We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
89 Terrace Road, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7999 New Zealand
E-mail hotel
Hotel direct offer!Winter in the Alps
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Expedia
Agoda.com
eDreams
FindHotel
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1751)
Room & Suite (603)
Videos (4)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Updated 20/06/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 20/06/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 2 hotels in Mt. Cook Village
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
From an intrepid journey through glacial valleys to a mouth-watering culinary dining adventure, the Hermitage Hotel is the perfect 'base camp' to discover your Peak Experience. Choose from premium hotel rooms, motel units or cozy chalets. Add world-class activities such as Glacier Explorers, Tasman Valley 4WD Tours, Big Sky Stargazing, Encounter Day Walks, scenic flights or the visual extravaganza of the Sir Edmund Hillary Alpine Centre and you have a unique, year-round alpine adventure perfect for the family holiday or your next romantic getaway.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Bicycles available
Boating
Books, DVDs, music for children
Highchairs available
Conference facilities
Street parking
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Hiking
Skiing
Darts
Evening entertainment
Patio
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shops
Sun terrace
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, Chinese, German and 1 more
Hotel links
Special Price:Book 30days out & save 20%. Min 2 night stay, for dinner, bed & breakfast
2805Reviews27Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 952
  • 987
  • 561
  • 196
  • 109
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Kevin wrote a review 15 Aug
Whistler, Canada2 contributions
Good place but could be better. After a long day of travelling and checked in to find out that the dirty toilet inner bowl, big stain on carpet which are replaceable pieces, crumbs and dirt on carpet. They did offered us another room but we were already settled in and didn’t wanna drag the big suitcases back in the car. The manager also offered a complimentary drinks but the bar staff had no idea about it as they were going to charge us for it. Also the automated coffee machine that grinds coffee has broken down, one of the staff said they can make us coffee but they have to charge us for it.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Plan your travel well, weather can be bad during winter if you stay in this place long, there’s...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jack S wrote a review Jun 2022
Sydney, Australia59 contributions13 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
We never ended up staying at the Hermitage because our little boy got really sick with fevers and unfortunately we had to cancel everything including the glacier explorer experience which is a shame as it was all for our sons birthday! We were coming from Queenstown and were here from Sydney and hence were too worried to make the drive with a sick boy (min 3 hour drive). Josh was amazing to deal with from when we were booking the trip from Sydney - he was helpful and nothing was too hard. Then today I reached out to the hotel to explain our unfortunate situation - Oliver spoke to me and said he would take everything into consideration and make a decision. Within two hours Jessica replied and had processed the refund. I don’t think you can get service like this everyday! So as much as we are disappointed that we didn’t end up staying in Hermitage and get to see Mt Cook - we are blown away by the exemplary customer service experience and for that alone we would recommend the hotel and try and come back again in future!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Hermitage Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at The Hermitage Hotel
Responded 14 Jun 2022
Hi Jack. Firstly, we really hope your son is feeling much better & we're sorry to hear he was so unwell on your recent holiday to Queenstown. Thank you for leaving such kind feedback regarding our team & your recent experiences with us. We're happy to hear we made your time in NZ a little less stressful and would be thrilled to welcome you and your family back at a later date. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we look forward to sharing it with the wider team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alan M wrote a review 1 Aug
Beijing, China29 contributions1 helpful vote
One of my best experiences ever.. We arrived at the Hermitage in glorious sun and enjoyed magnificent views of the surrounding peaks . The hotel is a short drive / walk to some stunning spots and has easy access to the highlights of the area. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and made us feel very welcome. The hotel and room are looking a little dated in some areas, but are still very comfortable and well appointed. The restaurant is a little disappointing with a buffet the only option, it was nice but nothing exceptional and although the staff tried their hardest they were obviously struggling a little for numbers. We were very luck to have a major snow dump while staying and got to experience the real magic of the area. So beautiful ! Especially like to congratulate the maintenace and ground staff who I witnessed go the extra mile to help patrons and motorists who were unexpectedly snowed in.. What a great spot...
