We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Turtle Bay Road, Watamu 80202 Kenya
E-mail hotel
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Expedia
ZenHotels.com
eDreams
Agoda.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (427)
Dining (64)
Room & Suite (32)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 06/08/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Kobe Suite Resort
Updated 06/08/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 42 hotels in Watamu
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice

See why so many travellers make Kobe Suite Resort their hotel of choice when visiting Watamu. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a romantic setting with an array of amenities designed for travellers like you.

The rooms offer a minibar, a refrigerator, and air conditioning, and getting online is possible, as free wifi is available, allowing you to rest and refresh with ease.

Kobe Suite Resort features 24 hour front desk, a concierge, and room service. In addition, as a valued Kobe Suite Resort guest, you can enjoy a pool and breakfast that are available on-site. Guests arriving by vehicle have access to free parking.

While staying in Watamu, you can check out a popular Mediterranean restaurant like Amandina, which is serving up some great dishes.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Kobe Suite Resort as you experience all of the things Watamu has to offer.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Diving
Airport transportation
Spa
Street parking
Public wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Snorkelling
Fishing
Car hire
Taxi service
Full body massage
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Sofa
Minibar
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Bidet
VIP room facilities
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Italian
269Reviews12Q+A21Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 227
  • 25
  • 5
  • 6
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
mermaid1981 wrote a review 14 Aug
Nairobi, Kenya49 contributions31 helpful votes
The resort it located on a very nice Watamu beach, 30 min drive from Malindi airport. The rooms are very nice, clean and spacious and the cleaning staff very friendly and attentive. The 2 pools are big and clean, there is an option of a massage at the resort.The staff is general very friendly, up to a few exceptions.The restaurant is open two times per day for for lunch and dinner time. According to the reviews the restaurant food was supossed to delicious.Except for the abundant and delicilous breakfast, the a la carte was a big dissapointment. The reception staff has a lack of interest and knowledge in giving the information or selling the activities closeby and comes over as cold and desintersted. Same for management. That was unfortunately also the general impression of the resort as only the italian guests were greeted and the rest just got a cold welcome and here is your room greeting. The place is very nice, but a heartfelt attitude of just a few people could actually make u feel welcome.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Stephen C wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
We stayed in the luxury Garden suite for a long weekend and it was simply superb. Starting with the suite, it was spacious, luxurious, and spotlessly clean. I have lived and worked in Africa for 11 years and this was by far the best suite I have stayed in. The resort is quiet and relaxing, with beautiful views of the beach. The food was outstanding with a daily special that did not disappoint, spaghetti with clams was the highlight. The staff were attentive and very friendly and the management were so helpful. I will return without a doubt and I can thoroughly recommend it to anyone thinking of visiting the Kenyan coastal area.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: ground floor garden suites were my favorite.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Vanessa S wrote a review Feb 2022
East Sussex, United Kingdom27 contributions1 helpful vote
Kobe Suite Resort is a beautiful sanctuary on the Indian Ocean. We stayed in a garden suite on the ground floor which was really well appointed and very comfortable. It was lovely having access to the swimming pool right outside our room. The food at Kobe is delicious - we loved all the fresh fish and seafood - the barracuda and fish tacos were very special! The staff are welcoming and genuinely lovely people who go out of their way to ensure your stay is memorable. Federico and Beatrice manage the hotel with quiet efficiency and a friendly manner. We really enjoyed the location right on the beach - the rockpooling was very special and so encouraging to see so many species of colourful reef fish in the nurseries. Kobe is a truly special place and I am sure we will be visiting for many years to come. Thank you to everyone for making our holiday one we will never forget.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Caro M wrote a review Feb 2022
Horstead, United Kingdom61 contributions30 helpful votes
+1
This hotel is wonderful and as advertised. Clean & attractive rooms overlooking pools or the sea. Delicious food in the outside restaurant by the sea. Right by the beautiful white sand beach where you can swim, paddle or kite surf. I recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: No Wi-Fi in the bedrooms but you can get it by the pools or in restaurant.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
hcb81 wrote a review Feb 2022
London, United Kingdom103 contributions60 helpful votes
+1
I had a fantastic time staying here. The accommodation was clean, stylish and spacious. The pool areas were lovely with really comfy sun beds, I loved the sofa style ones. The restaurant was excellent, some of the best food I have had in Kenya. Try the octopus, the cheesecake and the black cherry ice cream!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Wolfgang S wrote a review Feb 2022
Mondsee, Austria96 contributions68 helpful votes
We stayed together with our adult kids end of the year for a couple of nights at Kobe and liked it very much. Most friendly staff, clean big rooms and excellent italian food!! Good resort to come down and relax, easy going to the beach,.....
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Amanda wrote a review Dec 2021
Oxford, United Kingdom63 contributions33 helpful votes
