helpful votes
As some friends invited us to visit them while they were in a timeshare at Cayley Lodge, we booked in for one night at Cayley Mountain resort. At the outset, I should say that we are pensioners and did not take advantage of the numerous activities on offer, and I would recommend this resort to people with young children. Pictures on the website show stunning views, but we were put into room 32b which overlooked a car park. The unit was spotlessly clean, but had a bar fridge which shone a light onto the bed and there is a side window with a louvre blind which lets in the light, onto the bed, from a powerful outside light. We had booked on a B and B basis, but left in the early morning as we were both wide awake. I would not dissuade anyone younger from visiting this resort, but I would recommend checking on the site of the accommodation. Incidentally, the unit occupied by our friends was very nice and overlooked Bell dam. The unit also had a huge indoor fireplace, and they thoroughly enjoyed their week there. If visiting, be prepared for an atrocious access road, although that is not unusual in South Africa! TonyC Howick.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Avoid room 32b
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Beekman Marketing Department Beekman, Accounting / Finance at Cayley Lodge
Responded 7 Jun 2021
Dear Tony, Thank you for your review. We are sorry that your booked suite failed to meet your personal expectations, especially as you were only staying at our resort for a single evening. We greatly appreciate the fact that you have nevertheless endorsed our resort to potential guests. Kind regards Cayley Mountain Resort
Read more
Sapphire Coast & Drakensberg Guide wrote a review Dec 2020
Warner Beach, South Africa10 contributions
Nice place. Excellent activities such as hiking, horse riding. Great for family or solo stay. Nice views. Staff are friendly. Accommodation is good. Grounds are kept neat and tidy. Put Put and children play area. Motor bikes and motor boats do sometimes make unpleasant noise.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Beekman Marketing Department Beekman, Accounting / Finance at Cayley Lodge
Responded 9 Dec 2020
Dear R D, Thank you for reviewing our beautiful resort. We do indeed offer a selection of exciting onsite activities to keep our guests entertained, whilst our stunning Drakensberg location brings peace of mind for those seeking a restful holiday break. Kind regards Cayley Lodge
Read more
Karyn G wrote a review Sep 2020
124 contributions37 helpful votes
We had a lovely time at Cayley Lodge. The resort offers daily horse riding which my daughter enjoyed. The mountain itself is very peaceful and because we were there in early January we were treated to spectacular lightning storms which lit up the mountains and were rather breathtaking.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Beekman Marketing Department Beekman, Accounting / Finance at Cayley Lodge
Responded 17 Sep 2020
Dear Karyn, Thank you very much for your feedback on your recent family holiday at our mountain retreat. We agree that witnessing a storm whilst in the Drakensberg is a special treat and our friendly horses extend their greetings to your daughter. Kind regards Cayley Lodge
Read more
Meera wrote a review Aug 2020
Gauteng, South Africa46 contributions42 helpful votes
Situated in Central drakensberg, fabulous view of berg views from our apartment. Rooms had soft furnishing. The interior of the apartment was built in with a fireplace and braai area. Stunning location and breath taking views. Has a spa... Body bliss spa and restaurant. There's so much activities that you can enjoy. Horse back riding.. Aromatherapy massages, zip line, hiking, squad biking and white water rafting. Our rooms over looked catkin peak.. There's a dam on site, where you can fish for trout. Amazing experience.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Beekman Marketing Department Beekman, Accounting / Finance at Cayley Lodge
Responded 17 Sep 2020
Dear Mira, Many thanks for your informative review of your recent stay at our resort. We are thrilled that our combination of fine accommodation and a variety of fun filled on site guest activities made for an enjoyable holiday. Kind regards Cayley Lodge
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$72 - US$159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalDrakensberg RegionWinterton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Cayley Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Cayley Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Ushaka Horse Trails (3.0 km) and Cathkin Equestrian Center (6.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Cayley Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, a lounge, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Cayley Lodge?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Cayley Lodge?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Cayley Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Cayley Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Valley Bakery, The Drakensberg Chocolate Memories, and Scrumpy Jacks.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Cayley Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Cayley Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Afrikaans, and Zulu.
Does Cayley Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.