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Pay for the rooms with a view of Mt Cook... worth every cent, especially in winter..
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Hermitage Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at The Hermitage Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Alan. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review, we're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your recent stay in Aoraki/Mount Cook and that the weather delivered whilst you were with us! We're sorry to hear you were slightly disappointed with the buffet experience in the Alpine Restaurant, we do pride ourselves on our wide selection of dishes on offer but do note that guests like to have other options for mealtimes. We hope to reopen the Panorama Room in due course. Staffing levels are an ongoing challenge for us, however we recognise this is a nationwide issue and we are doing our best to make sure we can deliver on an excellent experience to all our guests. Thanks for your patience, and for choosing to spend your holiday with us. Safe travels and we hope to welcome you back sometime!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Matthew A wrote a review Jul 2022
Auckland5 contributions2 helpful votes
We spent two nights at the Hermitage in room 1016 at the top of the hotel. We were there with our two girls (7 and 11). The room had two queen beds. The rooms are not the most modern, but are clean and reasonably well appointed - and that view... The general facilities in the hotel are good. The bar area is well laid out to take advantage of the fantastic view of Mt Cook, as is the adjacent restaurant. We enjoyed the buffet breakfasts and dinners - the food is of a decent standard. We had one lunch at the spacious cafe upstairs, which was fine. The Hillary Alpine Centre and cinema with short films (entry included) is a good diversion for kids, but there are a number of easy walks you can do right outside the hotel. Recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
bluedell88 wrote a review Jul 2022
Singapore, Singapore62 contributions29 helpful votes
Stayed for 2 nights in the property as it was the better one in the area. Reserved for the Premium King Room that comes with the view of Mt Cook. And one of the main reason for the rating was view great view of the mountain. The room itself was quite dated and looks old. It was also quite lacking in terms of the provision of guest amenities in the room itself. Location wise, it was a good 30 to 45 minutes walk to Whitehorse Campground which was the starting point for Hooker Valley. Our room package was inclusive of breakfast and dinner. Food option was decent, as for quality wise, nothing much to shout out. Service from the team in the Alpine was very pleasant which also contributed to the positive rating. The entire property is cashless, including the cafe and souvenir shop.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Hermitage Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at The Hermitage Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi bluedell88, thanks for both staying with us on your recent visit to Aoraki/Mount Cook and for taking the time to leave a review. We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and in particular, the spectacular view of Aoraki. We're disappointed to hear you weren't overly impressed with the quality of our breakfast and dinner offerings. We do pride ourselves on the wide range of options available at mealtimes and we cater for various dietary requirements. We also work with a number of local producers in the region which feature in buffet dishes. If you'd like to reach out to us directly to discuss your feedback with us, we'd love to hear from you. Thanks again and apologies if parts of your stay didn't quite deliver on this occasion.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Edward R wrote a review Jul 2022
Palm Cove77 contributions26 helpful votes
A very ordinary experience. There is insufficient parking for the number of rooms and what parking there is, is not monitored to ensure everyone has a fair go. Ie cars taking up more than one space. The entry way was blocked by cars parked on no parking zones. Restaurant and Cafe are expensive for what you get. Never again
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Insufficient parking, arrive early. Bring your own snacks and drinks.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Hermitage Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at The Hermitage Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Edward. We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with your recent experience at the Hermitage Hotel in Aoraki/Mount Cook. Unfortunately without further information about your booking, it's difficult to talk directly to the parking issues you've mentioned in this review. However we think it's possible you stayed with us during the school holidays and when the snow storm hit the Mackenzie region. In which case, we're really sorry that you encountered problems with car parking - it was a difficult time and the team did their best to manage given the increase in guests staying in resort and the logistical challenges the wild weather brought! We always encourage guests to share feedback with us whilst in resort so we can rectify the issue, however please do reach out to us directly so we can follow up accordingly.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jacqui T wrote a review Jul 2022
Sydney, Australia380 contributions114 helpful votes