If you are looking for excellent food and some of the best service I have seen in the country, then the Kobe Restaurant is where you should be. We dined there twice because of how pleased we were with all aspects of our dining experience. From the moment you enter the gate, you are greeted properly and the service provided throughout is very genuine and professional. The food is absolutely delicious and the chef is extremely accommodating towards any requests which I truly appreciated. A big thank you to both Saidi and Simon who served my family and I- you each respectively made our experience at Kobe exceed the expectations we had. A big thank you once again and I look forward to returning soon!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Alexandra wrote a review Dec 2021
3 contributions1 helpful vote
I have visit a lot of hotels and even if u were not a guest at the hotel you could eat otherwise it was mentionied vefore. In this particullarly restau we have been eating for almost a week, acting politly and always spend money. The restaurant was always empty and in order not to take a table we were sitting at the sofas. But it has always been a very angry Lady in the reception, so unpolite to The national staff, and even if the restau didnt have any guests, she always almost screaming "nooooo". I really got surprise how rude a person can be especially in a place like this. I feel sorry for the staff Working There and I really dont support such attitude. I really dont recommed that place due to this oversitting rude unpolite italian lady the reception. Unaccepteble. And I regret that i didnt give the feedvack to The manager. She can be rude to us, i can take it, but when it Come to The staff, i dont support that.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Federico Bertoni, General Manager at Kobe Suite Resort
Responded 8 Dec 2021
Good afternoon Alexandra, I am very sorry if you felt that I was rude and unpolite with you, it is not at all what I meant to be. I am aware that today was not the first time you were visiting us, but unfortunately due to last minute problems (our system is down due to the Safaricom line cut) we couldn't allow any guests from outside to take lunch here at Kobe. I really don't know what you refer to when you say that I was screaming 'noooo', it is not who I am, and if you ask the staff of Kobe, they will confirm it too. There is nothing to feel sorry about. Again, sorry if you felt I was angry and unpolite, and thank you for taking the time to review your experience. It is really important to receive any kind of feedback, as there is always room to improve. I wish you a very good day. Best Regards Beatrice
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
diplojohn wrote a review Nov 2021
Johannesburg, South Africa74 contributions17 helpful votes
We visited Kobe Suites on the advice of friends and we're really glad we took their suggestion. From airport pickup to the last minute, everything was tops. Every section of the hotel (food and beverage, reception, maintenance, pool, housekeeping) is clearly hitting their marks. The food menu was well-varied, as were the daily specials. Great view of the ocean, and one can walk out a good ways at low tide to explore. It's a short ride to Watumu if you're inclined to visit other restaurants, if you need an ATM, or just want to try to look for souvenirs. Best for couples, although the families also seemed to enjoy themselves. A small and intimate property where you feel well-taken care of. I hope we can visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Federico Bertoni, General Manager at Kobe Suite Resort
Responded 14 Nov 2021
Dear guest, Thank you very much for having taken the time to review our facility. We are pleased that you enjoyed yourselves here with us and that the staff was very welcoming, that you enjoyed the whole atmosphere of Kobe and every little bits of it. On behalf of all members of staff of Kobe and the management, we wish you all the best. Federico Bertoni
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tish wrote a review Sep 2021
Nairobi, Kenya90 contributions22 helpful votes
+1
Hotel has nice rooms, two pools, a good restaurant, and an amazing beach! It was so clear and when the tide was out you could walk so far out in shallow water, this would be great for kids. We walked down the beach also to the coral reefs, and were not bothered by anyone. There is a small market set up, so we bought some things inexpensively just to support them since they left us alone. The sunsets were amazing and it was such a nice place to stay, relax, and short tuk tuk ride to other restaurants if you wanted. We were two families with kids, but it would be ideal for couples and friends also.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The rooms closest to the beach are very private and have lovely hanging sofas to relax as well as...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Federico Bertoni, General Manager at Kobe Suite Resort
Responded 14 Nov 2021
Thank you very much for having taken the time to review our facility. We are very happy that you had a wonderful time here in our little paradise. Our beautiful location of course is unique and one of a kind. We wish to thank you once again and we surely hope to see you soon at Kobe. On behalf of all personnel and management we wish you all the best. Federico Bertoni
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$177 - US$287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
KenyaCoast ProvinceWatamu
NUMBER OF ROOMS
22
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Kobe Suite Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Kobe Suite Resort?
Nearby attractions include Mida Creek (4.5 km), Watamu National Marine Park (3.8 km), and Watamu Beach (3.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Kobe Suite Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Kobe Suite Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Kobe Suite Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Kobe Suite Resort?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kobe Suite Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include NON SOLO GELATO by anna, Caffe Sotto Sopra The Liars Club, and Crab Shack.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Kobe Suite Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Kobe Suite Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Kobe Suite Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Kobe Suite Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Italian.
Does Kobe Suite Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.