Just breathtaking views! Enjoy the stunning drive to this incredible location. Decent room for the price - we were in one of the cheaper rooms, which was spartan, but the view was still epic. Be sure to check the road closures before driving here though! There was no shortage of beautiful hikes very close by, and the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. Be aware that dining options are limited, especially for dinner.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Hermitage Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at The Hermitage Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Jacqui. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed yourselves. Thank you for visiting and for taking the time to leave us a review.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hannah wrote a review Jul 2022
Nelson, New Zealand1 contribution
Our room was great and we enjoyed the weather clearing up and being able to do some of the most beautiful walks. View is stunning! Buffet dinner was delicious had an amazing experience for dinner, I have an extensive dietary requirements. I am soy, gluten, dairy and canola oil free. I am also vegetarian so I understand that when going to restaurants it can be a bit annoying, the chefs were amazing and were so helpful with every request I really appreciated it however the breakfast chefs weren’t. I was not feeling well and asked my husband to grab me something as we had breakfast included with our room. The waiter told my husband to speak to one of the chefs as to what options they have, the chef rolled his eyes and he was given an answer of “Eh” “you can just have eggs and a smoothie”. For the price I expected some effort atleast. My husband left and we were heading to reception to check out and the same waiter came apologising for the chefs behaviour and brought a bunch of food for me and offered takeaway which was very thoughtful, even the manager who helped us the previous night with dinner looked puzzled as to why we were spoken to like that she apologised and offered us free coffee. I am truly disappointed with how we were treated on our last morning, if you can’t consistently offer dietary needs don’t say you can in the first place
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Hermitage Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at The Hermitage Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Kannaj, Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we appreciate the opportunity to respond. It’s disappointing to hear we were unable to provide you with a delicious breakfast in the first instance, especially as we had delivered at every other meal that you and your husband enjoyed. Please accept our apologies that our service was unsatisfactory on this occasion. We have spoken with the Food & Beverage team to investigate further to make sure we are correctly responding to the points mentioned. The Outlet Manager on duty, who initially spoke to you, immediately raised your complex request with the Food and Beverage Director who acted based on the information you had given and arranged for the kitchen team to prepare separate foods which we understand were delivered to your room. We hope this met your expectations and made up for our previous shortfall. We are sorry that we were unable to offer something bespoke and appropriate at the time. Please note we are working with the team on building their confidence with offering alternative options for those with specific dietary requirements when dealing with the guest directly, amongst other points you kindly raised. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to try and rectify the issue whilst you were in resort. Apologies again that this was your experience, and please don’t hesitate to reach out directly if you’d like to discuss further.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shan Kenner G wrote a review Jul 2022
Canberra, Australia13 contributions3 helpful votes
Overall: 4.5/5 - Very Good Location Situated within the national park this Hotel is your dream getaway from the hustle of life and the city. With a direct view of Mount Cook and less than a 10minute drive to all the amazing walking trails, you couldn’t ask for a better location to soak in all of Aoraki National park’s prescient nature. Be aware the nearest townish of Twizel is over a 45-minute drive so get your fill of shopping and civilisation before you set off to this mountain paradise. The location for Hermitage gets a 4.5 out of 5 from me. 4.5/5 Comfort The Hermitage was first established in 1884 and its age (in some respect) shows. While doubtless the hotel has been refurbished since the 1880s some of the carpets are worn, some of the sofas located throughout the hotel have stains and some of the corridors smell like grandma’s attic. We booked into room 443. While our first impressions of this room were ‘wow’, with its direct view of Mount Cook, come 11 pm there was this rumbling noise coming through the wall. After calling reception and a bit of investigating I was told that this was the ventilation system for the entire floor which was located on the other side of the wall to our room. Apparently, the ventilation couldn’t be switched off and so our choices were to either switch rooms at midnight with a sleeping 5-year-old or try to sleep with the noise of a washing machine in the background. We opted for the latter option and as result, we endured a sleepless night. However, the hotel has some unique facilities which include a theatre, a planetarium, and a glass lift to capture amazing views. These facilities provide the guests with experiences that no other hotel can offer. In addition, the newly upgraded room we were given (without any extra charge) for the second night had a spectacular view and was very spacious. Weighing up the aged features of the hotel and our experience with a ventilator from hell (yes I hate that ventilator) against the one-of-the-kind hotel experiences I have decided for comfort the Hermitage takes a 3.5 out of 5 3.5/5 Customer Service While I loved the facilities of the hotel and the jaw-dropping view what really made this hotel stand out was the exceptional customer service. During our check-in, Oliver (according to the badge he was wearing) was in training checked us in with professionalism, and answered all our questions about hiking trails. I can only assume that not only has Oliver taken his training to heart but also that Heritage provides exceptional training for all its staff. During our fiasco with the ventilator from hell, the duty Managers Mereoni and Omkar offered us an upgrade to a premium room (with a view even better than the previous room, which I didn’t think was possible) and did everything they could to recompense for our sleepless night. When checking out Mereoni gave us two complimentary water bottles when I asked where I could fill up ours. She also gave me a soft toy for my 5-year-old (which made his day) and provided us with some excellent tips for traveling to our next destination. It’s these small things that made us feel at home and well cared for. In the restaurant, Musam and Jimmy were always available for anything we needed from taking away used plates to asking if we needed anything. We truly felt spoilt. Chef Zahid was incredibly helpful in pointing out what meal dishes were halal and even providing us with our own lamb dish because the one in the buffet had an alcohol-based sauce. A perfect example of going above and beyond to make guests feel comfortable. A hotel with good staff ensures that the guest’s every need is met, but a hotel with excellent staff ensures the guest’s every need is met and they are made to feel at home. Hermitage without a doubt has excellent staff. I give customer service at the Hermitage 5 out of 5. 5/5 Food We had heard that the food at Hermitage was pretty good so we decided to spoil ourselves and have dinner at the restaurant. We heard wrong it was not pretty good it was excellent! It was so good that we decided to spoil ourselves a little more and have two dinners. While every dish was amazing the true champions of the night were the devilled beef curry, lamb curry, chickpea curry, and smoked salmon. And that was just the mains and entrees. The desserts were incredible with just the right level of sweetness. My personal favourite being the banoffee and my 5-year-old loved the idea of choosing his own toppings for his soft-served ice cream. Every dish was authentic, delicious and so well presented. The variety too was excellent; even with our dietary requirements, we were still spoilt for choice. Compliments to the Chef, the food at Hermitage gets 5 out of 5! 5/5
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Shannyn wrote a review Jul 2022
13 contributions2 helpful votes
This hotel was so bad we only stayed for night one and checked out two nights early. We were unlucky enough to have bad weather upon arrival, so our only planned activity was cancelled which was understandable. There is not much else to do though when the weather is bad. We were directed to some hikes but it was literally sideways raining. We were directed to some guest parks, but there was actually not a lot there and my husband had to park back at the information centre and walk back up in the rain. When we arrived on level 8, we were struck by an unpleasant old and musty smell which was present all the way through the floor. We knew the restaurant was buffet so hadn’t booked, however did not realise it was literally the only dinner option. We managed to get in but were charged an exorbitant amount for an unappetising buffet dinner where drinks were an added extra. The food was awful. We were told breakfast was also a buffet. With two days of rain forecasted, nothing to do and a smelly, dingy room, we decided to leave.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$157 - US$236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hermitage hotel mt cook village, hermitage new zealand
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandCanterbury RegionMackenzie DistrictAoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)Mt. Cook Village
NUMBER OF ROOMS
164
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Hermitage Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Hermitage Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Hooker Valley Track (1.5 km), Blue Lakes and Tasman Glacier walks (6.8 km), and Kea Point Track (0.09 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Hermitage Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at The Hermitage Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Hermitage Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Hermitage Hotel?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Hermitage Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, The Panorama Restaurant, and The Alpine Restaurant.
Is The Hermitage Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Mt. Cook Village.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Hermitage Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Hermitage Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Hermitage Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, Chinese, and Japanese.
Does The Hermitage Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.